We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm service, saving cost on electricity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
Ranked #73 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The owner and her sister are very warm and welcoming. The owner even let me took shower after I checked out, the evening when I came back to took the luggage before heading to airport.

Location is great, near 24 hour food court, convenient store, and SMRT.

Wifi worked perfectly.

Room for improvement is for electricity, maybe don't save too much. When I arrived t hostel around 7pm, I was the 1st one who checked in on 3rd floor. Common room, kitchen, and all other rooms are dark, which was kinda scary.. Water heater was also off. Actually the next morning I tried to turn on the heater, it still didn't work. Pretty annoying to "see" the heater but it wasn't working, but not such a big deal as SG is hot.

Cleanliness is OK, only dusty on the stairs as they r renovating.

I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm, with a Philippines family of 4, who checked in at midnight. They and their other family members staying at other rooms keep coming in and out, and even kept the door opened for a while, doing their family things while letting all the cool oir out. They also didn't turn their mobile phones to silent mode, so during the night their phone rang a few times. Their mom snored and keep coughing during her sleep. So I completely got beaten up cannot sleep because of the manner of this family that night. However, this is not hostel's fault. They probably can do better by alocating solo traveller with another solo travellers though, not among a family like that.

However, I was really impressed by their service. Coming back? Yes, with better preparation - bring ear plugs & eye cover :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_backpackgal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014
Google Translation

Hi Lucy,

Apa khabar? Makasi ya reviewnya.

Kita akan selalu mencoba buat improve membuat hostel kami lebih better. Hopefully akan jauh lebih baik on your next visit.

Sampe ketemu ya.

Makasi

Cheers;
Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

very strategic location with MRT and shopping malls are cheap. very friendly. near the bus stop. lodging is cheap and very good. the staff were very friendly. thanks to audrey and sue who made ​​us feel at home. and thanks also to vitri who have recommended this Inn to our family. wonderful first experience and so much fun. I love Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoewhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014
Google Translation

Hello :)

Wah reviewsnya keren banget. Makasi ya.

Kapan ke sini lagi?

Semoga kita bias ketemu lagi ya.

Makasi

Cheers;
Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is great, very close to dining places and MRT station(s). Very friendly and helpful receptionists who would give complete information of what to see and where to go without hesitant The bedroom and bathroom are clean. Definitely a great value for money and a good recommendation for travelers in group or big families.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justhiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi Enny,

Thank you for your positive review. We are really encouraged by the good review and will definitely keep up to the standard at all times.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon to our hostel.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hmm what can i say, the bedroom is clean, the bathroom is clean. Everybody is so friendly. what i most like is, many indonesians are here hahahaha..feel like at home.
near to Lavender station, near to bus stop, kopitiam 24 hours (if you hungry during midnight). card and locker, hot water, everything you need, as a budget traveler, you can find it here.
buat kalian para backpacker, if you look for a hostel or B&B, come here, and see it for yourself.
kalau saya sih, pasti mau datang lagi hehehehehe

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika_Juwita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014
Google Translation

Hi Veronika,

Reviewnya keren and encouraging sekali. Makasi ya.

Sampe jumpa lagi ya di Gusti Bed & Breakfast Singapore.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I highly recommend this hostel in a heartbeat. The staff are exceptionally wonderful, very welcoming and go to great lengths to make you feel at home.

The rooms are very tidy and clean, kitchen as well. The common area has a homely feeling with a pool table and tv room. The atmosphere of this hostel is just amazing.

Thank you to Gusti family, Audrey and Sue you made our stay in Singapore that much better!

Forest & Paula

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForestLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi Forest & Paula,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

We are so encouraged to know your stay have been wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel again.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Compared to the rest of Asia, Singapore accommodation is waaaay over priced, so I looked for the best cheaper place to stay for a 23 hour stop over waiting for the next plane, and chose Gusti based on TripAdvisor recommendations.
Good job travellers :) It was a good choice.

Management = Audrey and her sister were awesome! Great assistance getting there, in english, on the phone and email. I called from Australia, and emailed back and forward, and again in Singapore. They are ready to help nearly 24 hours a day, sleeping on site. So friendly and helpful! Maps, suggestions, power adaptors, whatever they could help with.

The rooms were very clean and tidy, air-con worked great! Free filtered water as much as you needed. Included basic breakfast, toast with things to put on it, coffee and tea etc. Very close to the MRT (train).
If you go to the right out of the door, and keep walking down the street, a close 2 blocks down you will get to the best local 'food court' area. Cheap good food, as directed by a local to me :)

The rooms are shared bunks, so be aware of that, but it's no problem as guests are put together with respect to each other.

A very small note, there is a longish stairway up to the second floor, where the BnB is located.

To wrap up, for a short stop over / travelling on a budget in Singapore, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MithrilZip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back again soon.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It is clear why Gusti is already the top rated B&B in Singapore despite only being open less than a year.
The best thing about the guest house is the people who run it. Audrey and her sister, are some of the nicest people I have met. Recommendations of where to eat and what to do in Singapore were really useful. Even better was Audrey's suggestion on my travel itinerary in Asia. I was travelling over a month and hadn't planned my next country until Audrey suggested Bali, where she had lived. She put me in contact with her brother in law, who met me in Bali and helped make the time spent unbelievable.

She didn't have to do any of that but did because she is simply a lovely person.

If you are staying in Singapore and want a very convenient, safe, clean and well priced guest house I would highly recommend Gusti. Definitely eat in the local food courts around the area and little India which has a fantastic atmosphere.

Thank you again Audrey and Bernie for making me stay and next stop in Bali very memorable.

Colin

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi Colin,

I am so touched by the review that you had written, thank you so much.

Its so encouraging to know that you had enjoyed yourself in Singapore and Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back here.

Thank you

Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Traveller@SG
#62 of 234 in Singapore
172 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 234 in Singapore
406 reviews
Joyfor Singapore
#92 of 234 in Singapore
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mori Hostel
#103 of 234 in Singapore
149 reviews
Meadows Hostel
#46 of 234 in Singapore
127 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Shophouse
The Shophouse
#79 of 234 in Singapore
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Address: 30 A Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $13 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, newly opened is your home in the city. Dormitory Style Bedrooms with free Wifi throughout.Breakfast provided from 7-11am.3 Min walk to Lavender Subway that will take you to all the sights in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing