We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tonkatsu in Singapore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonkatsu by Ma Maison

Tonkatsu by Ma Maison
Ranked #948 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
973 reviews
798 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,033 helpful votes
“Best Tonkatsu in Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everything here is a notch above tonkatsu at other restaurants in Singapore (even in Japan for that matter).The pork tonkatsu is really juicy (personally I think the pork loin is better than the pork fillet); the sesame sauce for the cabbage is even better; and the miso soup is just out of this world. The (gigantic) jumbo prawn is a disappointment, as are the other non-pork items (oysters, etc). Just stick with the various cuts of pork!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    36
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“probably the best you can get in Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I always come here every time i need to satisfy a tonkatsu craving. Abit on the pricey side, but I can assure it's worth the money.

There is an extensive menu, therefore there are other choices like prawns if you're not a fan of pork. They serve big satisfying portions; you can choose white or brown rice- rice and salads are refillable.

I've been here twice, nothing to complain about the service but the second time a young female waitress took the wrong order from me- a similar but more expensive order, which is why I couldn't tell the difference. So I ended up paying more that I wanted to, for this meal.

Nevertheless, I would still return and recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller55m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love this place! Have been here many many times. The service is quick, the food is great, the price is reasonable and the sesame sauce to go with the cabbage is just heavenly. A must try! It's much better than any other katsu place I've tried in Singapore.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poki2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“If You Love Pork as Much as I Do...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Tonkatsu by Ma Maison is located in a cup-de-sac on the 2nd floor of the Mandarin Gallery on Singapore's main shopping drag, Orchard Road. Mandarin Gallery is a swank mall, a jewel box of boutiques and specialty shops. Tonkatsu by Ma Maison fits right in. You might be forgiven if at first blush you pooh pooh this a jumped-up pork cutlet joint. In actual fact, it is. But it is also a VERY GOOD Tonkatsu joint, jumped-up or not.

I enjoy pork products especially those based on the aromatic flesh of the black pigs of the Iberian peninsula. Imagine my utter and most pleasant surprise when I opened the menu and found a Tonkatsu of Iberian pork?!

Ok, before I go on gushing, please do not come here if you expect impeccable service. The service is erratic and I both times I've been here, I've had attentive and responsive and then uninformed and sluggish. But honestly, for me, good food forgives a multitude of service sins. I've never been one for ambience or service, I'm there for the food after all.

The Iberian pig shines in this dish. Maybe not as bright as the sun, but the legendary nutty flavor of pig's flesh is accentuated by the process of Tonkatsu-ing. I can't explain it, it just works. Unlike Tonkatsu made with my other favorite porcine specimen, the Kagoshima Black Pig, this Iberian iteration is firmer, earthier and less fatty and somehow PORKIER. You enjoy the warmth of the robust meaty bites accompanied sometimes by steamed rice. Then you cleanse the palate with a crunchy mouthful of finely shaved lettuce lightly dressed with a sesame vinaigrette.

Ok, the pork is good. You get that. If you don't from my description then you need to try it out for yourself because words fail me, as is often the case when describing meat, especially a fine pork cutlet, a gelatinous braised pork belly or a craftily aged Angus steak.

The cabbage salad is a truly special surprise. It took my by surprise the first time I ate at Tonkatsu by Ma Maison and it still makes me grin when I take my first bite and when I ask for my next refill (you can keep the refills coming for free). The sesame dressing is deceptively subtle. My suggestion is that you start with a light drizzle. The cabbage is raw and cuts the grease of dressing perfectly, you get cool, crunchy, salty, sweet, bitter and then umami all the rest of the way till the next mouthful.

Just good. Other items in a set are utilitarian. Good but nothing to waste precious lines on.

There are certainly individuals who love pork more than me, but not many.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonkatsu by Ma Maison also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tonkatsu by Ma Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing