We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
75
280
160
41
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
280
160
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food republic bencoolen street family room mrt station bras basah food court milk tea walking distance dhoby ghaut budget hotel national museum bus stop circle line sgd per night convenient store food hall plaza singapura
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 578 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Location is obviously a major plus point when you need to rely on public transports (bus, MRT, taxi), few other hotels of the same standard could match this. Many places of interests, and dining places, are also within convenient walking distance. The place is clean, but has aged. There was only 1 lift functioning and the AC in my room could not be adjusted manually. Be prepared to bring your own soap & shampoo... I only found out that the dispenser in the shower was empty while having a shower...

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dnatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Stayed at the Strand twice this year already. Location is so convenient. Two MRT lines both less than 300 meters (Yellow and Blue lines) to the hotel, a food court and 7-11 across the street, Chjimes about a kilometre away and a few restaurants nearby.

Rooms are a bit tired but if you're only there to sleep then it's absolutely fine. Elevators are old but funtioning well so no problems there. There are no ramps so beware if you have heavy luggage going up a few steps to the lobby.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blooeygummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel for three nights as we were flying out of Singapore on a midnight flight and had debated booking a more upmarket hotel for just two nights and having our bags stored until we left for the airport. As it was, we were advised late afternoon our flight was delayed by an hour to 1:00am!

On arrival at the Strand Hotel from the airport by taxi (S$50) our bags were carried by the concierge to the foyer from the street, which involved a flight of 6-8 steps. The lobby is not an inviting place to linger and only one of the two lifts were in service during our stay.

We had requested a room on one of the higher floors when making our booking and were provided a room on the 9th floor (of 10 floors). Our room was clean and tidy. Bottled water was provided daily. We didn't try the restaurant/sandwich bar just off the lobby. It appeared to have limited opening hours - but our stay was over a weekend.

The hotel is located adjacent to Bencoolen MRT station (Downtown line) which connects to Changi Airport (we used this for our return journey to the airport). Across the road is a 711 store and a Food Republic food hall, the latter proving great local foods and value for money compared to prices at Boat Quay or Clarke Quay!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kiwi_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

I choose this hotel because It’s easy to reach from Changi Airport by MRT.
And the hotel is very near with MRT station.
Across the hotel is a foodcourt republic and 7 eleven.
This hotel will be fit in too for parent who visiting their children who studying at SMU.
The hotel is clean, big room and they serve the customer well

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lilyjo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

2 stars for room condition and 4 stars for location. So I give a 3. The hotel is old and it tells with the smell when you enter the hotel.

Watch out for the attractive prices you get on booking sites, you’ll be getting the really old rooms. And i was told by the front desk staff that I’d have to top us SGD30 a night for a renovated room which I declined.

The room is big, the shower is strong, the bed is not bad. It has a safe, small fridge, hand and shower gel, toothbrush and you’ll need to get a hairdryer from the front desk.

But I won’t touch the carpets nor the armchair. I had congested nose every night I slept and I believe it to be because of the old carpet. There weren’t enough plug points in the room and it’s dark because it has no ceiling lights. Bare basic room so don’t expect much. Not a good place to spend your day in but good enough to shower and sleep.

However, the location is fantastic. Just next to the downtown line MRT. There’s also a food court (food republic), din tai fung, Starbucks, baja fresh and 7-elevens nearby.

The hotel needs to keep up with all the other new hotels around it. It’s really not a bad hotel, it’s just old.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alexandrafwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews