We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a bit overpriced, great internet speed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Bugis
Ranked #59 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not knowing where to stay, a local friend recommended us to find something in Bugis area.
We found the 5footway inn and booked online, knowing that there wouldn't be any windows or TV in the room.
This is fine and the high speed internet in the room and the 2 Mac computers in the common area were adding plus points.
The breakfast was very basic - toast, butter, jam - so we decided just for the coffee (very nice blend, free all day long) and take the breakfast outside.
The room was clean we assume, the floor is pure concrete. This gave kind of a prison feeling. You can also hear the rain very good through the drainage (at least we think what's what we heard).
The area is good, it's around the arab bit and there were many restaurants offering cheap and good food. There are a lot of street lights, so you're not walking in dark alleys.

The metro station was a bit further that we thought, but it's a good 10mins walk and easy to find.

Make sure you have enough SGD with you, since they don't accept any card payment (as already stated in the booking).

As for the title:
For our second stay, we booked into another hotel, 4*, with double the room size and window, separate shower and toilet and paid 20 SGD mroe per night. But it's without free internet and breakfast... Still gave us the feeling of having the better deal in the other hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for 5footway.inn Project Bugis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 573 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Staff friendly and aggressive. Location is convenience and near the MRT. The Bed is comfortable. The price are cheap and value. Just the Bathrooms are little small and the water pressure not enough.
BTW, overall is good and i will suggust to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSamanthaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to stay in. Would love to recommend this place to my friends in the Philippines.

Very friendly and approachable staff...
Great for family travellers...
Great location....
Great value for Family!!!

Thank you so soo much 5footwayinn for making our trip memorable....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandukaree29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here, and I'll come back for sure! Great place!
The room is spotless with clean bedsheets and comfortable mattress. They provide free towel, shampoo and soap.
There also have a lovely garden terrace which we can enjoy free coffee and water. Their breakfast provides toast, milk, cereal etc.
You can easily get to good food outlets here and it's very convenient to access Bugis and Nicoll Highway MRT station.
Service here is awesome! All the staff are very helpful and kind, helped us to carry luggages and gave us many good suggestions of exploring the city. Thanks to Chris and Siti helping us and gave us such convenience, will miss u guys!
By the way, the 24hrs reception is really convenient for us to enquire things.
Highly recommended for travelers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouE714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was my first time to try a hostel in Asia. I thought of trying a shared room, but at check in I moved to a single room for a small fee. The room was clean; the aircon good, wifi strong and the bed, comfortable. No TV in the room but I didn't have time to watch TV anyway. The staff were friendly and eager to help.

The hostel was near restaurants. The MRT station is not as near as described in some websites. From the MRT station, it would be a 12min walk for me, not 5 minutes. I do not like walking with my high heels. Fortunately, taxis abound in Singapore and I only took the MRT once.

There is no foreign exchange dealer in the immediate vicinity. Make sure you have SGD currency on hand before you head to the hostel.

I like cheap and cheerful and will most probably go back there again; but not if I have friends with me who are creatures of comfort.



I would

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilletravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

For £60 a night for two people in their supposedly "deluxe" room we were pretty gobsmacked when the door to our room was open (nervous smile noted on the member of staff showing us the room). A tiny tiny room with hard flooring dirty walls and a bunk bed with no space for our cases. It was a prison cell! The shower and bathroom were absolutely filthy. The actuality of how the room is like and what is presented are in stark contrast.

The staff were indifferent to our concerns but polite nonetheless and refunded us the money when we decided to leave.

Understandably hotels are expensive in Singapore but for a little bit extra you can get a lot lot more without the feeling you're serving time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zchaa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving in dingapore i realized my booking was wrong and despote the fact that there were mo open rooms the staff at 5footinn helped me locate a hostel clise diwn the street in the mean time. Upon our actual arrival the staff welcomed us kindly, showed us all the amenities and our way around, and when goongout at night we were directed to great locations for food and attractions with honest feedback about certain attractions! Overall they were helpful, rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean and there was plenty of space for everything a backpacking traveler could need!

Thank Rdrasz2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#23 of 234 in Singapore
498 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#51 of 234 in Singapore
508 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Bugis

Address: 10 Aliwal Street 5footway.Inn Project Bugis, Singapore 199903, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $22 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Bugis 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5footway.inn is designed with the modern traveller in mind: clean, cosy beds with individual lights; electrical outlets for power-hungry gadgets; privacy curtains for a sense of personal space; air-conditioning to get thru the warm Singaporean weather; complimentary broadband WIFI throughout the hostel and complimentary breakfast.The revamped 5footway.inn Project Bugis is the only ones in town where you get boutique hotel accommodation at hostel prices; relax in our in-house cafe/lounge and have a BBQ or watch a movie under the stars at our rooftop terrace garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5footway.Inn Project Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing