We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, dog friendly”
Review of Cafe Melba

Cafe Melba
Ranked #4,557 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Australian, Contemporary, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet location, dog friendly”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Just popped over here for a quiet brunch. Didn't know dogs are allowed until I read the reviews. Had a Melba sandwich which was average and the Melba burger which was also so-so. The sandwich was dry, but the burger was better. Also had latte and a cuppacino, which was average. Price wise is on a high side but if u want to look for a kid friendly (they had an inflatable playground) and a dog friendly place.. U can come here..

Helpful?
Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    62
    46
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location. Great for kids. Terrible service”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I ended up leaving and going around the corner to La Barca. Food was good, and the bouncy castle is excellent for kids...

BUT the service is terrible. There is a long queue with loads of empty tables. Why can't you get it right?!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeJanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for brunch with kids”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Been here several times, usually a Sudnay brunch. Food is always good, service can be patchy. I've had excelled service, and occasions where we've fetched our own chairs, water, and cutlery too. Service staff are in short supply in Singapore these days!
The kids (and dogs) enjoy the place the most, and on most Sundays they have a bouncy castle for the younger ones.
Recommend the pizzas, burger and the cafe latte here highly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pointsmaximizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice setting and OK food, but not cheap”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Went here with four friends mid week. Decided to take a table outside, given that it was cool. Waitress was a bit slow to take the order and got a few things wrong, but no big deal. However, we had ordered starters and only the soup arrived. We had to chase up the Pizza bread and dips. They were very good. The white was chilled but the red wine was too warm, so we put the bottle in the ice bucket. The main portions were fine, but a surfeit of French fries. It looked the staff were generally very young and somewhat inexperienced, but unlike other reviewers, they were friendly and reasonably attentive. Altogether a good meal, but nothing special.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food is a bit pricey”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Visited Cafe Melba for brunch on two occasions.

Food is only average and towards the pricey side so I wouldn't say it's value-for-money. However it is served rather promptly. It is merely average but not the best brunch I have eaten.

The interior on the other hand is very pretty. There is natural light because of the clear glass everywhere on the facade of the cafe which makes the dining experience during brunch/lunch/tea much enjoyable. The cafe is located just behind the arts centre so it's a nice quiet place to chill at.

On the whole I would say go for the ambience, but not so much for the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cxsmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Melba also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Melba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing