We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but a bit expensive”
Review of POLLEN

POLLEN
Ranked #192 of 10,798 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: Arrive in style with our limousine buggy service from the Gardens by the Bay's arrival plaza to Pollen. Discover unique gourmet offerings thoughtfully crafted by Executive Chef Colin Buchan and his team of talented chefs. Bask in spectacular views of the Marina Bay skyline and waterfront as our experienced service professionals take care of your every need. After your meal, enjoy complimentary access to the Flower Dome and wander in the sub 20-degree Mediterranean garden replete with exotic flowers and plants. A bespoke Pollen Experience - made with you in mind.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good but a bit expensive”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

pollen located in the amazing gardens by the bay has a great location.service is neat and attentive.food is also good but a bit expensive for what it is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at POLLEN, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful experience at Pollen and enjoyed the food and service. The chefs use fresh, premium and seasonal ingredients which may be the reason why it is more expensive. We look forward to continue to bring exceptional cuisine at a good value and hope to welcome you back to Pollen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    258
    138
    57
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unfortunately they only share the name with their London brother”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten in pollen st social on numerous occasions I was exited to see what pollen would bring to Singapore.

Unfortunately after 2 visits it falls very well short of it's London namesake. The first visit I could of forgiven as they had just opened, though on my second recently it seems not much has changed from the earlier visits short comings. Floor staff were rather intrusive and could at times seem quite cocky. Food was inconsistent, foie gras was great, pork belly was fatty and stringy.

Such a shame to have such a restaurant that adds so much hype just by name fall so short of what it's London relation offers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at POLLEN, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience at Pollen. Please be assured this is not our usual standard and steps have been taken to rectify and improve the dishes and service at the restaurant. We hope that you will visit us again in the future where we can have the chance to provide you with a better dining experience. Thank you once again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience to remember”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We came across Pollen by accident, whist enjoying the Gardens by the Bay. We had I eaten in Pollen Social in London the week before so eating here was a must. So fortuitous as the meal and staff were nothing but excellent. I would go again and highly recommend it. See the light show first or afterwards to make this an evening to remember.
The amuse bouchée were very tasty and the almond gazpacho very different, maybe one flavor too many. The lobster, meltingly soft and the quail the best I have had. My husbands pork was succulent . We did not have time for dessert but were brought some sweetly sublime petit fours. The experience culinary staff should be proud of what they have achieved. A negative comment the rough surfaced plates are ones I would change, and perhaps the multitude of flavors are overly complex.An expensive place but that should not deter those who delight in culinary experiences.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MicheleColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at POLLEN, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dishes and service at Pollen and had an amazing experience with us. We have taken note of your comments on the tableware and have shared them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My First time dining at Pollen last week. Was not sure what to expect. I was wowed from start to finish! The staff are warm, attentive and friendly! To top off they accommodated my dietry requirements. which can be a rare. The food - Striking presentation and every mouth full just divine! I look forward to going back as I learnt they also serve afternoon tea.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at POLLEN, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to hear of your wonderful experience at Pollen and are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and service. Our chefs are happy to accommodate any dietary requirements and customise the dishes accordingly to your preferences. Our menu is seasonal and changes once every few months to feature fresh ingredients of the season. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pollen soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Allergic to Pollen”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

pollen tries very hard to be a special restaurant but fails on every count.Service is either patronizing or incomprehensible,the food is absurdly fussy and is simply not very nice to eat.Tthe prices are very high for a very limited choice which were all disappointing.The suckling pig was poor quality with accompaniments that simply did not work.We had to meet the chef who is a nice Scot called Colin but it was a painful conversation as none of us liked his odd mismatched dishes.The wine waiter was totally incomprehensible and patronizing at the same time-an unique attribute in my experience.I would urge you to avoid this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicure134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at POLLEN, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience at Pollen. Please be assured this is not our usual standard and we have shared your feedback with the team for future improvement. We hope that you will visit us again in the future where we can have the chance to provide you with a better dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed POLLEN also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to POLLEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing