We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast paced,average crossaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiong Bahru Bakery

Tiong Bahru Bakery
Ranked #1 of 97 Bakeries in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tiong Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fast paced,average crossaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Quite a variety of breads but found croissants too oily! Get a little too rushed feeling! Better to go when it's quiet.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle_cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    134
    36
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waiting for delicious food here is inevitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Of the several times that I have been to Tiong Bahru Bakery (TBB), I have had to queue to purchase my baked goodies. There were easily 15 people in front of me and the seats were all filled up. However, the 10-15min wait is definitely worth it once you get to savour Mr Gontran Cherrier's pastry. When I'm there, I easily purchase 6 croissants at one go, and occasionally try other pastries too.

The croissants are buttery goodness, and I believe that the amount of butter used, though alot, is what makes the croissants turn out perfect. The lemon tart is also one of the must tries; it's not too sour nor too sweet and will definitely make the perfect snack anytime of the day! I have tried other pastries from TBB, but I believe that the croissants and the lemon tarts stand out the most.

The pastries can be a little pricey, but, it's definitely worth burning a hole in your pocket for!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amandaETW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best croissant, kouign amman, lemon tart in Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I live within a 10-minute walk from their flagship shop, so I drop by at least once a week for their delicious kouign amman, croissant, and lemon curd tart. Before they opened, I usually only ate bread once every six months! I'm totally converted now; addicted even.

They had some samples for breads, but nothing else really stood out for me.

The coffee is good, but I still prefer my homemade Vietnamese coffee.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The Best Croissant In Singapore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is admittedly a very subjective statement. Best for whom? How many Singaporeans agree with this statement? Is it even a croissant? Why am I reading this review and why should I even taken it seriously? All good questions to which I have no good answers, only that in my humble opinion, Gontran Cherrier has made Singapore's BEST croissant. I'd like to think that I know a little about food and so will shamelessly share my opinion about the BEST croissant in Singapore!

The Tiong Bahru Bakery or TBB now has a branch in the more accessible Raffles City Shopping Center (B1-11/12, Tel: 63334160), so trying the BEST croissant in Singapore should now not be all that difficult. You can certainly quite easily prove or disprove my assertion that this is the BEST croissant in Singapore! Guess what, they make a decent baguette as well. Personally, I have always measured a boulangerie by the baguette that they produce, much like tasting the uni to make up your mind about whether the fish is any good at a sushi joint. The baguette has the requisite crunchy exterior, flour lightly dusting the gnarled nooks, the airy interior comfortingly soft, slightly chewy and when you bite into it, visions of a tomb-sized granite and mortar oven, woodsmoke and a dusty boulanger attentively peering into it materialize. It's earthy, yeasty and just oh so good. This is a solid baguette, a proud baguette, a baguette that would be oh so divine in a Bahn Mi sandwich! With a robust curry, this baguette SINGS! It does, it really does.

The boulanger that birthed this baguette also makes the BEST croissant in Singapore!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cup of coffee and croissant perked up my day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

After some walking around in Raffles City, I came across Tiong Bahru Bakery. It claimed to have the best croissant in town and I decided to try. True enough, the croissant was still cripsy even tho' it was cold and the coffee was heavenly. Dip the croissant into the coffee and my day had just turned much better.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8babytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiong Bahru Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Tiong Bahru Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing