We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Ranked #87 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Taiping, Malaysia
1 review
“Value hostel”
Reviewed August 18, 2013


The location is great .where it"s located near to mrt station and some attraction
The room is clean n comfortable
they kitchen provide great hot baverage for guest. Besides that .its open for 24 hour^^.
Overall . This hostel is value for money .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    134
    73
    26
    23
See reviews for
48
60
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I was here last week. Location is goog because it is located near buy mrt and reasonable price. Staffs are nice. They will be assited you. Room is small but pillow and blanket are clean. Bath room are terible. They are dirty. It is only weak point for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hostel with best location a few walk from China town, the room is clean and nice if come as family and group of friends. But toilets and shower rooms are so dirty. Because many guests are from Asia and quality of guests need to be educated. The hostel can put some signs to remind guests.

Staff are so friendly and useful.

Room Tip: Rooms are good, beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namtonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a really great time with my mother when we stayed at 5footway.inn Project 2 in July 2013. We had a Superior private room with window. Saw the Sri Mariammann Temple just across the street. Great!
Small room, but clean. Bed for my mother on the floor, big loft bed for me. No need for a big room when in Singapore. Just explore the city at day and sleep like dead at night! Well, IF you can sleep.... Some people are not very considerate of their neighbours and are yelling outside their doors at 2a.m. So bring earplugs.
Bathrooms and toilets are small and not always clean. I think that´s not the fault of the staff, but of the guests. Some must live like pigs at home. Staff cleans the bathrooms and toilets twice daily, i think.
When our AC broke, the staff gave us a new private bedroom with window for the last two nights! So nice!! Thanks again to the whole staff, everyone of you is just great!

We where almost daily at the Maxwell Food Hawker Center, if you want to eat good and cheap, there is nothing better. Just a 5 minute walk away.

I highly recommend this place and will come back again!

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 23 are private bedrooms with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloegr33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I was on a really tight budget and found this place on the web, just a one night stay on my way to somewhere else.
Good points:
Cheap, really friendly helpful staff (be generous and leave them a good tip), close to Chinatown and easy access from MRT, nice clean white bed linen (no hiding stains behind bright colours)
Bad points:
If you are tall - the beds are short! The walls are thin and the beds creak. Bring earplugs and a sleep mask.
To be fair, it is a cheap dorm place, don't come with your expectations too high, all rooms look alike when you are asleep. Get out of the room and explore Chinatown nearby.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all, I have made a review earlier as invited by staff here on my second night of stay. Indeed, it was about project 1.

For project 2, I booked a deluxe private room with private toilet which charged S112/night. The only private toilet room. The price does not fit the service. Room is 20 sq feet. Toilet is 8 sq feet. Very small.

A strange smell in the room that I have to use the fragrance to spray the room. Toilet is very dirty, with 1cm fungus coating the sink, lots of black dirt on wall and toilet bowl, and lots of fungus on the dwell. No one clean up the toilet as informed by reception. As my leg was broken, I did not use toilet. I asked reception to send cleansing assistant to clean up the dirt twice but no cleansing assistant did come. Most of them are part time staff.

It is unacceptable to have such a dirty and smelly private room like this, particularly at this price. I won't sleep there anymore even if it charged me S35/night.

When I informed the situations to reception staff namely Xi, he tried to arrange a mixed dorm to me but charged me for additional charges. I requested a 2-bed room but no room was available. Yet, Xi criticized me that no one complained for the dirtiness all along. Besides, he challenged me for the reason why I did not request to change the room on the first day. I told me that it was just I am nice and my leg was broken. He suddenly said " I have changed the room for you, why you scold me, no one complain, someone has cleaned the room before." I was shocked by his reply and called staff at project one to handle it.

Finally, staff upgraded me to a 3-person room that cost S120/night with shared bathroom. Public toilet is better than private one but still it is dirty. Half of toilets are having dirty tissue papers on floor. Very wet and smelly.

Due to this experience, I have cancelled my further stay at boat quay 5footwayinn. I will definitely not staying at project 2 in future. Not worth this price. Poor service and staff attitude.

Services among 5footwayinn series vary!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkleewyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Łódź, Lodz, Poland
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at the 5footway Inn in Singapore Chinatown in June 2013. It was an excellent stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The accommodation is very neat and tidy. The bathrooms are modern and clean. There is even an awesome little common room with TV, dvd player and a range of films to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#150 of 231 in Singapore
57 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 231 in Singapore
602 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Hostel Singapore
Royal Hostel Singapore
#73 of 231 in Singapore
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2

Property: 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Address: 227 South Bridge Road 5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 2, Singapore 058776, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Project Chinatown 2 is the latest addition to the 5footway.inn brand of hostels. Tucked in the quaintest corner of Chinatown, adjoining the laidback, colourful Ann Siang Hill area where you can find the coolest pubs, cafes and the occasional art galleries, Project Chinatown 2 promises to bring yet another unique experience to our other properties. Project Chinatown 1 is all about the action Chinatown has to offer; Project Sultan is about showcasing local and regional artists to our well-travelled guests. Project Chinatown 2 aims to bring to life the quaint, back-alleyway feel of yesteryear Singapore, with the weekend flea market at the back lane. You can take for granted the same modern facilities that is synonymous with 5footway.inns: Fastest WIFI throughout the premises, free breakfast spread complete with fruits and fresh milk, comfortable anti-dustmite beds, individual storage space as well as a clean, safe environment. To top it off, all our beds come with individual universal power sockets (no need for that adapter!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 2 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing