We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Town hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #191 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    25
    17
    16
See reviews for
11
20
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
south wales uk
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

Well what a dissapointment, We travelled from Australia, to singapore and was looking forward to New year in singapore before leaving to the
Uk, As we entered the lobby we thought OH MY GOD, then the recipionist
handed the key, and it was down hill from there, The room was filthy, the smell was even worse, the bedding had all holes in it, the shower/
toilet was as mouldy as you could get it, and you would not have even wanted the breakfast, a loaf of bread and a dirty toaster, right next to the toilet, which the door didnt shut, I just couldent wait to get back to the airport,

How does this sort of hotel be able to stay open, all the bad things you can imagine and far worse was all in one place, We would never never NEVER, stay there again,

We will even be taking it further, as false advertising.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — It was all disgusting
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twotaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

Actually put me in a room with no windows. The shower is also the toilet...TV not connected....overpriced....

  • Disliked — dreadful rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wsm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

Arrived a rainy evening at this hotel, after reading the recommendation (!!!!) of this establishment in "The Rough Guide", describing the hotel as a intimate boutique hotel with smart rooms- everything clean and new. Well unfortunately, this hotel is quite the opposite, infact it is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in and on top of it I paid S$ 108 for a single room. The room was shabby and smelly with old worn-out furniture + tv did not work. When showering water poured out on the room's fitted carpet and this had also left mouldy traces on the wall. I left the next day, having some trouble though finding something in the same price range. Ended up at Hotel 81 Bencoolen, a far better option and value for money.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank My0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2007

How can I put this ? Dire, disgraceful, smelly, uncared for, appalling, dark, tiny rooms, cigarette burns on the bed covers, see-through sheets. paint on the curtains, dirty windows, grouting all over tiles, peeling paint, doors that don't shut properly, no hot water, shower that only drips, rooms without windows, flickering lights, blowing fuses, noisy air-con, sound from other rooms and hallway, generator sounds and vibration, dangling light fittings, damp.

Didn't actually see any fleas, but that's what our kids called the place.

And finally, there was a sign in reception that said "unregistered guests charged at $20 per night". Decide for yourself what that means. NOT a place to take your loved ones.

  • Liked — The fact that we only had 2 nights there
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidFromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2006

What can I say ?.....we stayed here 3 years ago and were quite impressed. However, our recent visit was distinctly disappointing and a complete waste of our money, not being cheap!
The room was in severe need of renovation. The paintwork was mouldy. The room was tiny and very dark. The bedding had cigarette burns in it. The curtains were stained. The bathroom was mouldy and the shower spat black bits out and water in all directions except downwards.
The air conditioning was very noisy and whole room smelt.
The breakfast area had big holes in the wall behind the main table.
The only good thing is that the staff were friendly.
We definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#267 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#114 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#164 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Naumi Liora
#100 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Property: Chinatown Hotel
Address: 14 Teck Lim Road #12-16, Singapore 088388, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chinatown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing