We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lena & Helen are an absolute delight”
Review of Food Playground

Food Playground
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.71*
and up
Experience Singapore: Singaporean Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Are you looking to 'experience' Singapore in an authentic and personal way? Join our award-winning cultural cooking experiences at Food Playground for a fun-filled and unforgettable adventure, where you will learn interesting snippets about Singapore and its multifaceted food culture and cook up authentic Singaporean dishes like Laksa, Chicken Rice and Satay in a fully-equipped kitchen located within a heritage shophouse. For group visitors to Singapore, we also offer exciting team-building lessons and workshops like Amazing Heritage Race and Corporate Cooking Challenge to help you bond with one another while getting to know Singapore in a fun and delicious way!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have spent this morning learning how to make a true singapore laksa and it was divine. The first step in the process was Lena explaining the social history of Singapores food origins. We then made our way into the the kitchen and it was time to get hands on! The gentle instruction and engaging personalities facilitated our group from Australia, India, Canada and the USA to feel welcome and before long we were all cooking. We look forward to cooking laksa and spring rollls when we get home. A big thank you to Lena and Helen.
We relied on Trip Advisor reviews to select this class and we are so glad we did.

Thank 27amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the experience at Food Playground a lot, and thrilled to hear that you chose us based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Indeed, our unique cultural cooking class goes way beyond culinary learning as our local instructors incorporate interesting stories of our food heritage and culture so our participants have a deeper appreciation of Singapore.

Lena and Helen are very happy to hear about your positive feedback, and they look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 572 of 765 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

I highly recommend Food Playground. I learned not only cooking but also history & culture lessons. The group was small & each pair had their own station & cooktop. I had an amazing time & I got to eat a divine lunch.

Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the experience at Food Playground a lot. Indeed, our cooking class goes way beyond culinary learning as our local instructors incorporate interesting stories of our food heritage and culture so our participants have a deeper appreciation of Singapore.

We are happy you find our cultural cooking class very personalized and educational. We hope you are now inspired to cook more often and replicate these tasty dishes at home.

We are very honored to receive your wholehearted recommendation of our class to the other Tripadvisor users here.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We decided to go to Food Playground on our first full day in Singapore. We had read all the great reviews on Trip Advisor so the place had a lot to live up to. What a great decision we made. We weren't disappointed.

The morning started with the wonderful Lena giving us an information session about the cultural and historical background of the Singapore food scene. We learnt about the different styles of Singapore food and also the differences between food courts and hawker centres. Recommendations were made as to the pick of the bunch of these places around town.

Once this informative session was over we moved to the very modern, super clean and organised kitchen. Lena and Auntie assisted us in preparing and cooking Laksa, deep fried spring rolls and kueh dadar. They were very helpful and informative and made the experience very enjoyable. We ended up returning to the dining room to eat our beautiful meals. They tasted devine.

We can highly recommend Food Playground to anyone of any age. Thanks for making our first day in Singapore very memorable and for arming us with valuable information to assist us during the rest of our stay.

Marco and Deb

1  Thank Marco-Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us here.

We are absolutely delighted that your experience at Food Playground exceeded your expectations. We are indeed very honored to have your wholehearted recommendation for our class to the other Tripadvisor users here.

Indeed, our cooking class goes way beyond culinary learning as our local instructors incorporate interesting stories of our food heritage and culture so our participants have a deeper appreciation of Singapore. I can see that you enjoy all these interesting local stories as well as the tasty local dishes that you learnt to whip up in our fully equipped kitchen.

We hope you are now inspired to cook more often and replicate these tasty dishes at home.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We enjoyed our cooking class a lot. It was a really relaxed and fun atmosphere, we were just 12 people in the class so there was enough room for everyone. Besides Lena, she had two assistance in the kitchen who helped us out when there were any questions. Besides cooking a nice 3 course lunch, Lena also introduced us to Singaporean culture and people and food.
You feel that it is their passion and that they love what they are doing, therefore really to recommend!!!

Thank DanaMarisa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the experience at Food Playground a lot. Indeed, our cooking class goes way beyond culinary learning as our local instructors incorporate interesting stories of our food heritage and culture so our participants have a deeper appreciation of Singapore.

We are happy you find our cultural cooking class relaxed and the atmosphere fun. We hope you are now inspired to cook more often and replicate these tasty dishes at home.

Thanks so much for recommending our class here. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a great time learning how the mix of dishes in Singapore came to be. Why certain things were used. How the different Asian cultures in the area have fused their food together. WE made 3 dishes which were all very easy to learn and recreate at home. It was an excellent class!

We also met and cooked with Lena, the owner of the Singapore Cooking School Food Playground. She is a "stay at home" mom, here in Singapore, and she is trying to employee other "stay at home" moms and elderly ladies to become employed thru her cooking school. Her thought is to help those in need and yet still preserve the cultural heritage that has been passed down thru cooking from generation to generation. She just started her little school over 15 months ago and hopes to grown it to employe others! I hope she is very successful!

Its a very relaxed atmosphere, Lena her husband and the ladies made you feel at home. You also get to meet other travelers and best of all try all the food you just cooked!

Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us here.

We are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful experience cooking at Food Playground. Indeed, our cooking class goes way beyond culinary learning as our local instructors incorporate interesting stories of our food heritage and culture so our participants have a deeper appreciation of Singapore.

As you have rightly pointed out, we have a meaningful social mission of creating dignified employment opportunities for local stay-at-home mothers and active seniors by hiring them as instructors and helpers at Food Playground. There is so much value that stay-at-home mums and seniors have in our society but in many instances, there are limited avenues to engage these talents and integrate these talents back into society, so I'm really happy you are so supportive of our cause.

Thanks again for recommending our class here.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Playground also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Food Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing