We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalunya - CLOSED

Catalunya
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Catalunya is a contemporary Spanish restaurant situated at the iconic Fullerton Pavilion, floating in the heart of the Marina Bay district. Helmed by an international team of award-winning culinary experts from the likes of elBulli, Drolma, Sketch, and Santi,Catalunya‘s distinctive menu draws inspiration from authentic Spanish recipes, served with the finesse of Asian hospitality and Spanish charm. Designed by award-winning design firm AvroKo, Catalunya is seated in a unique glass-encased dome floating atop the waters of Marina Bay. We are open daily from 11am to 2am.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to sample their tapas and I was blown away at the taste, presentation of food and their wide variety of drinks...

Staffs were mostly native Spanish and they were all so proud of their food and drinks.

Tried 'The Other Spanish Tortilla", "The Suckling Pig Tapas" and it sealed another reservation back to this restaurant... Surprisingly affordable. We are looking at $50-80/- per person.

Well worth every cent!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    165
    79
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you have a tight budget.....give it a miss
If you want to try little bits of everything then go for the Tapas and share a few mains
Nice environment, nice service, nice views ( but you can get than anywhere around the bay)
A group of 6 had about 12 tapas and 4 mains & 4 deserts for lunch and Sparkling water
Total bill $580 BUT we all left full and enjoyed the meal
Pricey yes, but we have all paid good money for poor and average food somewhere at sometime so occassionally we must expect to pay good money for great food, service and location.

Will go back, but only for a really special occassion

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeigeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited for dinner to this amazing restaurant and it wasn't long before we realised we were somewhere very special. I couldn't resist trying one of the Lola cocktails, a combination of blue cheese and sherry. It's a drink that should not work - it just sounds wrong. Infact it was one of the most amazing things I've ever tasted, a very clever play on the after dinner Stilton and port.
Other treats were also in store. We were presented with tiny spoons with what looked like a wobbling olive on it. When we asked what it was we were told just to eat it, so the surprise wouldn't be spoilt. The - literally - explosion of intense olive flavour which just disappeared is a food memory we will never forget.
Our wide selection of tapas style dishes were just one delight after another. Fresh, delicious seafood, suckling pig, every one was more memorable than the rest. It has been our great regret that we never got a chance to visit El Bulli but thank goodness one of its chefs have set up shop here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bamNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have only ever eaten in the bar area but restaurant area looks great.

We went down late one afternoon and stayed a few hours. There were two of us and we tried most of the tapas menu. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent and the wine good. Decor and music helped make you think you were possibly in Spain...as long as you didn't look outside! When you did glance out though, even from the bar, you were right on Marina Bay and looked over to the impressive architecture of Marina Bay Sands. Very nice.

We had a lovely 2/3 hours grazing and drinking.

The only downside was that it ended up being extremely expensive.Now, I understand that it's a 5 star restaurant with 5 star food and know that you are also paying for the experience, the view and service as well as everything else. And of course it IS Singapore...However, even we nearly choked on our croquettas when the $500 bill came.

Shame, as we'd go there lots more if it was a little less exy.
A must try once, but save your pennies before you go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Em Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Tapas and Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We ordered several tapas dishes and a bottle of wine. The tapas were quite good, especially the octopus and mussles. The tapas were quite filling and we ended up giving the main course a miss. The desserts were not bad as well.

The place is quite nice with a good view outside, especially if sitting near the windows. However, it was kind of noisy, making it kind of challenging to carry on a conversation though.

Overall a pleasant experience, although the bill could be an eye-popper.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalunya also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing