We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good balance of everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #146 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A good balance of everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Place is very close to MRT stations and to bus stops. Taxi stand is very closeby. There is a huge construction site in front of hotel due to tube expansion but we asked for a room on back side which has no side impact at all. Breakfast was very basic and needs to be improved. Rooms/hotel interior is well designed but definitely worn out and needs to be renovated. Overall Strand has everything it needs but if renovated to levels of HI express it can give a run to other hotels in that area. Lets accept the reality of singapore - every hotel brand is more expensive than USA/UK so if you are looking for a good balance of cost, location and service this is a good place to choose.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    203
    117
    31
    17
See reviews for
177
92
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

It was the worst place to stay... don't read "location" there are hundreds of hotels near the same area where all the attractions are in Singapore.
The room we had was painted in grey with a freaking bed conected with the ceiling colored in fucsia color. It was very humid and the AC very loud and impossible to live. Thank God we were in the hotel only night time to sleep, day time we were in the city.
DON'T go for breakfast there!!! is horrible.
Staff never smiles and we had the feeliing that we are bothering them when asked for something.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 911 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

There are two MRT stations, which are near the hotel (Doby Ghaut and Bras Basah). We find the location of the hotel very convenient since we used the Metro a lot in exploring Singapore. Aside from the MRT stations, there are also 2 bus stops that are just few walks away from it. I also appreciate their fast reply to your booking inquiries. I haven’t had a hard time booking a room with them via e-mail. No complaints about the room. Our family room is very spacious and is always clean. Cheers also to the staff. They are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel last Saturday (26 April, 2014) at 2:30am
and checked out on Monday (28 April, 2014).

The Receptionist Staff (Male) is very accommodating.
Hotel allowed us for a late check-out until 2:00pm.
The Bell Boy (Probably in his 70's) is very helpful to carry our luggage bags but we refused.
Staff at least try to please guests. I can say that this is a plus point for this Hotel.

Hotel is old and poorly maintained.
Room is spacious compared to other Hotels in Singapore (same price range).
Bed is not comfortable with thin blankets and 3 pillows.
Aircon gets hotter in the middle of the night.
The carpet is dirty with so many black stains around!
Equipped with a small work desk, 32inches LCD Tv - No mini bar but with small refrigerator.
Commendable service for cleaning the room everyday by the Hotel's Cleaning Staff.

Toilet is covered with glass wall (no privacy) and there is not much space to move around.
They only provide a free toothbrush+toothpaste, shampoo/liquid soap (all in one) - smelly.
Better bring your own soap and shampoo.
Wifi is free but it disconnects us from time to time.
They do not have other amenities except for the free usage of computer/s at the Lobby.

Breakfast is limited. It is available from 7:30am to 10:30am only.
They serve the same breakfast everyday:
Only that it will change if it is a bacon or a hotdog + 2 fried eggs and hash brown
+ extra buffet for bread with spreads (margarine, fruit jams), sometimes they have a pancakes and one type of fried noodles everyday.
Coffee, tea, juice (one type everyday - apple tea or four seasons) and water is unlimited.
Restaurant is very small - it gets very crowded. Better be there earlier to get a good seat.
Food served was cold. Maybe the Hotel can improve on this area.

Location is accessible but not for taxi. In front of the Hotel building is a huge construction area for the future Bencoleen MRT Station (Blue Line) and it will be finish only in 2017. For the mean time, I do not like the location. Near to Bus Stop (Rendezvous Hotel) and Bras Basah MRT Station. There is also a 24 hours Kopitiam, 7-11, Pub (Irish Pub - they serve great food here! Must try!), Coffee Shops and Nearby to Museums (walking distance).

To summarize everything:

Customer service - Average
Room - Poor
Breakfast - Average
Location - Very Good but because of the construction, I'll rate it Average

Overall, I love the Staff of the Hotel. But I will not come back here again until they renovate everything plus until they finish the construction of the MRT. Hopefully, they can also improve the interior of the Hotel. It is crying out for a major renovation. Rendezvous Hotel looks more enticing plus they have their own drop off point Lobby at the back unlike Strand Hotel. Very troublesome to get your own cab back to the Airport. Better to take Bus No. 36 to Changi Airport instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to be safe. Not sure if lower floor rooms is affected of the on going constru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iTextSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

It took me weeks and sleepless nights searching for a hotel in Singapore that will fit our ideal location, at the same time wouldn't burn our wallets and has more or less good reviews from previous customers, as well. After nth times of checking Google Maps and reading the reviews of each and every hotel nearby the Orchard Road area, I found an article raving about the Strand Hotel that helped me out.

Here is the link: http://www.pinoyroadtrip.com/2011/11/strand-hotel-best-budget-hotel-in.html

I quickly checked out other Strand Hotel reviews and knew it was the PERFECT choice for us.

I e-mailed them a request for reservation and they weren't so quick with their replies (compared to my experience with other hotels) that I also had to contact them through their website. I had to resend every e-mail I sent them to secure an immediate answer.

Now on to other details...

We stayed in Singapore for three days in February 2014. We were a group of three people booked in a triple room with three single beds. When we arrived Singapore from KL, we rode a taxi and it took him a while to navigate around the area BECAUSE the street where Strand Hotel is located, Bencoolen St., is partly closed due to an undergoing construction. Therefore, all taxis had to go through the street right behind Strand Hotel/Rendevous Hotel. Prior to our trip, my brother warned us about this undergoing construction when he booked at Hotel Bencoolen. He went to Singapore for over a year now and well it's still there.

Arriving the hotel, we were IMMEDIATELY assisted by the hotel staff. I felt quite uncomfortable seeing an old man diligently carrying our luggage, since in Asian culture people 'should' always give high regard to the elderly and young people should be the ones assisting them. I insisted that we should carry the luggage instead, but the old man insisted he'd do it and he even seemed quite happy about it. We were checked-in right away and was assisted upstairs by the same old guy who carried around our luggage.

As we entered the room, he reminded us to make use of the WiFi connection by pointing out the password written on the hotel card cover and that we should not forget to avail of our free breakfast in the morning too. Since we weren't sure if the tap water was safe to drink, we asked him that, and he filled up our electronic kettle and said that the tap water's clean and also added that the coffee and powdered milk tea will be replenished everyday for free. So far so good, service has been very friendly and accommodating. He sure deserved a big tip.

The room that we got was a standard looking hotel room. It was located at the back of the hotel with the back side of Rendevous Hotel and an office building as our view. Two single beds plus one extra folding bed, carpeted floor, flat screen TV, fridge and phone (I can't remember if there was a safe). Bathroom was very plain. There was a shampoo/shower gel dispenser and toothbrush+toothpaste packs inside.

For tech freaks, WiFi connection was fair enough to upload photos on Facebook and check e-mail. No, it wasn't a slow connection.

Breakfast was at the Blabber's Cafe and Sandwich Bar located at the lobby area. You have to get your breakfast stub at the reception everyday. It was comprised of hash browns, sausages and egg. There is a small buffet of toast/pancakes, jam, cereals, some kind of Asian noodle, and of course, coffee, juice and tea. If you are going to stay there for a couple of days, you'd probably get tired of the breakfast, since they'll serve the same thing everyday.

Location-wise, well, Strand Hotel is just right behind the Rendevous Hotel, which is located along the Bras Basah (main) Road. Therefore, a couple of steps ahead from Strand Hotel is a convenient bus stop, which we only got to use for the City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour (a very disappointing bus tour, by the way, since they never lived up to their promise of a bus arriving every 15 mins! It took us 45 mins or more waiting for that stupid bus...so not worth it...FYI). I can't really say much about how close the area is to the other tourist places, since all through out our trip, we just used the tour bus and opted to ride the taxi than walk around in the heat and humidity.

Some FYIs, a Kopitiam (food court) and 7-11 is just in front of the hotel. I saw a Subway Sandwich Shop somewhere further on the other side of Bras Basah Road.The Rendevous Hotel has also a yummy lunch buffet (with quite a few Durian dessert selections), if you plan to splurge a little more. A foreign exchange is also nearby, just turn left when you come out of the lobby and walk a couple of meters ahead.

Not far from Strand Hotel is Bugis Street. Just walk down Bencoolen St. and somewhere along the way you'd have to turn right and go straight ahead. Oh yeah, you can get a free map from the reception and check it out. It's like a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We spent a lot of time there, shopping for take home gifts and trying out Singaporean street food. Items/products are fairly priced that you can't haggle that much.

Again, here is the link I found from the internet with a much more detailed review and description of the Strand Hotel.

http://www.pinoyroadtrip.com/2011/11/strand-hotel-best-budget-hotel-in.html

For a budget hotel, they really try to give you more than just 'budget'. A truly great value for money in the most expensive city in the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank e_ilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Location and easy access to transit and within walking distance to shopping was main reason for choosing to stay at this hotel. Also they have large family rooms to accommodate a group of up to 5 adults! Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Decent buffet breakfast included in price - which included freshly cooked eggs, bacon, hash browns! Staff was pleasant and delivered our luggage to our rooms quickly. Stayed here a couple of times before our cruise and would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

When booking we failed to specify a non-smoking room and, after the first night, decided to outlay the extra $20 per night for a 'Deluxe' room (non-smoking). Not that there was anything wrong with the 'Standard' room except for the stale cigarette smell, we just figured our budget could stand it.

The design and decor of the two different rooms were similar but the 'Deluxe' room was considerably larger, had a king-size bed instead of a queen, and had more room furniture. The higher priced room also seemed to have been recently renovated which gave it a brighter "feel".

The room was clean and serviced daily. The bed was of the hard-but-not-too-uncomfortable variety that is commonly encountered in hotels but we had no difficulty sleeping. The staff were friendly and all spoke English.

A Western style cooked breakfast is included in the room price and is the only meal served at the hotel. Together with the buffet of fresh fruit, cereal, and Asian style noodles the meal is more than adequate. Providing for other meals is never a problem in Singapore with a wide range of establishments offering meals from S$3 to S$300; many within very close proximity to the hotel. Check out the Kopitiam food hall that is on the corner.

We were a bit surprised that at this price there were no complimentary toiletries in the room apart form toothbrushes and toothpaste. We didn't ask for any because my wife prefers to use her own shampoo, etc. anyway. Besides, there is a 7/11 right across the road.

There is also no hotel swimming pool.

We knew from previous visits that there is a major construction site on the street outside the hotel so we asked for a room at the back of the hotel which we got, but then changed to a room at the front but on the ninth floor. The noise was hardly noticeable (less than would be encountered in our suburb at home). Every night construction work stopped from around 9:00 PM till 8:00 AM so it was never going to be an issue anyway.

As others have noted, the major attraction of this hotel is its location. Orchard Rd is 10 minutes walk, Bugis markets and MRT station are 15 minutes walk with other attractions like Little India and Arab St a little further but also within easy walking distance. Dobhy Ghaut MRT station (the main interchange) is less than 10 minutes walk away and Bras Basah MRT station is only 100 metres away . When construction of the new MRT line is completed in 2017 there will be a station right at the front door.

All in all, for a low to medium priced hotel, the Strand is not a luxury resort but it is clean, affordable accommodation in downtown Singapore. We've stayed there before and will do so again.

Room Tip: Until 2017, rooms on higher floors, particularly those facing the rear of the hotel, do not have pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#166 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Canning Lodge
#154 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Hotel Kai
#115 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#104 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Property: Strand Hotel
Address: 25 Bencoolen Street Strand Hotel, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing