We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
Ranked #54 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Overall it is a great place for backpackers. Clean and spacious, the place also offers board games and books. It's a place where you can relax and have a sound sleep. The following are my likes and dislikes about the place.

Good things I like:
1. The room is well-lit, and with a window. (I enjoy sunshine coming in during the day.)
2. The room is clean and spacious. (8 people in a room)
3. The hostel provides drinking water, hangers and airers.
4. The cups and plates used for breakfast are clean and made of porcelain (instead of cheap plastic)
5. There are two shower rooms and toilets on one floor.
6. Great location-- near the MRT station.

Things I find weird or inconvenient:
1. The clerk charged me 75 SGD while the price was 74.5. I felt uncomfortable (though I did ask for the 0.5 dollar back).
2. There are no individual plugs for everyone. 8 people in a room, but only 4 or 5 plugs. Not convenient.
3. No hairdryers.
4. There are lockers, but you need to bring your own padlocks. Or you can rent from the counter ($$$).

On the whole it's a cozy place. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
21
9
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Gusti is a good choice for solo and budget-conscious traveler. The owner Miss Sue helped us book discounted tickets plus free lunch meal voucher at US which is a great deal for us!!!!Miss Sue also helped us re-arrange our itineraries of all the places we want to visit since we were in a tight schedule and we want to maximize our stay in SG.

The room was simple & clean with nice and fresh smell. Bathroom & Shower area are always clean!! The location is perfect!! not too crowded like Little India & Bugis. It is a 5-minutes walk to Lavander MRT Station.

Be prepared to meet backpackers and all types from all over the world as it is a dormitory type bedroom (max 8person/room).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Friendly staff and lovely owner. This hostel is spotlessly clean and provides basic accommodation (although the bunks were comfy!). The dorm rooms have air-conditioning, there is a kitchen area and a fridge for the guests. Very, very close to Lavender MRT station, one stop away from Bugis Junction (a busy shopping area).
I had a lovely week-long stay at Gusti and would recommend it to friends wanting to save money on a Singapore trip.
Some negative aspects: the shower facilities are a bit small and don't have enough hooks for convenience. There was a group of young girls staying in my dorm for 2 nights who were noisy early in the morning - I did mention that to the owner and she had a chat with them. Turns out they had never stayed in a hostel before and didn't know the "rules" ;) It was all good after that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Sue the owner is lovely, everything was done very well and this is probably the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Breakfast is bread with jam or peanut butter but there are facilities to make other things. Microwave toaster and kettle as well as a fridge. Comfortable beds and air con in the rooms. Lavender MRT is about 400 m away, there is a supermarket called fair price 200 m away and a 24/7 seven 11 next door. Below Gusti is a cake shop that looks awesome but I didn't visit it.
Only two things I found challenging. 1. The area over the wash basins are not well lit and consequently it was difficult to shave and 2. the 2 shower rooms are wet room with the toilet inside the room. Sometimes people took a long time to shower leaving me with crossed legs outside or running up and downstairs to find one that was not in use.
One other thing each bed could do with a reading light.
These are minor things, this place was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

thanks for Gusti bed & breakfast for the sevices during my stay there. although only 2 nights, but very nice to rest there. Madam who greeted us was very friendly, the maids who cleaned our room was also very quick and friendly (incidentally comes from Indonesia as well as us). very satisfying. strategic location, close to lavender station. we also easy to get halal food around the hotel area. an unfortunate thing, we got a room on the 3rd floor, stairs to room a little bit difficult for us to carry the suitcase. but overall, very impressive. please wait for our arrival again, Gusti bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarasKinanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in february and it was amazing. The staff team are so friendly polite and nice. The rooms were great spotless and affordable. Great location. I would definitely recommend staying here a lttle star in Singapore

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunnnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were extremely disappointed during our stay last this week. We thought that the service was great when we read the review; HOWEVER, this was totally opposite.
1. When I made the booking about two months prior to our arrival date, the owner Audrey gave me a rate of 170 SGD for 7 adults which we both agreed and confirmed the reservation. However, a week prior to our arrival, she then sent me an email that an ADDITIONAL RATE of 10% will be added to the room rate WHICH IN THE FIRST PLACE SHE MENTIONED THAT RATE 170 SGD IS ALREADY NETT WITHOUT ADDITIONAL CHARGES. I just slipped it away since we will be arriving the soonest.
2. Since our flight is arriving at midnight, I inquired if their combivan which Audrey quoted at 55 SGD is already nett and if it includes midnight surcharge, she AGAIN mentioned that it is NETT WITH ALL CHARGES; however, she AGAIN sent an email a day prior to our arrival that there would be an additional rate of 10 SGD for midnight surcharge. To my upset, I cancelled automatically the car directly. I began to think that they are not consistent with what they are committing to their guests.
3. When we arrived past midnight due to the late arrival of the aircraft, we were hoping that someone will greet and help us, UNFORTUNATELY, a front desk staff RUDELY said to us that "Why did we arrive late for we wake her up at this time". Doesn't she have any sympathy, anricipation or common sense to ask if how are we on our long flight instead of being so rude?
4. When we arrive in our room, it smelled newly painted wooden bed so we have to open the window to get rid of the smell. At morning, breakfast was not clearly advised and instructed.
5. Lastly, when we paid the room, the front desk told me that the room rate is at 190 SGD (which was not the rate quoted to me through email). I told the front desk that the rate was 187 SGD (170+10%) and she yelled at me that it's 190. I then insisted the exact rate which was given by Audrey. When that rude and ugly front desk called her and passed the phone to me, I was shocked when she told me that the rate is 190 for she ROUNDED OFF the rate from 187 to 190. I then told her that she doesn't have the right to round off any rate that was not confirmed! I have been alot of hotel/ backpackers and I haven't experienced this kind of lame excuse and terrible service in my entire life!!!

So if you are planning to stay in this Hostel, well think about it over and over again!

BELIEVE ME THEY WILL RUIN YOU'RE VACATION!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank darkroom_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thank you so much for your detailed review.

Thank you.

Audrey Musa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Traveller@SG
Traveller@SG
#51 of 217 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers @ SG
Backpackers @ SG
#169 of 217 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#32 of 217 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coziee Lodge
Coziee Lodge
#76 of 217 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Joyfor Singapore
Joyfor Singapore
#73 of 217 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisher BnB
Fisher BnB
#2 of 217 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Property: GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
Address: 30 A Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, newly opened is your home in the city. Dormitory Style Bedrooms with free Wifi throughout.Breakfast provided from 7-11am.3 Min walk to Lavender Subway that will take you to all the sights in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing