We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for employee bonding and learning”
Review of Food Playground

Food Playground
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.54*
and up
Experience Singapore: Singaporean Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Are you looking to 'experience' Singapore in an authentic and personal way? Join our award-winning cultural cooking experiences at Food Playground for a fun-filled and unforgettable adventure, where you will learn interesting snippets about Singapore and its multifaceted food culture and cook up authentic Singaporean dishes like Laksa, Chicken Rice and Satay in a fully-equipped kitchen located within a heritage shophouse. For group visitors to Singapore, we also offer exciting team-building lessons and workshops like Amazing Heritage Race and Corporate Cooking Challenge to help you bond with one another while getting to know Singapore in a fun and delicious way!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for employee bonding and learning”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My team and I had so much quality time learning new dishes from the cooking instructor at Food Playground, we had fun sharing and bonding with each other.
The receipt for the "Mee Siam" that were taught to us was fantastic, the taste was so authentic in fact better than those from some restaurant.
All in all we had a great time right from the start to the end, and we look forward returning again sometime in the near furture.
Food Playground is highly recommended for corporate team building or events.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your team-building experience with us, Colin !

We are so happy that you not only find our our team-building class effective in improving the bonds within your team members, but also enjoy learning all the interesting local recipes while having lots of fun and quality time together.

Our team of instructors are very passionate about their cooking and it makes me happy to see that your team members have enjoyed learning our 'Mee Siam' recipe and found the taste remarkable. If there are any other recipes that they like to learn, feel free to give us a shout. My team will be more than happy to share their knowledge with you all.

I look forward to hosting you and your team members for another bonding session in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    40
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend three hours in Singapore”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Journeying to Food Playground alone is an eye-opener for new visitors to Singapore, as it sits on the threshold of the past (the lovely conserved shophouses on Craig Road) and present (the commercial offices on Tanjong Pagar). Food Playground occupies a unit in a shophouse and is tastefully designed, with a spacious hall for briefings and dining, and a well-equipped kitchen.

Our cooking class was themed around healthy eating and how slow carbs could improve one's diet. It started off with an informative presentation by Food Playground's in-house dietitian. It was great that the presentation was candid and interactive, and not a one-way lecture.

The cooking class itself was the highlight. I love the colourful cooking implements and utensils, and they are of excellent quality, which made cooking here a luxurious experience!

Our instructor for the day, Shalu, was very patient and engaging. Another instructor, Lena, was also on hand to provide additional guidance and comic relief.

It was lovely to sit together with all the other participants at the end of the cooking class, tasting the fruits of our labour.

Food Playground is an excellent way to learn something useful, while bonding with your partner and making new friends. I'll recommend this to visitors to Singapore as well as Singaporeans who want a unique activity in the day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karrotjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, Karen !

Our team members Shalu, Derrick and Lena are really happy to know that you have enjoyed our newly-launched nutritional cooking class. Your detailed feedback and your vivid sharing means a lot to us as it helps us to understand which aspect of the class creates the most value to our participants, and how we can further improve the relevance of our program for you.

We are very happy to receive your endorsement and recommendation of our classes to the other travellers here, as we hope to inspire more people to have a better appreciation of nutrition and how to manage one's weight effectively through healthy cooking and eating right.

We look forward to having you again for our next series of nutritional cooking classes. Feel free to share more and discuss with us about your needs on our facebook fan page. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Food Playground - simply fun!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I knew the minute i arrived, it would be a good time! As we entered, we were greeted by Daniel and his team. Super friendly and happy people! The venue is not too big or too small, which makes it really cozy for a group of about 20 people. The area is split in 2. The dining area and the kitchen area. I think what i loved most is that the entire venue is simple and good quality. Their equipment was not only in great condition, but also great quality, making the experience that much more enjoyable. Then having a chance to learn about local cooking mixed in with the local culture made it stand out from past events. I not only learnt how to cook some cool local dishes but also having a chance to appreciate the local stories behind it!
A great find! Totally recommend this for people looking for an afternoon of fun or a team building event.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tadrosnader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience, Nader !

We are really happy that you had such a wonderful time cooking with us, Personally, I'm very impressed that you still have such a vivid impression of all the details that went into the design of our cooking studio and dining room !

Our team of instructors believe cooking should be fun, and is an excellent activity for bonding and getting to know the food culture of a country much better, so we go the extra mile to explain the background and interesting little-known facts of our popular local cuisine to our participants.

I look forward to having you and your friends at Food Playground again in the near future ! And many thanks for highly recommending our classes to the other travellers here on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“good vibe - great hosts - yummy lunch ! :-)”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we had a lovely afternoon in the food Playground's kitchen with Daniel's team. after spending more than 4 years in Asia, I was still cooking basic asian food and getting a lot of insights on the ingredients used in the asian cuisine, understanding the role and reason to be in the receipe was really usefull.
the location in tamjong pagar is optimal, the staff is really helpfull and makes everyone really comfortable, no matter how savvy one is at cooking.
It just got me so motivated to cook asian food from now on and I just want to renew the experience with some friends, it's just so much more rewarding and exciting than just choosing a dish in a restaurant and eating! thank you Food playground!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julieinsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience, Julie !

Our team of instructors are so excited to know that you are motivated to cook Asian cuisine more often after attending our class, as this means that they have done a commendable job in inspiring you about the unique flavors of authentic Asian food.

We certainly agree with you that it is more rewarding and memorable to cook with your friends and enjoy your own creations than just eating in a restaurant. We look forward to having you and your friends visit us again in the near future for another evening of fun hands-on cooking time at our playground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Highlight of my trip!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a wonderful experience my cooking class at Food Playground was! I highly recommend everyone coming to Singapore to sign up for one of their classes. I was a bit nervous walking in to the kitchen, as I am not a comfortable cook, but Daniel and his team made everyone feel so welcome! It was as if were were cooking with friends in our own kitchen, and although those of us in the class did not know each other, we had a wonderful time working together.
They were all informative, and easy going.
I loved sitting down for our meal together, and chatting amongst new friends.
Thank you for such a great time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Owner at Food Playground, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, Andrea !

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the fun cultural cooking class learning how to cook our local favorites like laksa and kueh dadar. Our team at Food Playground always go the extra mile to ensure all our participants feel at home and relaxed in our kitchen so they can enjoy not just the hands-on cooking experience, but also the interaction with our local instructors to better understand our local culture and food heritage.

We understand that you are now planning to sign up for another of our classes during your next visit to Singapore, so we are really excited about that. We look forward to catching up with you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Playground also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Food Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing