We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woke Home Capsule Hostel
Ranked #91 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed August 7, 2013

On my SG trip last month, i decided to stay in this capsule hotel. Read some good/bad reviews, anyhow for those on the run I would recommend this place if your not fussy. The capsule itself is clean since this is just newly built hostel. Not that smelly, except that air ventilation (installed inside capsule room is not that working properly and also the tv which isn't working too). Wifi is only at the reception area. I was expecting that there's a good wifi up into the room... But none. Overall, i have enjoyed my stay here, since I'm out most of the day and your personal belongings are safe coz they give you locker keys. So i recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located in between the famous Clarke Quay and the beautiful China Town (both places are walking distance from this hostel) this hostel lied right behind a bus stop and just next to a 24 hour Seven Eleven. This hostel have a nice location, inexpensive bed rate, an ok bed, warm service, 24 hour breakfast and the people who stay there usually are nice that you might end up having some new friends.

If you asked me what will be my best memory while stayed there, it'll be the Milo on bread breakfast and a small cup of OWL 3in1 instant coffee. I love it.

btw have i mention the free wi-fi? nice

cons:
the toilets are to small and sometimes not well maintained. The best time to use it will be right after the cleaning service doing their job.

Room Tip: ask the bellow bed and make sure you're fan and other thing inside are in good condition or ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The pros;
*Friendly service.
*Locker included in the price.
*Very clean "capsules" to sleep in with nightlamp, tv (with headphones), a small shelf and roll up blinds for privacy.
*Free WiFi on all flours.
*Free breakfast, but very basic (toast, jam, tea etc).
*Central location, many attractions within walking distance.

The cons;
*There was 24 sleeping capsules in the dorm we slept in, so a lot of noice from people coming and going during the night and early morning. Would have been better with ear plugs or less people sharing the sleeping quarters.
*If you roll down the blinds/shade, the air gets quite stagnant, at least in the upper beds.

Recommended for sound sleepers on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Picked a hostel for a stopover didn't think it'd leave an impression but it did. Not a good one though, I checked in late at night only to be greeted by an empty reception desk so I waited by the "lounge area" with my baggage after about 10 minutes I got impatient so I decided to take a look around the unairconditioned area (I think it was the smoking area) of the 6th level and it turns out the staff has been there all along on her phone and smoking with her friends? So I told her I wanted to check in and they came in and took my passport to process my check in. The whole process was slow and tiring having to listen to them chatter amongst themselves in their native dialect Im assuming they were malay.
When they were done checking me in (Be prepared to pay a deposit) I was later handed a key and a card which I later figured out on my own was for the lift. I've never felt so unwelcomed in a hostel in all my travels. The dormitories smelt bad and the beds made me itch after only a short couple hours of shut eye.
When I woke up the next morning the bathrooms were packed as they only had like 3 bathrooms for an entire floor what looked like housed more than 50 people which was just ridiculous. The floors were wet and there was a cleaner (I assume who she was by the hostel T shirt she was wearing) would just stand there on her phone the whole time i was waiting on a showerroom.
I quickly packed and processed my checkout and left, I doubt i'd be recommending this hostel to anyone who picks it more than just 1 night stopovers worst service and facilities ever.

Only upside I can give would be that the location is really good, a couple minutes walk from the subway.

Room Tip: My bed was right along the stretch of lockers and it woke me up a little everytime someone opened th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I always wondered about capsule hotels since saw it on tv. So when I was looking for a place to stay in Singapore this one came up. Tried. Not disappointed at all, on the contrary. Perfect location, close to MR station, to China town, to everything. Nice and clean, the staff helpful, the free breakfast enough to start the day. The room is just enough for capsules and lockers and you can leave your suitcase or bigger rucksuck under the window. The capsules are perfect sizes, the mattress is comfy, have enough space to put my small stuff next to my bed and on a self, and a tv provided with not too many chanels but who wants to watch it when a fantastic city waiting to explore?
The shower room and toilets are clean, hot water all day if you wish.
All in all better than any dormitory I ever slept in.
The dormitories are separated women-men

Room Tip: Try to get as far from the AC as possible, could be very cold and you have a thin blankent only. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I really like this hostel. Located near an MRT station, and lotsa nightspots that can be reached by walking for less than 10 minutes. If you're on a budget trip of watching concert at Fort Canning Park, than this hostel is the right choice, only less than 30 minutes of casual walking.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. The capsules concept gains privacy of its occupants, each capsule has rattan blind roller. The common bathroom is clean. Basically this hostel provides basic sleeps and shower needs. Really fit for traveller who mostly spend times outside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afadzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel during my trip through Singapore and peninsular Malaysia.
For me, as I've never stayed at a capsule hostel before, just gave me a new experience. Common room, yet still provide some privacy.
To make it brief, here are some Pros and Cons (based on my experience):
Pros :
1. Unique experience
2. Worth the budget (SGD 32, on my case)
3. Easy access to public transport (bus stop right infront the entrance, 5 minute walk from Clarke Quay MRT station).
4. Well located (10 minute walk to Chinatown, 15 minute walk to Merlion Park).
5. Cleanliness is good

Cons:
1. One of the staff doesn't really get into the hospitality business (as I'm a hotelier also, so I know what to expect from a ho(s)tel staff.
2. If you get room at level 5, avoid bed no. 9 (that was mine), as the Exit signboard right across your bed can to your eyes.
3. The TV inside my capsule works, but only for 1 channel with not quite good picture. (Anyway, we don't travel thousands miles to Singapore to watch TV, though).

Room Tip: Any room. Just avoid bed no. 9 and below. As for the no. 9, it located right across the Exit signboa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan_442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#181 of 317 in Singapore
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#139 of 317 in Singapore
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
River City Inn
River City Inn
#36 of 237 in Singapore
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
#19 of 237 in Singapore
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bencoolen - Hong Kong Street
0.1 mi away
Quarters Hostel
Quarters Hostel
#40 of 237 in Singapore
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woke Home Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woke Home Capsule Hostel

Address: 61 South Bridge Road #06-01, Singapore 058691, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $30 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the bustling Central Business District, WOKEHOME HOSTEL prides itself as being the first with a capsule theme in Singapore. With 84 capsules at hand we offer each guest their individual privacy. Each capsule comes decked with: -comfortable mattress -foldable table -15 inch TV -a mini lamp [for those who needs to read before bed time] -personal headphone -roll up shade/blinds -24hr Wi-Fi access Each floor is monitored by security cameras; your safety is our priority.A 10 min walking distance from City Hall MRT (EW13/NS25) or Clarke Quay MRT (NE5) you would be sure to find your way to our hostel. Tourist attractions are of walking distance e.g. Esplanade, Merlion Park, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore river and many more. Feel free to approach our friendly staff with your queries pertaining to all things Singapore. *Our Value added services: Free breakfast Free laundry services Luggage storage Personal headphones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Woke Home Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woke Home Capsule Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing