We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kouign Aman!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiong Bahru Bakery

Tiong Bahru Bakery
Ranked #1 of 97 Bakeries in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tiong Bahru
manila
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Kouign Aman!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

If there's anything worth going to in TB Bakery, it's the kouign aman pastry. Light, tasty and just good comfort food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajeroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    134
    36
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Croissants in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the place both my husband and I had declared to have best croissants after we came back from a trip to Europe.

We missed croissants after the trip from Europe and by chance we've discovered this bakery. We have yet to patron the main shop in Tiong Bahru, but we did went to the branch at Raffles City.

We've been there a few times, and there are no items on the menu I will ask you not to try, so far. But croissants will be the one we always order, every time we go.

However, it's a bit pricey. A lunch for two person can come to $25-30, depending on what you order.

Nice hang out, with a cup of nice fragrant coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khooweiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ain't sure if best croissant around but I like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I chanced upon the bakery shop on my way to lunch one day and remembered having saw a tv review that they served the best croissant around. It's a pretty small place with indoor and outdoor seatings. I bought the croissant and another pastry (can't renember name if it). $3.20 for a croissant is really expensive I thought but couldn't resist trying the so-called best croissant as claimed by many. I must indicate that I did not consume the pastry upon purchase. I left it till dinner. I was pretty surprise that even though I didnt heat up the croissant, the top part remained crispy still. I like that it doesnt flake off too much as I bite into it and also the doughy, fluffy texture inside. And its not overly buttery. For the first time I actually enjoy having a croissant without creating the mess. Though its kinda pricey for a croissant, I must say that it's actually quite big (only realised after taking it out from the paper bag). After finishing the croissant I barely could start the other chocolatey pastry. But I still but only finished it over 2 instalments. It was really chocolatish which I should enjoy very much since im a chocolate lover but somehow after a few bites you get a little tired of it. For once I prefer a croissant over my love- chocolate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emlsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Tiong Bahru Bakery at Tiong Bahru!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Normally ordering two pastries with a cup of coffee, the average cost SGD 15 - 19 per person. It is not a cheap dining place.

Personally I like the newer Tiong Bahru Bakery (TBB) in Cityhall rather than here (Simply because closer to where I live and that one is bigger). It is a bit remote to visit TBB at Tiong Bahru as its neighborhood got less attractions to combine with. So if I come here for dining, simply because I really wanna go for it, but nothing else.

Still, It is good to finally visit it once though and first try its signature squid ink bun, with smoke salmon stuffing.

Cheers

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueUltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great French Pastries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great place to catch up for a coffee in Singapore. The pastries are delicious and there is also a great selection of fresh breads. Cute setting, great service and close to the market. Definitely a regular spot to come back to as there are too many yummy treats to try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKokosinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiong Bahru Bakery also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tiong Bahru Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing