We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in a gorgeous isolated setting”

Tamarind Hill Singapore By Samadhi
Ranked #193 of 10,506 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $150
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
“Lovely meal in a gorgeous isolated setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was practically empty which was a shame as it's a gorgeous looking restaurant in an old colonial style building. The service staff was attentive and friendly. We had 1 entree to share and 3 mains, 2 glasses of wine and 2 beers. We thought the food was excellent and tasty although on the more expensive side for Thai food. It cost approximately SG$200 for the both of us.

It was a nice meal but would have been better if there was a bit more atmosphere. We felt like we were almost dining alone!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ange777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    80
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The ambiance and location are a 5, the food is a 3.75”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The bad, first, because there is a lot more good.

1. The food felt a little westernized, kind of Thai-lite. The deep fried grouper with sweet chili sauce, for example, was not a whole fish, and was served in equal sized pieces. My chicken larb was not spicy, and our friend ordered a steak with some foie gras (the fact that it was on the menu at a thai restaurant was a bit strange).

2. not bad at all, but Service was a little off (except for the bartender who rocked it, making me a watermelon chili martini to order!), but not bad, just had to wave or motion a few times, but they were mostly on the ball.

The Good

1. Location and Ambiance - wow, stunning colonial style home with massive green yard, glowing lanterns on long pathway leading to home, we sat outside on a beautiful wooden porch, but inside was drop dead gorgeous, too.

2. The bartender made a watermelon chili cocktail to order. Nuff said.

3. The appetizer platter was awesome - chef's whimsy, we had shrimp cakes, some kind of rice dumpling with nuts and a few other items, awesomeness.

This is a very cool restaurant, great ambiance, you feel like you are in the jungle of thailand somewhere, not in Singapore. Very private, romantic. Will go back with my fiancee and also for biz meetings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great meal with a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am a big fan of Thai food but I have always struggled to find a good place in Singapore! However now the search is over, this will certainly become my new 'go to' place. The food was excellent and set in the lush greenery of Labrador park makes it the perfect evening getaway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We came here for Saturday lunch on a recommendation from a friend and were not disappointed. The setting is peaceful and beautiful and yet still easily accessible from the city. The food is authentic tasting and delicious with generous portions sizes. A wonderful way to spend a lazy weekend lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
157 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“excellent thai food in an awesome venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was truly taken back when a colleague took me here. The building is in the middle of a jungle (so it would seem) but not very far from the city. Such a beautiful venue for a restaurant, is the first impression.

Singapore suffers a lot from bad service. But this place is an exception. And finally the food - very authentic and spicy (at my request). Will definitely come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Hill Singapore By Samadhi also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Hill Singapore By Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing