We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different set-up from last time but still great food”
Review of The Handburger

The Handburger
Ranked #3,313 of 10,791 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A different set-up from last time but still great food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to The Handburger about eighteen months ago and had always determined to go back. Since we were last there, the format has changed and they are now part of a venture with two other outlets. Also, it's no longer waiter service; you order at the counter and then your food is brought to you. I'm not sure I like this arrangement quite as much- it feels a bit fast-foody rather than restaurant - but from a business viewpoint, I can see why they have adopted it. Anyway, the food is the same and that's the most important point!

My husband chose The Works, which he liked apart from the fact that the fried egg somewhere in the middle of it wasn't cooked enough. I had the Portobello Mushroom, which was everything I remember and more - worthy of being considered way above your average vegetarian burger. We ordered the burgers as a part of a 'set', which means that they came with fries. I don't remember them being so good - dry, crisp and cooked with the potato skins on - amazing!!

We also ordered the Naked Chocolate Milkshake - more a dessert than a shake - and it was outrageously chocolatey.

I'm still not sure about the new set-up but you can't fault the food. It's not cheap but it is good value but be warned, they don't accept credit cards!

You can be sure that we will visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MM2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yea! Good burger!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wow! Impressed with the service in such a crazy busy environment. Very cool that the servers can find you no matter where you sit down. I had the original sans bbq sauce (who does that?) and it was very good. The fries were just okay. My friend substituted a Caesar salad for the fries which she inhaled. Very glad I ate here on my visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendelin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Burgers!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in the Raffles City Mall underneath the Swissotel and Fairmont Singapore. It's right in the busy food court but it is way better than food court food. Had the original burger which was around $13 and $17 if you make it into a combo which will then come with fries. Lots of different burgers on the menu, cheeseburgers, lamb burgers, chicken and even veggie burgers. Something for everyone, plus they have drinks specials at night, buy one get 50% off your second. Good place to go for a fast, fresh and tasty burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,330 reviews
753 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,047 helpful votes
“Tasty burgers, fast service and a cheerful ambience at this popular food court establishment”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a good quality fast service casual restaurant located in the busy Raffles Place food court.

They focus on burgers- in a myriad of permutations!

Service is fast and friendly.

The burgers are tasty. We had a serve of their chunky fries, which were served with a tasty chili sauce.

Pricing is reasonable: SGD11 for a large burger- served on an impressive looking platter.

The ambience is casual- you sit on benches within the food court.

I recommend this place if you feel like a tasty burger- served remarkably quickly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy burger”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The lunch menu is really yummy. For $11 you select from the lunch menu, including your salad and fries and a drink. Value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handburger also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Handburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing