We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Singapore
Post
Inbox
Search

“OCC SGP review of Curry Culture ”
Review of The Curry Culture

The Curry Culture
Order Online
Ranked #69 of 15,651 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: The Curry Culture, our humble ode to the ancient forms and culture of India, is one of Singapore’s best-kept secrets. Passion for traditional Indian cuisine, guest service and life is the best way to describe the Curry Culture experience. The Curry Culture offers a sophisticated Indian fine dining experience with effortlessly charming staff, discreet service and authentic Indian cuisine. A classic combination of the new India, where the traditional and the modern co-exist, authentic Indian food in a relaxed atmosphere and modern setting, without compromising on the traditional values of Indian cuisine and service. In a world that is on the go – 24×7- the Curry Culture offers a brief respite with it’s charming alfresco and indoor dining spaces for a memorable dining experience, where one can catch up with friends, family and work colleagues without the stress of daily life.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On Friday 19th July 2019 – The OCC visited Curry Culture; Cuppage Road

For full transparency, see below scores (out of 10). Restaurants must score an average of 7/10 or above to receive the OCC sticker of recommendation.

Quality: 7.74

Customer care: 8.21

Value: 6.7

Service: 8.01

Atmosphere: 7.44

Overall: 7.62

Curry Culture IS awarded the much-coveted OCC sticker of recommendation in meeting the required 7/10 average

Curry Culture a terrific curry house mixing an old school Indian menu with a top notch al fresco dining area AND a cracking atmosphere befitting of the big personalities of the OCC. The prices are slightly higher than we normally find but that is easy to absorb given the flavorful dishes from authentic Indian Chef – Rajiv, great location and great service from the staff who are willing to go the extra mile.

The authenticity of this joint is unmistakably reinforced when you go to the indoor portion of the restaurant where you are transported back to an amazing traditional curry house in 1970s UK – complete with brown wall paper décor.
The only let down for our evening was the daft American School teachers insisting they had never heard of the OCC college. “What school did you say it was?”

PS. If you are trying to figure out how to get there don’t use google maps. Pls contact OCC’s Jessy he will add 10minutes to your journey and give you a tour of car park.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank occs2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear occs2018

Greetings from the Curry Culture

Gents , an absolute pleasure to serve the entire Group and yes , the sticker is proudly displayed :):) On the points we scored - this is more than what I ever got during my schooling , very happily accepted:):)

On a bit more of a serious note - it is such a pleasure to get validation as a team especially from guests who are serious about their cuisine and coming from a club such as yours - wow!! For a small little curry house that started with a simple ethos of serving what we liked to eat ourselves and was for like minded people - it is a pleasure to be evaluated "professionally " and , I guess we must be doing right over the years .

Was an absolute pleasure to meet the entire group and serve them - so much fun when we get guests who are open to trying new things and enjoying their dining experience - the boys put in a lot of hard work to make it look simple and are actually very genuine with what they do

Absolutely look forward to receiving more guests from the OCC whenever they are in this part of the world

regards and Godbless

Sandeep Sachar

P.s : The chefs name is Amar singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Like many others we chose this place due to the previous reviews on here. The charismatic owner makes you feel valued by helping you select the dishes best suited to your palette. He toned down the hotness of the lamb special so it didn’t blow my mouth off! All in All, good service and tasty food.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Trebor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Trebor100

Greetings from the Curry Culture

It has been a long time since someone called me " charismatic" ( not even the wife :):)) - so thank you very much :)

Was an absolute pleasure to meet the both of you and also have a bit of a chat and yes , very happy that you went out of your comfort zone a bit and tried something new - Indian cuisine has such a vast repertoire , it is always fun serving something new , for us as well .

Sir, am a big fan of trip advisor - very fair and yes, absolutely look forward to your next visit

regards and Godbless

Sandeep sachar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

Very good Indian food here. We came after trip advisor recommendation and did not regret. Enjoyed our food immensely and the staff, especially the manager, were so attentive. Would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank hedgehogpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear hedgehogpauline

Greetings from the Curry Culture

Mam, absolute pleasure - have mentioned this before as well ; have a huge amount of respect for trip advisor - it is one of the fairest forum on the wide wide web and I think we are very blessed that we get more happy guests than unhappy ones :):)

Mam, it has always been our endeavour to try to bring a bit of our culture to the table ( ever since we have been babes in the woods , in this business) and it is a very happy thought that we have managed to stay true our values :):)

Absolute pleasure that the food and service was to your liking and absolutely look forward to your visit whenever you are in these parts of the woods again

regards and Godbless

Sandeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor. After our arrival we were seated inside the restaurant (outdoor seating is also available) This is not a fancy restaurant, it is in quite a touristy area and the toilets are a bit sad. That aside, we had a fantastic meal. We met the owner Sandeep, he was very friendly and informative. There is a heat level from 0-10 and he advised us on which level based on our tastes. We ordered the butter chicken which was fantastic, Mutton curry, saffron rice, sizzling chicken and okra as a side dish. We also had bottle of chardonnay which was good and reasonably priced. All the dishes were delicious, in fact as we told Sandeep, we have been travelling in Europe and South East Asia for the past five weeks and this is the best meal we have had so far. If that's not testament enough then what is? Give it a try, if you like genuine Indian flavours you'll love this place.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear Sea98

Greetings from the Curry Culture

Sir , was an absolute pleasure to meet the both of you and also have a bit of a chat - am a big fan of tripadvior - I think it is one of the fairest forums out there and I think we are very blessed that most of our guests are happy guests :)) We do once in a while get roasted but that is not due a lack of effort from our side :))

Sir, huge compliments indeed and very very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us - like I had mentioned , the idea is to be able to bring a bit of our culture to the table - be it via the authenticity of our food or our service ettiquettes and to be genuine with what we do - of course having a bit of fun along the way helps:))

Absolutely look forward to your next visit whenever you are in these parts of the woods again

regards and Godbless

Sandeep Sachar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Great food and friendly service. I recommend this place for anyone looking for a decent curry / Indian food in Singapore

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank mattpN4660GY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Dear MattpN4660GY

Greetings from the Curry Culture

Sir , a pleasure and you have pretty much used the two magic words- great food and friendly service - that pretty much sums up the Curry Culture experience :):) To be honest - I am not sure if we are actually serving great food ( would be extremely presumptuous of us to assume the same - Indian cuisine has a huge history) , I would like to say we are serving authentic Indian cuisine :):)

Absolutely look forward to your next visit

regards and Godbless

Sandeep Sachar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Culture also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Curry Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing