We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our trip memorable!!!!”
Review of The Curry Culture

The Curry Culture
Ranked #15 of 11,590 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Description: The Curry Culture serves authentic,traditional indian cuisine in a lovely Al fresco setting as well as a cozy indoor dining space. The restaurant epitomises the essence of modern India, which is contemporary yet traditional.With a menu that is pan Indian, our restaurant serves choicest dishes that are from varied regions like Goa, Mangalore and of course tradtional North Indian cuisine. A must do is to try our chef"s special of the Day
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Extremely tasty food, nice and friendly staff. We wouldn't have expected more!!! We visited from Jan 11-16 and our search for good food ended with this restaurant. I was amazed to find that the food was even tastier than some of best five star Restaurant in India. Would recommend all our family and friends to visit this place during their visit. We can only say that apart from serving good food they are doing social service for our Indians

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shishir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mr Shishir,

Thank you for the lovely review that you have posted. The biggest compliment for us was the fact that you and the family dined with us practically every day of your stay in Singapore. It is a matter of great pride for us that we were able to contribute in some small way in making your trip memorable.

It would be absolutely our pleasure to host you and all your friends and family whenever they are down in Singapore. We look forward to it.

love and Godbless

regards

Sandeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 706 of 851 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are drawn to Indian restaurants wherever we go, and we were delighted to discover Curry Culture. When we arrived at 7:30 pm on a Friday, there were tables available both inside and outside. The table for two people that was inside was located right under a cold air vent, so we sat at a table for four outside. There was a nice breeze, possibly from the ceiling fans. We shared a butter chicken and two cheese naan. They gave us free water, papardam and tamarind, mint, and tomato chutney. The butter chicken curry was delicious with many choice pieces of succulent tandoori chicken in a tasty sauce. We also enjoyed the unique cheddar cheese taste of the cheese naan. The manager asked how we liked the food and how they could improve our experience. They were showing a Bollywood movie on a large screen outside screen in the outdoor area. The price was very competitive for the location, quality of food and service. The staff said goodbye to us when we left. We felt content, with the still-fresh memory of the lovely taste of the meal and the courtesy and attention of the staff. We recommend Curry Culture very highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

All round a fabulous tastey meal. The dishes were unique and all tatsted very different. The friendly manager reccommended the most marvelous 'typical Indian dishes' to our meal which were sensational. The meal was like having a party in my mouth!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aylee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Ms Aylee,

Absolute pleasure to know that you had a memorable meal with us at the Curry Culture. Also very happy to know that the recommendations by Jimmy, our manager, were apt for you.

Yes M'am, we do try to ensure that there are variety of flavors and textures in every meal that we serve. There is so much in Indian cuisine to savor especialy given the different regional cuisines that we have incorporated.

It would be our absolute pleasure to serve you again, whenever you are in this part of the world.

regards

Sandeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant whilst on our honeymoon and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal - the staff were attentive, friendly and we didn't find them pushy at all.
The food was excellent, and we didn't have to wait long at all.
Really not sure where these bad reviews have come from, doesn't sound like the same restuarant we visited, definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 2012Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear 2012 Honeymooners

Greeetings from the Curry Culture

Thank you for the lovely review that you have posted. We are very happy that we were able to contribute some memorable moments during your honeymoon in Asia. It was a pleasure for both , Jimmy and me , to have met and served you.

As for the negative reviews, M,am, many factors like external competition etc involved , but we are true to what we do and have great faith in the judgement of our guests. Also these comments do help us improve at all levels.Hindu philosophy tells us to worry about things that in our control and leave the rest to the almighty.

We would be absolutely delighted to host you again, whenever you are down in Singapore.

love and regards

Sandeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went for dinner with my colleague last week and this is another run-of-the-mill curry garbage at its best... the only differentiation (as observed by the other diners here) is the irritating upselling and the slow service ! I have been to the Maharajah a couple of shops away so many times in the past, and I like them better for their sincere/original curries and a not-so-hyped environment !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chris_TibSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepSachar, Owner at The Curry Culture, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Mr Chris,

Greetings from the Curry Culture.

Very unfortunate for us that you did not have an memorable meal with us. We are extremely paasionate about our food and service and are truly endeavoring to serve traditional Indian cuisine . It would be an absolute pleasure for us if you could come down and have another meal with us as we would love to improve on your previous experience.

It is good to know that you are a fan of Indian Cuisne and like our neighbours better. I would like to think that we are serving food that is distinctly different in the Singapore market in terms of flavors, textures and also in the way we cook and use the ingredients, by far more traditional. And we truly believe that this Culture of cooking and serving is the best way forward.

Please feel free to come down again and try the food and services.

regards

Sandeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Culture also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Curry Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing