We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, but some people need to learn respect”
Review of The Changi Museum

The Changi Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.78*
and up
Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour
Ranked #18 of 809 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum honors POWs who endured the Japanese occupation of Singapore in World War II. Their stories are told with an impressive collection of personal artifacts and news coverage. A British internee returned to the museum decades after the war to recreate the murals he’d painted on the walls of the original chapel – a moving insight into how those held prisoner found hope and comfort in any way possible.
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent, but some people need to learn respect”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

excellent, even my 10 year old enjoyed this tour, spoilt by people letting their children run wild in the chapel area while we were trying to convey a sense of respect to our son, and not getting their children out of our pictures.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank aussiejovimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    600
    154
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“World War II”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Museum telling us what happen on World War II, try the audio tour, and try the Changi WWII trail on Saturday from 10 am to 1pm, you will learn a lot on WWII.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoeywoey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Makes you think”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband wanted to visit here as he had a friend who had been here through the war,its amazingly quiet when you arrive,set out museum style and you can get audio to guide you round but we ended up just reading and looking at everything,set out really well so easy to follow,the chapel and the chapel paintings make you sit and realise the reality of it all.well worth visiting if your in Singapore.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLERS0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

WOW - Stories very well told. We didn't take the tape - we just walked our way around and read all the stories. It is free admission. We caught a taxi both ways and it was approx A$10 each way from our city hotel. Worth a visit if you are interested in history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendykennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Journeys Pte Ltd Changi Museum War Trails”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Affilitated with The Original Singapore Walks.

Excellent coach-enabled walking tour of Changi Chapel and Museum as well as other significant locations relevant to war time Singapore.

There is nothing like having an informed tour guide. The tour leader customised the tour with stories pertinent to each of the four nationalities represented by our small group of nine in addition to the situation of Singaporeans, Malays, the Japanese, Chinese, and British Allies.

Because our time at the museum was taken up by the guided tour, a further return visit would give the opportunity to study displays for ourselves. However time was given for quite rememberance at the chapel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bunyip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Changi Museum also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Changi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing