We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up at Woke Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woke Home Capsule Hostel
Ranked #86 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Waking up at Woke Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'd been wanting to try out a capsule hostel ever since visiting Japan in 2010, and finally in Singapore I had the chance. Woke Home Capsule Hostel rents capsules that, for a hostel, are quite private and enjoyable. They're basically small rooms large enough to sit and lay in, but not tall enough for standing. The entrance can be "closed" with a curtain of sorts.

The staff was adamant about only allowing me to my capsule at 2 pm when I arrived at 12 on the day when I checked in the first time, but on this second visit they allowed an earlier check-in. They were also kind enough to help me scan some documents I needed. There are two cleaners mopping the floors and changing bedsheets every day - I only wish they'd start their work a little later, as they often speak Chinese together loudly.

The capsule was very clean as are the public areas (depending on the current guests of course) which were mopped daily. Unfortunately opening and stuffing one's backpack inside the metallic lockers (which happens every evening and morning as guests come and go) is quite noisy and managed to wake me up every time. Also the heat was at times turned on too high, but maybe that's just the northerner accustomed to cold climates in me talking.

There are three floors total and only three showers per floor, which is not adequate as a floor may house about 50 guests (and without this oversight I'd give the hostel 5 stars). Having stayed here for several days now, I've often found the showers occupied and had to wait for my turn. There are also only three toilets per floor, but that never seemed to be a problem. The wifi in the hostel works well and they have washing machines for doing your own laundry free of charge, and even supply you with the detergent. It is only a small thing, but on the road such things matter. Oh, and breakfast (toast and cereal) is included in the price at any time of the day.

Woke Home is easy to miss from the outside so check the address (61 South Bridge Road) and navigate based on that - there is only a poster outside next to the glass door giving access to the elevator (the reception is on the 6th floor). I spent an hour searching for the place until a kind Singaporean man gave me the address and then it was easy to find. The location is very central - only 10-15 minutes walk away from City Hall MRT, but Clarke Quay MRT station is even closer.

All in all I've enjoyed my stay at Woke Home Capsule Hostel far more than common hostels in Singapore. It's clean and nice with a bit more privacy, and there are no cockroaches. The rest pretty much depends on your fellow guests!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
13
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice little hostel. As far as hostels go this was nice. Lockers, you get your own private sleep pod, complete with bamboo shutter at the end, and tv with headphones, light and socket. It was cosy.
Bathrooms were clean.
Staff helpful
Free drinks and toast a great touch
Good location.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

On my own and needed a bed for the night in central singapore and this fitted the bill. have never stayed in a hostel before and it turned out ok! had a capsule in a mixed dorm and shared with a few couples (capsule each) and singles. For 30$ sing or equiv to £15, thought it was good compared to the high prices hotels in the area charge. Only downside were a couple coming in late and talking to each other noisily, whereas everyone else respected the space and whispered. My trusty ear plugs worked well and i went back to sleep til 7am!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I decided to book this hostel for 3 night stay after reading review from tripadvisor. The hostel capsule able to provide sufficient privacy with individual roller blind and also individual tv with headphone. Please be prepared 25SG for the hostel deposit even I had made full payment online. Regarding the reception staff, overall is ok but I found one particular guy wear glasses which is more helpfull and friendly for assistance (One of the guess lost her wallet at the internet PC station and he tried to help by review back the CCTV in attempt to look for any clue who took the wallet). I had no waiting problem with the toilet and bathroom usage but I would suggest the hostel owner to install an exhaust fan at the bathroom as it may get pretty hot and stuffy after high usage. The wifi is provided free but you may also use their provided 2 PC for internet access. Another plus point is that the kitchen provide 24hrs breakfast and also free self service laundry. Overall, I would say great for solo traveler and i will stay at Woke Hostel again if I travel solo to Singapore again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for lower deck and avoid the door entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neehyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Decided to give capsules a whirl, am a bit past the dorm room thing these days, but only because of the complete lack of privacy, dont mind sharing bathrooms etc. Paid $20 SGD for the night through booking.com, which includes an all day breakfast of cornflakes toast and condiments, coffee and cordial, plus free wifi throughout the building and washing mashines with powder. There were 3 capsule dorms on my floor which each had about 18 capsules, and one bathroom with 3 showers, 3 basins and 3 toilets. Didn't feel crowded as everyone is on a different clock, and the showers are fantastic!

The capsules themselves had plenty of room, I could lie my backpack in there next to the mattress (it's a bit of a beast so it didn't fit in the locker provided) plus your own tv, a fold down little table top for laptop etc, a lamp, a mirror and a power point. Comfy mattress and pillow, nice clean sheet and poillowcase provided and a little blanket. There is a cane roll down blind at the end so you can seal yourself in, nice and private, really great to have your own little space that no-one can see into.

The building itself does not make a good first impression, nor does reception as it's in need of a bit of re-furb, but you get over that pretty quickly. Its based over several levels on South Bridge Road - which is a fantastic location to walk everywhere including Clarke and Boat Quay, Chinatown and to just hop on the MRT - and the floors with the capsule dorms can only be accessed with an electronic card, so pretty secure from non-guests.

Would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a capsule which is at the end - away from the door to the room - and not facing another caps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaydeeLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really like how they provide all the facilities and make the good offer with its not-so-high price.. I also like how they try to keep our privacy safe even in their mixed dorm.. Clean, comfort, complete. This hostel meets all my needs! Surely will come back here.. :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Read about this type of place in Japan, but never thought I'd stay in one! It's actually pretty good as far as hostels go in that you get your self contained pod. Surprisingly wasn't too cramped. Good that each pod has its own power point, light, privacy screen and tv (only few channels with very poor reception). Free wifi is good, and free washer dryer and detergent a nice touch. Could do with more storage space though. You'll need to travel light. Great location near river with eating options close by. Highly recommend for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Clover The Arts
#135 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
No photo provided
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
#141 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
River City Inn
#17 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
City Backpackers
#163 of 223 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woke Home Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woke Home Capsule Hostel

Property: Woke Home Capsule Hostel
Address: 61 South Bridge Road #06-01, Singapore 058691, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the bustling Central Business District, WOKEHOME HOSTEL prides itself as being the first with a capsule theme in Singapore. With 84 capsules at hand we offer each guest their individual privacy. Each capsule comes decked with: -comfortable mattress -foldable table -15 inch TV -a mini lamp [for those who needs to read before bed time] -personal headphone -roll up shade/blinds -24hr Wi-Fi access Each floor is monitored by security cameras; your safety is our priority.A 10 min walking distance from City Hall MRT (EW13/NS25) or Clarke Quay MRT (NE5) you would be sure to find your way to our hostel. Tourist attractions are of walking distance e.g. Esplanade, Merlion Park, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore river and many more. Feel free to approach our friendly staff with your queries pertaining to all things Singapore. *Our Value added services: Free breakfast Free laundry services Luggage storage Personal headphones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Woke Home Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woke Home Capsule Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing