We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concierge service - shame about the queues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Pickering
Ranked #25 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
home
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great concierge service - shame about the queues”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Darshan, the front office and concierge manager, is the reason for this review: he and his team went out of their way to rescue us from a potentially disastrous situation (failed delivery) on the eve of Chinese New Year which was none of their making but where they acted intelligently and energetically to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat. Outstanding service! It's a shame that the hotel isn't run with equal energy and service ethos everywhere else - queues for check-in and for breakfast downstairs were epic and even the charming staff in the club lounge were finding it hard to cope at breakfast (over-selling of club rooms?). But as we experienced much worse service in more expensive hotels and have read Tyler Brule's comments on Singapore hotels, I guess it's a wider phenomenon. A nice hotel in a useful location, but more and better-trained staff would help. BTW, the nasi goreng in Lime was truly delicious. We'd certainly go back,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njcHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear njcHome, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I note your comments on the queues and sincerely apologise for the delay experienced. We are continuously looking at ways to improve our processes, particularly during peak periods and weekends. I appreciate your patience and I am happy to hear that you will be back to visit us again. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    765
    196
    52
    41
See reviews for
459
1,205
136
653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for only one night on a stopover back to Perth from Thailand and even after reading reviews, my high expectations were exceeded.

Beautiful modern room. Not very large but the design still made it feel spacious.

Walking distance to Chinatown and Clarke Quay.

The highlight was the club level - we were absolutely spoilt by the beautiful afternoon high tea, sunset wines and a really good brekky. Could not recommend this hotel higher :)

Room Tip: Club level for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinenicole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear justinenicole3, it is always a delight to hear from our happy guests. I am glad the hotel exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the Orchid Club experience. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another refreshing stay soon. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Did a staycation over the Chinese New Year weekend. Hotel was busy. It did not take too long for check in but you can tell the front desk staff were busy trying to get everyone checked in. Hence, you get the feel service is lacklustre. Some guests were offered welcome drinks and a Chinese New Year gift pack and some were not ( I wasn't offered both). Shouldn't it be standardised for all guests? But once out of check in area, things were better. Room was a delight, clean, spacious and quiet. You don't hear the guests from the other rooms. Enjoyed the comfortable bed and functional toilet. The sliding doors can be used to close the bathroom area or left open for a more spacious feel. Pool area was crowded and the water was cold because the area is much shaded. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast with its good variety of food. Staff here handled the crowd well and food was replenished very quickly. The hotel is near to quite a few eateries and walking distance to the Singapore River. No problem if you want to get around the other parts of Singapore. Good network of transport. Overall, won't mind staying again but not during a festive occasion!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corntravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear corntravel16, I hope you and your family enjoyed the Lunar New Year celebrations during your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you liked our guestrooms and breakfast at Lime and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable hotel experience soon. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel. Our stay was perfect and the design is amazing. Our room was spacious, beautifully designed and had fantastic views. The gym and the pool are both great. All staff we had contact with over our three night stay were brilliant. Breakfast was delicious with great variety. We had club rooms and with drinks being quite expensive in Singapore, it was well worth the extea cost.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeera_Genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jeera_Genie, thank you for sharing your great review with us! I am delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another refreshing experience in the near future! Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

October 2013
My 12 yr old and I had a memorable time at Parkroyal. All employees were always happy and helpful.
Our room overlooked at the park. Swimming pool was amazing. Food just incredible whether we did buffet or room service. Bloody Mary and Pina Colada fantastic.
Technology and décor 5 stars. Location was ideal. I highly recommend and yes we are visiting this hotel again in 2014. IJS

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wookietwinkiejake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear wookietwinkiejake, thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us. It’s always rewarding to hear from our happy guests and I’m excited to know that you and your family will be returning to stay with us again the near future. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had booked for an orchid club room to celebrate my hubby's birthday. Had requested for a cake at the point of checkin in the afternoon but it was still not delivered at 10.35pm as I am writing the review now. When I called and reminded them, they returned a call and commented that they had already sent in over but we confirmed that it has still not been delivered. In addition, we were also hoping to chill out in the club lounge which is exclusive to all guests of club rooms but as we have an infant with us, we were not allowed to enjoy the facilities except during the afternoon tea slot from 2-4pm though it didnt help that we had only checked in at 230pm this afternoon and by the time we are done, we only reached the club lounge at 245pm. Overall, poor service and no scenery, our room is facing the great eastern building. We have been offered better service in other hotels in Singapore. There were no complimentary drinks offered upon checkin and did I mentioned that one of the staff accidentally took out a cny gift bag which I think is not offered in hotel package and the guy serving us told her to take it back. Seriously? I know its only some oranges but as a matter of courtesy, I do not know why the staff have to take it back when especially we are Chinese and oranges symbolised prosperity and good luck! Sigh, the staff really has poor service.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIKASY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Annikasy, thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We will certainly look into your comments and take corrective actions to address the service shortfalls.We take great pride at the PARKROYAL on Pickering in delivering genuine, relaxed and personalised service. Obviously you did not receive that and for that, I sincerely apologise. If there is anything further you would like to share with me, please contact me directly at hans.heijligers@pphg.com. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstown.ma
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This fine hotel with delux amenities is one Block from Chinatown with it shops and restaurants. If this appeals to you it's the upscale spot to stay. The bed in our room was super comfortable . Food at the hotel was high compared to Chinatown $20/ cup coffee. The SIABus stop is across the street and subway is around the corner. Clark Quay and Maxwell food centers are close.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear wino873, thank you for your review. I'm very pleased that both you and your partner enjoyed your visit during the Chinese New Year holiday and that you recognised the hotel's great location. We look forward to welcoming the both of you back soon! Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,050 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 315 in Singapore
2,225 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Pickering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Pickering

Property: PARKROYAL on Pickering
Address: 3 Upper Pickering Street, Singapore 058289, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#14 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#15 Family Hotel in Singapore
#25 Business Hotel in Singapore
#25 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — PARKROYAL on Pickering 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARKROYAL on Pickering offers guests a luxury business hotel conveniently located at the gateway to Singapore’s central business district, near Raffles Place. Enjoy close proximity to key cultural, shopping and entertainment attractions. And take advantage of our spa, fitness centre, jogging path and pool – all conveniently located on the same floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PARKROYAL on Pickering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PARKROYAL On Pickering Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing