We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a cool place”
Review of Haji Lane

Haji Lane
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.61*
and up
Kampong Glam and Sultan Mosque Morning Walking Tour
Ranked #60 of 822 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“what a cool place”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Haji lane & the arab street area is the perfect place to spend an afternoon (& night) if you are into cute old buildings, interesting boutique shopping, markets stalls (behind the mosque) & middle eastern food complete with shisha.
Easy to get to via bugis MRT & a short 5 minute walk around the raffles hospital.
While the numerous egyptian, persian, lebanese restaurants looked fun, we ate at a very cute bar/restaurant called Crostini & were rewarded with great food & coffee in air con but still with a great view out to the street.
The shops may be aimed more at the ladies - but I guarantee you will be interested & captivated by this place if you spend the time to poke around.
Will definetely go back on my next visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kimba38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    293
    83
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great find and deserve more reviews and ratings!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We read about Haji Lane on a magazine before heading to Singapore. We glad we did it!!, what a cute little and interesting place.

We took the MRT to Bugis and took the exit to Raffles hospital and walk around the hospital to get to Arab St and Haji Lane, the walk itself is only about 6 mins and if you go in the afternoon is actually quite a pleasant walk.

Haji Lane is lined with small boutique shops selling very interesting stuff. We had fun checking every shops. at the end of Haji Lane, there are quite a few restaurant and bars and it seems to be happening towards night time, as they also offer shisha. We, however, ate at this small bistro cafe called Crostini next to Bar Story. Seeing there is no review for this place, I might as well added here. Its one of the only few places to eat that provide air condition if its your thing, and the small has great ambience. The food itself is very delicious, top notch quality and competitive price.

Beyond Haji Lane, if you continue walking towards the mosque, there will be more shops and restaurants and even some markets stall on the street. The night we went was Friday, so all restaurants are busy, and noisy, its very happening place.

We will definitely come back to Haji Lane and the Arab Street area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dav3Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great shopping, charming street”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I went with three friends to Haji Lane to do a little shopping, and what a find! The shops are small stores with unique items of clothing, shoes, home goods, etc. Each of us found something perfect to buy.

And the street is absolutely charming as well. Give it an hour or two. It's worth it to take yourself out of the hustle and bustle of Singapore.

We even came back in the evening to eat at the mexican restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbirdistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem find.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Sick of luxury brands and mega shopping mall? Check out haji lane-it was a surprise find, full of interesting shops , no mass produced anything, and located next to Arab street (beautiful fabrics stores) and kampong glam (middle eastern flavours galore) - brilliant place to spend the afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hueyloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good variety of fashion stores”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth a visit if you're in Singapore, even if you only spend an hour. There is a good variety of fashion stores, and some local designers. The lane itself has a real charm, so worth taking a walk down even if you're not shopping for clothes. Haji Lane is a good reprieve from the megamall luxury brands which to be honest you can pick up in any big city. If you're bored shopping, then there are some really intersting middle eastern eateries a street or two away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Koray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haji Lane also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Haji Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing