We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$285
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$521
$308
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $402/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$124
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$174
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$277
$188
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$318
$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$206
$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
66
246
142
37
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
246
142
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbencoolen streetfamily roomfood republicbras basah stationmrt constructionfood courtmilk teaongoing constructionnoodleswalking distancebudget hoteldhoby ghautbus stopnational museumsmrt stationcircle linesgd per night
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 511 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location , location ,location ... after all a standard hotel beds unfortunately the hard asian kind but apart from that breakfast was decent . room size good and staff reasonable helpful , there is still construction going on , for the subway station next door . (this probably not finsh till 2015 but i didnt hear anything on my side of building.) just painful for catching taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frangii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Because of the stinky smell in hotel 81 we looked around for other options for a hotel in the city.

The old lady on the reception sounds very warming when she gave us her rate,at that time,hotel 81 offered S$ 225 for one more night while hotel bencoolen just beside hotel 81 gave us S$265 for a night and says we will be given S$10 less for our 2nd night,Strand hotel gave us S$180 for the deluxe room and S$200 for their new rooms for me,my mom and my brother,while hotel 81 doesnt have breakfast,the rate that was given to us includes morning buffet amd free wifi.hotel 81 gives wifi per device and when you wake up in the morning,the internet is not working properly anymore.

The room is way better,3 single beds big space,big tv and smells nice.opposite to the stinky room,smal space and sofa bed,bad internet, no breakfast we experienced in hotel 81.the old lady and old man on the reception are very accomodating and the staffs are very warm and friendly.

Perfect for family and location is walking distance between orchard and suntec/esplanade

We felt like we checked in to a 5star hotel bec of their service

It took us 2days to get over how regretful we are not to find this hotel first which is just beside the hotel (hotel 81) we stayed in


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaetlyn_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a family of 3 who booked a room for 2 persons. The hotel did not even charged us extra for that. We re-arranged the room by pushing the two beds together so that the three of us could fit. We thought we would get charged or reprimanded by the management, but the hotel staff already cleaned our room and changed the sheets but the beds were still together! It was so accommodating for the hotel staff to do that, that's why we were really delighted by the service the hotel gives.

The room itself was excellent. Everything was clean. The Flat Screen TV worked well, along with the bathroom plumbings and the pipeworks. The breakfast as well is excellent. The local food is delicious and the breakfast choices changed daily. Yet more accommodating staff at the cafeteria. The location is perfect. A walk away from malls, a bus away from the city, and a train station away from everything else. No need for expensive taxis anymore (except when going to Singapore Zoo, I think).

The only negative review I could give this hotel is that the cafe might be too small. At the time we were booked there were only few guests, but imagine if the hotel is full. You will be cramped at the canteen. Also, there is no free wifi. Some hotels provide free wifi at the lobby, if not at the rented rooms.

Still, this hotel is a recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Criminy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for a night to attend a meeting the next day. The room size is alright and overall cleanliness is fine. However, the receptionists (regardless what shift they were on) looks like they hate their job. They don't smile nor greet whoever that comes to the counter. They really need to attend some customer service class or put a big mirror to reflect their faces when they talk to guests. The room does not come with drinking water at all. Barely any toiletries. You have to pay for deposit if you want the ironing board and iron, and even hair dryer. There is a 7E nearby and also a MRT station. Amenities is basically close by with this hotel and wifi is provided for free. I stayed in cheaper hotel the next day, and guess what, the room actually comes with drinking water, hair dryer and toiletries! Plus a much more friendlier and helpful receptionist who greets and welcome the guests at any time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Every time I travel with family, service & atmosphere of the hotel are more important to me than the look, get-up, etc. This time before going to Singapore, I had spent almost hundred hours to find a well recommended (by tripadvisor, obviously) family hotel with reasonable cost/ price.

In such situation, I had decided to communicate with Strand Hotel. And, I think that was the most correct decision of all. Philina, the reservation staff of Strand Hotel has been so generous, responsive and helpful to me .... which has been beyond my best expectations. We are very much thankful to her and the hotel. We received numbers of good services from the hotel. And, thus would highly recommend this hotel, specially for family visitors.

It is nearby two MRT stations (Dhobi Ghat & Bukit something); numbers of bus stops around; opposite to 'Seven Eleven' and a Hawker food Court with multiple options, a Mexican restaurant next door, money exchange 2 buildings away; just one building away from the main road. MRT construction going on in front, but no noise was there at the higher floor levels.

Only suggestion to the hotel: Please renovate your reception area and give it a modern look the way you have renovated the hotel rooms.

The hotel also allows early check in, we reached the hotel at 6:15 am and got a room with no extra charge.. as one room was available.

Breakfast was complimentary and of moderate quality (cereal, bread&butter, noodles, hashbrown, bacon, beans, juices) and more than fine with us.

Room was simply great, we got a room at 9th floor. Staff are generous and kind like all the other people in Singapore.

I liked the hotel very much... And, would like to stay there again... Thanks to the staff, specially Philina, for your wonderful and amazing supports. Best wishes to Strand.

Room Tip: While booking advice the Hotel: For room at higher floors and with view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Imrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews