We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal for big groups.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #145 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal for big groups.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose Strand hotel because it is one of the very few hotels in SG that offers a family room for as big as 6pax/rm. We booked two rooms, ours accommodated 3 pax - including our young daughter who shared our bed (S$160) and the other for 5 pax (S$280) nett per night. Location is good, breakfast is decent (nothing special though); a 7/11 & hawker food center just across the street. Walking distance to nearest MRT stations (Dhoby Gaut & Bras Basah). Bathroom supplies includes only liquid soap and 2 sets of toothbrush.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson-Tina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    187
    108
    27
    14
See reviews for
166
80
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at very short notice due to a change in plans. We booked a family room for 2 adults and 3 children aged 13,12 and 8. The room was an L- shape and more like an apartment ( tip - there are two larger rooms on each floor, ask for one) the room was immaculately clean, spacious and had free wifi.

The staff were friendly and efficient, helping us with booking a taxi to the airport and with any other questions we had.

Breakfast was included. It was a small buffet as well as a plated of bacon, eggs and beans served to us. Whilst it was simple it was good and plentiful. The fruit was especially delicious.

The location is fantastic with Orchard Road a short five minute walk away. We walked to China town and caught a cab home.

The one negative would be the building works outside. I say negative in that other travelers may need to know but I couldn't believe how quiet it was in the building and we faced directly in to the work! There is some light from the window at night and I would say a pull down blind would help during this time as the work is expected to continue for some time.

However, don't let that put you off as its a great little find for a family at a great rate in what can be a very expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

As soon as we stepped into the room, we knew we had made the right choice for a hotel to stay in for 5 nights. The room looked almost brand new and was big enough for 2 queen beds and a single, perfect for a family of 5 adults. It was really clean ( a must for us!)

Someone had put his/her thinking cap on when designing the bathroom and came up with the idea of putting up a wall between the toilet and the shower so that the two could be used separately. Brilliant!

The downside: The construction right outside the window. We got the corner family room on the 2nd floor and so got some of the noise. But kudos to the construction company, their work is the quietest I have ever heard! Thankfully they don't work at night. Other reviewers suggested getting a higher floor or one that faces the back.

Also, because part of the Bencoolen Road is blocked for the construction, many taxi drivers did not know how to access the hotel from the back road. One ended up having to make a 3-point turn on a deadend and another drove round and round (Tell them to look out for the huge orange directional signboards. Otherwise tell them to drop you at Kopitiam which is just opposite.)

Also, there was some miscommunication among the hotel personnel regarding our charges and I ended up having to argue with the lady at the reception at checkout. Note to self: ensure that the reception enter any changes into their computer system at checkin.

Room Tip: One on a higher floor or one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights and are very pleased we did. The hotel is only a short walk to the MRT (train station) and to bus stops. Orchard Road, Raffels Hotel, China Town & Little India are all within walking distance. If you don't like walking then use the efficient train & bus service. Purchase a convenient prepaid ezlink card from the 7/11 store across the road to pay for your train & bus travel. Any left over credit can be used to purchase goods from the store. There is an Asian food court across the road with numerous tasty dishes available at very affordable prices. All staff were polite, friendly & helpful. Breakfast was available every day with cereal, fruit, toast, juice, tea & coffee as well as a cooked meal brought to our table. We stayed on the 8th floor at the back of the building and did not hear any noise from any construction work . The free WiFi worked well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building - the 8th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ann_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location , location ,location ... after all a standard hotel beds unfortunately the hard asian kind but apart from that breakfast was decent . room size good and staff reasonable helpful , there is still construction going on , for the subway station next door . (this probably not finsh till 2015 but i didnt hear anything on my side of building.) just painful for catching taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frangii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Because of the stinky smell in hotel 81 we looked around for other options for a hotel in the city.

The old lady on the reception sounds very warming when she gave us her rate,at that time,hotel 81 offered S$ 225 for one more night while hotel bencoolen just beside hotel 81 gave us S$265 for a night and says we will be given S$10 less for our 2nd night,Strand hotel gave us S$180 for the deluxe room and S$200 for their new rooms for me,my mom and my brother,while hotel 81 doesnt have breakfast,the rate that was given to us includes morning buffet amd free wifi.hotel 81 gives wifi per device and when you wake up in the morning,the internet is not working properly anymore.

The room is way better,3 single beds big space,big tv and smells nice.opposite to the stinky room,smal space and sofa bed,bad internet, no breakfast we experienced in hotel 81.the old lady and old man on the reception are very accomodating and the staffs are very warm and friendly.

Perfect for family and location is walking distance between orchard and suntec/esplanade

We felt like we checked in to a 5star hotel bec of their service

It took us 2days to get over how regretful we are not to find this hotel first which is just beside the hotel (hotel 81) we stayed in


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaetlyn_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a family of 3 who booked a room for 2 persons. The hotel did not even charged us extra for that. We re-arranged the room by pushing the two beds together so that the three of us could fit. We thought we would get charged or reprimanded by the management, but the hotel staff already cleaned our room and changed the sheets but the beds were still together! It was so accommodating for the hotel staff to do that, that's why we were really delighted by the service the hotel gives.

The room itself was excellent. Everything was clean. The Flat Screen TV worked well, along with the bathroom plumbings and the pipeworks. The breakfast as well is excellent. The local food is delicious and the breakfast choices changed daily. Yet more accommodating staff at the cafeteria. The location is perfect. A walk away from malls, a bus away from the city, and a train station away from everything else. No need for expensive taxis anymore (except when going to Singapore Zoo, I think).

The only negative review I could give this hotel is that the cafe might be too small. At the time we were booked there were only few guests, but imagine if the hotel is full. You will be cramped at the canteen. Also, there is no free wifi. Some hotels provide free wifi at the lobby, if not at the rented rooms.

Still, this hotel is a recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Criminy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
V Hotel Bencoolen
#171 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#121 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rochor
Summer View Hotel
Summer View Hotel
#101 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Hotel YAN
#43 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
#155 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Property: Strand Hotel
Address: 25 Bencoolen Street Strand Hotel, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing