We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience!!”
Review of Food Playground

Food Playground
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.36*
and up
Experience Singapore: Singaporean Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Are you looking to 'experience' Singapore in an authentic and personal way? Join our award-winning cultural cooking experiences at Food Playground for a fun-filled and unforgettable adventure, where you will learn interesting snippets about Singapore and its multifaceted food culture and cook up authentic Singaporean dishes like Laksa, Chicken Rice and Satay in a fully-equipped kitchen located within a heritage shophouse. For group visitors to Singapore, we also offer exciting team-building lessons and workshops like Amazing Heritage Race and Corporate Cooking Challenge to help you bond with one another while getting to know Singapore in a fun and delicious way!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Great Experience!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My mum and I went to Food Playground yesterday and we absolutely loved it!! We have both travelled to Singapore many times but never done a cooking course, so it was great to make a few traditional dishes and learn the history of Singaporean food. Daniel and his team did a brilliant job explaining and helping us to make the food and it was delicious.....I will definitely try to recreate it at home for my husband. The kitchen facilities are very clean and modern and it was so much fun. Thanks for a wonderful day Daniel, Helen, Lena and Aunty!!! From Katherine :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank groovy_chicstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience after attending our cultural cooking class with your mum.

We are absolutely delighted that both of you had a great time in our kitchen whipping up local traditional dishes and learning more about our interesting food heritage. Our team is really happy that you are already planning to replicate these dishes when you return home. We can't wait to see your pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    40
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This cooking class was such a fun way to learn about the Singapore cuisine, the ingredients that are used, and to experience doing the actual preparation and cooking of some typical dishes. The local staff was very friendly and the class was well-run and organized. I also learned other interesting tidbits about the Singapore culture in general. I would highly recommend this experience. AND, the food was delicious!! Definitely a highlight of my stay in Singapore.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ginny4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience after attending our cultural cooking class.

We are very happy that you had fun learning more about our local cuisine and immersing into our food heritage. At Food Playground, we believe food bonds people together and provides a great platform for visitors to dive deep into our food culture and heritage through personal interaction with local culinary instructors.

It is really nice to know that this experience has been the highlight of your stay in Singapore. We like to thank you for recommending our cultural cooking class to other travellers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Well Done Food Playground”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a great way to spend a morning - cooking a traditional Singaporean lunch. it was great fun and as a chef I also learnt a thing or two.
I would recommend this as an activity for all travellers going to wondrful Singapore.
I will be back- thanks Lena, Daniel, Helen and Aunty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience after attending our cultural cooking class.

We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed our cooking class and learnt some new tricks along the way as well. Our cooking class is designed to help our participants dive deep into our unique local food heritage, and this means going beyond learning how to prepare traditional dishes and understanding the origins of these dishes and the traditional cooking techniques.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food Playground Cooking Class”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Cooking Class at Food Playground was great fun! I don't enjoy cooking that much so it was amazing that I enjoyed it so much!

The meal that we made was extremely easy to prepare yet very tasty! It even looked great! It was nice working with a group and sitting down together to share lunch and experiences.

The host and hostess shared interesting information with us so it was also a cultural event.

I left the Food Playground thinking that Singapore food is my favorite!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our cultural cooking class a lot, as your positive experience means a lot to us especially coming from someone who doesn't like cooking! Indeed, we hope your participants do not just learn how to whip up popular Singapore dishes, but also understand Singapore better through our unique local culture and food heritage. So, our team really enjoys spending time to bring our participants through this cultural journey through our interactive hands-on sessions.

We look forward to hosting you again for another class the next time you visit Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great experience.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

An extremely well organised class with hands on participation. Staff do a fantastic job and at the same time all for a good cause. Helping those who need it. We loved it. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you love the cultural cooking journey at Food Playground. It's great that you find our class well organized. Our team will continue to strive hard to fine-tune our class experience for other participants. We do hope you get to replicate the dishes you learnt back home too.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you get to visit Singapore again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Playground also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Food Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing