We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced, bad service experience.”
Review of Tiong Bahru Bakery

Tiong Bahru Bakery
Ranked #6 of 480 Quick Bites in Singapore
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Bukit Merah
Description: Celebrating Neighbourhoods There’s always that special place in the areas we live.By habit or necessity, there are checkpoints where our paths converge, no matter where our days take us. These are the places where shared moments and experiences connect us – and they eventually come to mean far more than the function it serves. A café doesn’t merely dispense coffee. Neither does a bakery simply cook flour and put them on sale. They are strongholds founded deep in the history of the area it dwells, built upon with stories shared within and around its walls. Where perspectives are challenged, broadened, renewed; and the future can be boldly envisioned with insight and belief. Where friends are made, dreams are shared, and love is found. This unique confluence of the community drives us to excellence and new levels of inspiration in everything we do. We are dedicated to celebrating the individuals, embracing the stories and transforming the living space for people around us. We are dedicated to celebrating neighbourhoods.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Well this is an over rated place with dissapointinv service by the staff - especially the guy who won't even bother making eye contact or explaining a bit about any vegetarian options they have - which they don't except one small sandwich priced at $8.5. They won't make me a fresh bagel with veggies inside. So i don't understand on what basis they price themselves so expensive apart from being patronized by people who just don't care how much they pay if they feel the name they are being associated with is chic.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Kandravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 694 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

We had the lemon tart, pain au raisin and flat white. For me they were just average. always full of people and expats. Not sure if i will go again.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Zetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

We were a little disappointed with the quality of service and coffee. The bakery was not that busy but we watched the waitress walk around for 5 min trying to find us, it's not that big a place. When we got our coffee it was burnt not being a whinger but at $6 a cup and I am a barista in Australia these guys have a lot to learn about coffee.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This place is located in the very nice Tiong Bahru area, with nice trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Bakery has a wide range of breads and pastries and very friendly staff. But what we truly enjoyed was the great coffee.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

You need to go to the original Tiong Bahru Bakery in Tiong Bahru to experience the coolest atmosphere. It is great with the low raise buidings and a more local crowd than on Orchard Road.

The food is good and value for money. I have tried the Quiche Lorraine many times. The coffee is also good and worth trying.

They have a funny special with lemon tarts in various degrees of sourness. The most sour one is really sour.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Micmey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Tiong Bahru Bakery also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tiong Bahru Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.