We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

National Museum of Singapore
Ranked #24 of 814 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a history dating back to its inception in 1887, the National Museum of Singapore is the nation's oldest museum with a progressive mind. Its galleries adopt cutting-edge and multi-perspective ways of presenting history and culture to redefine conventional museum experience. A cultural and architectural landmark in Singapore, the Museum hosts innovative festivals and events all year round-the dynamic Night Festival, visually arresting art installations, as well as amazing performances and film screenings-in addition to presenting thought-provoking exhibitions involving critically important collections of artefacts. The programming is supported by a wide range of facilities and services including F&B, retail and a Resource Centre. The National Museum of Singapore re-opened in December 2006 after a three-year redevelopment, and celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2012. The Museum refreshed its permanent galleries and re-opened them on 19 September 2015 for Singapore's Golden Jubilee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Las Pinas
Level 6 Contributor
1,448 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good collection that showcases the people, the culture and the history of Singapore. Worth a visit. Many interesting items on display

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    723
    190
    50
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I loved it, but my kids didn't.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The building is beautiful, with a cleverly added on glazed wing. We had head sets for the history of Singapore section. It was pretty slow going, with numerous options f what bits to follow. If you listened to it all, as I did just this one area can take 4 hours.

The kids who normally live museums, particularly with headsets, tuned out at the beginning with a very long winded movie about the early tribe fighting over the land. My boys usually love a good tight story, but it wasn't done in an engaging way. I actually got a bit fed up with it half way through.

It then centres on Raffles and Singapores British history where you chose between hearing 'personal stories' of people involved in the different section,o r getting an overview of the events.

We then went to the fashion and film sections. Sadly by the we were all a bit overloaded and jaded.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“SUPERB MUSEUM IN BEAUTIFUL BUILDING”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited yesterday this beautiful museum, which is very easily approached with the MRT (metro). We visited the permanent collections with a free guided tour. The guide was very good, giving us in one hour a brief history of Singapore, while showing us the remarkable pieces in the collection. Than we visited the new building which hosts the temporary exhibitions - now they have a nice presentation of the Lichtenstein collection. The museum had a special activity for painters and amateurs which painted portraits copying the paintings with the instruction of a beautiful lady teacher. We spent very pleasant time in the museum and I think it is mandatory to each visitor for the first time in Singapore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SNAPIRITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The building itself is stunning!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just looking outside at the building is worth a visit.
Nice, simple museum to learn a little about the history of Singapore. Loved the old photos and stories.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Allow at least 3 hours”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have visited this museum twice and enjoyed it very much. Learn about the history of Singapore. It is housed in a beautiful building. Allow at least 3 hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Singapore also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to National Museum of Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing