We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, but average dessert”
Review of Wimbly Lu

Wimbly Lu
Ranked #33 of 237 Dessert in Singapore
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cosy, but average dessert”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was there for a quick dessert and tea. The place is really cosy, looks like someone's livingroom. I was seated at the back of the shop near the kitchen, and left smelling like food (not baked goods). The chocolate eclair I had was decent, nothing special. The chocolate shell was good, the choux pastry a little flavorless, the pastry cream filling rich and not too sweet. The matcha (green tea) latte was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely a place for desserts”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Love the latte and waffles . We had a second round of waffles . It's just the right texture, soft and light yet crispy. Next time will try the lemon cake :)

Helpful?
Thank sallyputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Chocolate Irony”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Until now, I still do not know why this place is so popular. Ironically, the desserts did not impress even though Wimbly Lu is famous for them.

The Hazelnut Butterscotch Blondie ($4.50) was too dry and chalky with rancid untoasted nuts though the butterscotch sauce was rich and sweet.

I don't understand the logic of molten lava cakes $6without ice cream or creme anglaise sauce but I know some do. The version here is very rich, dense and luckily not too sweet. However, the cake texture was still dry as compared to Domino's or Morgansfield.

The Chocolate Tofu Cake $6 did not taste anything of tofu but I guessed the ingredient blended into the mousse did help to give it a smooth, creamy texture. However, the biscuit base was stale and not crunchy as described by the staff.

With a crisp texture and some even noted a resemblance with cereal taste, the signature waffles with one scoop ice cream ($8.50) was the better ones that day. I wonder if the salted caramel ice cream came from Salted Caramel at Upp Thomson though. But it was too small a scoop for the size of the waffles.

Mediocre Cheese Toast Melts which can be skipped

Another recommended item was the Chocolate Root Beer Cake $6. Think layers of root-beer-infused ganache intersecting with chocolate sponge. I like chocolate and root beer. But the combination of both tasted strange.

Blackout Cake $6
Bottomline, a cafe that is simply over-rated. Perhaps it is crowded because the seats are limited. My companions were generous to comment that the ambience was good, for instance the settings such as the red bricks tiled wall and lightings. But I tend to ignore ambience and focus on the food. Given the substandard quality of the chocolate desserts, I would not fancy a return

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dairy_cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome desserts!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Decided to cafe hopped with the homz which led us to Wimbly Lu as the last stop. Located at Jalan Riang, it's a little inconvenient to go by public transport, around 10-15 minutes walk from Nex, Serangoon. It's a little cafe popular for its desserts and chocolates and is hidden in a private estate near Serangoon. We were spoilt from choices. There were a huge selection of chocolate desserts to choose from. Prices are still friendly ranging from $6 -$7.

Decided to try their highly raved Root Beer Cake. It's a moist cake with a tinge of root beer at the bottom. Something interesting! Wimbly Lu is definitely worth a visit for the desserts if you're near the vicinity. All of their desserts are really worth trying but personally, the Sticky Date Pudding is still my favourite at Wimbly Lu. Must Try!

This is my 4th visit to Wimbly lu and wish to try everything on their menu! :D Read more here at, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/08/wimbly-lu-chocolate-cafe-singapore.html

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacq I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute Cafe”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Adorable cafe with great desserts. The atmosphere was lovely and it was a lovely touch that all the plates was different giving it a homely feeling. The ceilings were decorated with cute clouds giving it a very relaxed ambience. To avoid long queues I suggest going earlier so that you have ample time. I went with a group of friends and we got there around 8.30pm and it was filling up fast despite being a weekday. The molten lava cake was amazing as was the Brownie flavoured ice-cream. Also definitely recommend the Marshmallow pie! That said, because it started getting a little too crowded the staff tried to hurry us along. Overall a nice place to visit and as it's located in a housing area, it was a quiet break from the hustle and bustle of traffic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wimbly Lu also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Wimbly Lu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing