We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phil Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Phil Inn
Ranked #174 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a super late review.. stayed for 2 nights last sept of 2012.. a group of 6, all ladies and we availed of a 6 bed dorm.. attached bathroom is very nice, with hot water and it is spacious.. no problems with the staff as everyone r friendly and accomodating.. just do not expect 5 star treatment for after all this is a budget inn but they were always ready and willing to help if ever we have any concern.. we will be coming back to sg and we will be staying here again.. that is how satisfied we are of our stay here..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yasmin_waldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Overall had a very good compliments of the rooms with attached bathrooms and the comfy design of the inn. As we are tourists, of course have queries on the checking in and information of the surroundings. Therefore over the recept, we approached for assistance. Not to our expectation, over the counter, the man with tattoos really rude n shouted at us when we brought out our queries. Is this the service that the budget inn can bring to us customers?? Did we somehow offend the mafia recept in anyway that we deserves a rude behaviour in return? Overall would recommend the stay here but beware of the unexpected mafia behaviour by the man recept.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackerTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonChin, Owner at Phil Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We apologies for the unpleasant experience you had at our Lofi Inn Singapore. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the man you are referring to is not the owner of the inn and he has be severely reprimanded to prevent and further disruption to our guest.

We the management sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Simon Chin
Operation Manager
LOFI Inn Singapore
By Bella Maison Group Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Makassar, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

At the first time to see Lofi inn, i felt excited. I was sleeping in the very nice dormy style room. The room has a clean bed, good blanket and puffy pillow. They also have recreation room, so we can have interaction with another guest from around the world. In recreation room, we can share our things and cook in the kitchen with our own dishes. The most that I like very much is Lofi inn have a friendly and hilarious staff, the staff is so helpful person. well, EXCEPT ONE THING, the owner is not very nice to some guest. He just nice to certain people and always shows unpleasure expression. That's why i rate Lofi Inn in four point. At least Lofi Inn is AMAZING.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rchrissalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonChin, Owner at Phil Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Thank you for your flavorful review of our Lofi Inn Singapore, and it is our duty and responsibilities to keep every guest of our feeling happy and fulfills during their stay with us.

We apologies for the unpleasant experience you had at our Lofi Inn Singapore. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the man you are referring to is not the owner of the inn and he has be severely reprimanded to prevent and further disruption to our guest.

We the management sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Simon Chin
Operation Manager
LOFI Inn Singapore
By Bella Maison Group Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We decided on staying in this inn because of the convenience of having a personal bathroom. Most hostels/inn with the same price range offered shared bathroom facilities. The family room we had was clean, big enough to fit all of our luggage with enough space to move around. Lockers were also available in the room, you just had to bring your own lock. WiFi was available everywhere in the inn and there are 3 computers available for use near the lobby.

Free breakfast starts at 8:30am. They serve the same food every day but it was enough to fill our tummies. In case that's a problem for you, a restaurant was also available just right beside the inn which also serves breakfast.

Service is very good if not excellent. They were very accommodating to our needs.

Location-wise, the driver who picked us up from the airport had a hard time looking for the inn at first. Other than that, there are 3 bus stops easily accessible in the area. 2 of them were merely 2-3 minutes of walking while the other one will take around 6-8 minutes. The inn will also be accessible to the MRT in the future with the construction of Jln Besar station with an estimate of just around 5 minutes walk.

All in all great place to stay most especially for families on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place is a little bit hard to find but you get the best value for your money. Our room is clean and I was surprised that it's very big. Free wi-fi connection on all floors and the lobby. I recommend staying in Lofi Inn for other travellers who are on a tight budget like us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Would like to share the excellent service we had from the Lofi Management (Mr. Simon & Ms. Maggie) for all the 9 days we stayed at LOFI INN.
I would love to recommend this Lodge to families who are on the lookout to stay in and around the city with the affordable budget, although the room size is small but very comfy in terms of family stay together, good wifi and clean rooms.
Our experiences with the courteous and always willing to help staff made our stay worth the price and the nearest proximity to the shopping malls, indian foods just below the Hotel and the MRT station made this Singapore trip a very memorable one.
"If we ever plan to come to Singapore in the future, i would really love to come to Lofi Inn again"
Richard and Family.

Room Tip: Corner room on the 2nd floor is very near the dining and common room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this inn for 2 nights for our academic trip. Room was small but comfy and personal bathroom for each room was superb. Next to it is halal indian restaurant so it makes it easy for us whom are mainly muslim. Staff are acomodating and helpful. With the price, it was a worth the stay

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Izzat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Checkers Backpackers
Checkers Backpackers
#140 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Traveller@SG
#58 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
No photo provided
Clifden Hostel
#102 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#64 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Moni Gallery Hostel
#86 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phil Inn

Property: Phil Inn
Address: 43 Dickson Road Phil Inn, Singapore 209518, Singapore (Formerly Lofi Inn)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phil Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're close to everything which a budget traveler could possibly need. Our 4 storey building are built with a spacious lounge for entertaining groups for gathering. The interior is brand new and decorated in in a classic New England style, with reclaimed marble floors. All rooms are attached with bath AND hotel security systems! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Phil Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phil Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing