We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable if you are a student with no expectations”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #187 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Acceptable if you are a student with no expectations”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My partner and I wanted to walk all of Singapore in a week, so we needed a hotel for long term stay. As we are both students, we needed a budget style accommodation. As you may have discovered, hotels in Singapore are extremely expensive due to the shortage of land and high cost/quality of life. Within the budget hotels range, Chinatown is at the top. It is located in the nicer district and is more safe. We did examine other accommodations such as Pearl and Ruby, but these motels are quite scary. So Chinatown was the best we could get.

Here is the thing: if you are a student on a budget, this is the best choice you can make. If you are willing to spend a little more, you can get a much better hotel through a travel agent by adding around 15USD more per night.

Since we live in Taiwan, room size was not an issue for us. The room was reasonably sized with adequate lighting and a working air conditioner. The rest was disappointing. The bed cover had a huge stain in the middle. For peace of mind, we assumed it was spilled coffee, though based on the dirt inside the coffee machine, I doubt it was used in the last century.

The actual bedding was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. What irritated me the most was the shower. Yes the shower is not separated from the toilet area, but if you visited Hong Kong, its nothing special. The problem was, the hot water did not flow properly so we had to shower under a tiny stream of water.

Our first experience with housekeeping was also disappointing. We were still in our room at 10am when housekeeper showed up. We asked her to come back later, but she stated that it aint gonna happen. Again we kept our positive spirits and traded some dirty towels in exhange for fresh ones.

The second day an older lady was cleaning the place and she was much nicer and did a wonderful job restocking the room and providing us with clean bedding. We did not see any roaches, be it ants or cockroaches.

In short, if you just need a place to sleep, Chinatown hotel is acceptable, but if you want more, this is not a place for you. If you demand nothing and expect nothing, you should have an OK stay. The hotel is safe and hotel desk staff is nice (depending on who is onsite, but hey its Singapore).

Since its unfair to end on a sad note, I would say the location of the hotel is quite nice, near Chinatown station, within 25 minute walk from the docks and entertainment district, on the purple line that gets you to all major destinations. Chinatown is 5 minutes walk. The hotel is situated within a quiet street and has a few bars around, some more fancy than others. Occasional working lady was spotted in the vicinity but it is not frequent.

Room Tip: Insist on inspecting the room before hand, but I think they are all more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    25
    17
    16
See reviews for
12
20
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Book a room from through travel agent from China for good location & value for money hotel located in Chinatown area for 4 nights.... Room are basically used for sleeping as my guests are basically out of the hotel for the whole day.....On the second night, found out that the room is infested with lots of ants... I MEANT REALLY lots of ants crawling around the table, the bed frame... taken a video of the crawlers.( So no photos to verify ). Check out on the 3rd day as they have lost total confidence of the hotel cleanliness. Shown the video to the hotel front desk, and the only thing they said is Sorry. Not mentioned of any changing of rooms or any way they ca help.... Just a sorry! It is a disgrace that my guests on holiday had such a bad experience staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeykeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The place looks great from the outside and is in a funky part of town. However, the rooms are small so that you can't leave your suitcase opened otherwise there is no room to walk around.

The room we had was with a window, which was nice, but the finishing of the room was not really up to standard - the light switches were grubby (not dirty, just old) and the dressing table had a crack in it so that if you were to sit on it you would fall through. BOOM!

Tiny TV and the expensive internet which sometimes stopped working were the main reasons I gave this place a poor rating.

The staff were friendly - especially the cleaners.

In short, not for the sensitive type of traveler but good for people not intending to stay in the room for any length of time other than to sleep.

Room Tip: book beforehand - walk in rates high
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I'll be back; for a single night this hotel is okay. I stayed for 5 days and felt like hell! The rooms are too cramped, and there is hardly any service - no room service, no tea etc. It is some distance from the MRT, but there are food joints around. The hotel staff were not bothered about anyone, they were just there. It's actually like a big house converted into a hotel. You can actually not invite anyone to your room; there is hardly place to stand! Seems that they have carved out space in every nook and corner to make rooms! the breakfast is poor - just porridge, eggs and breads - do it yourself kinds...not much variety, and the restaurant is not at all comfortable - basic seating.

All right for just a night stopover, nothing more than that!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaillender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I travel alot and am not unduly fussy but this is not a good hotel for the price.
First room, no window. Second room , TV and air con did not work. Generally pretty grubby and uninviting - didn't even bother with breakfast. Had checked in for 2 nights, - but stayed only one which says all. Far better to try the Hotel 1929 across the road which is more or less the same price but infinitely better even though the rooms are small. Clean, good facilities etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IguanaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Yeah, booked this hotel, THEN read TripAdvisor reviews (note to self: read these reviews prior to booking any hotel in future). The reviews you'll find are spot-on. Speaking of spots, the hall carpet had more spots/stains than a connect-the-dot. Aroma's were, ahhh, interesting.

Hotel staff nice. I read the reviews, so I was expecting sub-par, and you know, traveling is an adventure....Singapore was great and I look at it this way. The small yucky room just encouraged me to spend as much time exploring the city as I could, and spent little time in the room. Not enough to stress about, just would never stay here again. Live and learn.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

1. Extremely small room, even without window.
2. No ventialtion in toilet. Smell stayed in the room.
3. Room stinked. Carpet stinked.
4. A big hole in the ceiling. Creepy.
5. Receptionist lied about full occupancy as an excuse not to change our room. I saw people wlaked in and got their rooms.
6. Their one and only one computer was down, The receptionist asked me to fix it for them.
7. If you are travelling in tight budget and this hotel is your only choice, I highly recommend you to cancel your trip. My colleague and I preferred to wander in the hot streets instead of taking rest in our prison-like rooms.
8. Their room rate is not cheap at all compared to many other options in Singapore. The only advantage of this hotel is easy to book.
9. Toilet is so small that you have to shower on your toilet.
10. Internet connection is not free and not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Yip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#250 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#268 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#105 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#169 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Naumi Liora
#108 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Property: Chinatown Hotel
Address: 14 Teck Lim Road #12-16, Singapore 088388, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chinatown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing