We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting flavours & affordable prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merely Ice Cream

Merely Ice Cream
Ranked #96 of 240 Dessert in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very interesting flavours & affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is the first time I've tried Merely Ice Cream and I'm in love with their ice cream!!

They have very interesting and unusual flavours like Nutty Beer and Rum & Raisin (both of which contain real alcohol which you can taste!), Gula Pandan (fragrant pandan chiffon), peanut butter (OK, I'm a PB&J fan, so PB anything works for me!!), salted butterscotch ('nuff said right?). Nom nom nom :p~ ~ ~

It's all freshly made on site with natural ingredients, so none of that chemical flavouring you find in some other ice creams too.

You should definitely try it if you're around the area (Sunshine Plaza @ Bencoolen Street)!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Artsy ice cream parlor that serves up incredible fresh home-made ice creams!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Store front has a minimalist indie concept that uses remodified pallets as tables n simple Ikea stools. But do not be fooled by it's exterior. This place serves up some great daily made fresh ice cream with intriguing flavors. My favorite being Salted butterscotch. The creamy buttery ice cream just captures my heart everytime I have it. And because it's so near to the art schools, the place is filled with doodles by many talented, giving it a homely, down to earth artistic buzz…

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kk2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not MERELY Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Located in the Sunshine Plazalav opposite the NAFA campus on Bencoolen Street, there is nothing ‘merely’ about the delicious ice-cream. What attracted us to the ice-cream was of-course the interesting flavours we saw on display, and the affordability of the ice cream too! We came across this place during one of our post-dinner walks and what a find it was.

The French-style made ice-cream, use egg as an emulsifier. Their website claims. What’s interesting about their ice-creams is the fact that you can actually taste the natural flavours and the freshness of the ice-cream. The consistency of the ice-cream too is quite thick, and not really ice-flaky, if you know what I mean. What’s more, they make the ice-creams right there in the shop… you can hear the process of blending at times behind those “not-so-closed” doors.

Some off-beat Flavours that intrigued me:
Zesty Lemon: A ice-cream that tastes quite sour… reminded me of the ice cones back home!
Gula Pandan: Coconut milk, palm sugar and pandan cake pieces… delectable
Coconut: Tender coconut, coconut milk and coconut juice… need I say more?
Salted Butterscotch: Ice-cream with sea salt, balsamic vinegar and beurre noisette (or brown butter) hmmm….
Green Tea: For those obsessed with green tea, this ice-cream is a yummy replica of the green tea!
Pineapple tart: Pineapple tart blended beautiful with the ice-cream, makes for a refreshing taste!
Oreo Milk: Oreo milk, Oreo bits and Cheesecake bits too… this is a heavy ice-cream to pick!
Rum and Raisins: Jamaican rum-soaked raisin are blended into a paste and added to the ice-cream. A few full rum-soaked raisins are then thrown in to give the ice-cream a chunky taste!

For more information on the price and the ambiance, do visit my FB page:
www.facebook.com/spicerover
OR my blog:
http://spicerover.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/singapore-ice-cream-escapades-part-1-merely-ice-cream/

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonalc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stopped by a little Mereley ice cream parlour on Bencullen Street. A basic place but the important thing it serves some generous scoops of delicious home-made ice cream.
A range of usual and unusual flavours - I had Madagascar vanilla and a salted butterscotch. The butterscotch was deeelicious - so on a warm day a great place to stop for a proper treat. Or just stop for the treat anytime!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horlicks Panda was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The founder believes that you can turn any taste you like into an ice cream. Horlicks mixed with panda biscuits sounds odd until you taste it. It was quite tasty and I would highly recommend this shop.

Helpful?
Thank vaishnavsr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Merely Ice Cream also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Merely Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing