We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable. A little far from the action”
Review of Happy Snail Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Snail Hostel
Ranked #64 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Overall very good little hostel. There are 3 dorm rooms with around 6-8 beds in each room. There is a reasonable amount of space, wifi works well, beds are comfortable. Its quite a small place with a more homely atmosphere.

If you are coming from the airport recommend the airport shuttle as its a VERY difficult place to find on your own for the first time.

Only downside is that the hostel is a little far from the centre although the nearest train stop is around 15 minutes brisk walking, so if you don't mind walking around in heat and humidity then it wont be a problem for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Happy Snail Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 84 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The price for this hostel is unmatched and Mike is, hands down, the most helpful staff you can find anywhere. The location is bit outside of many the popular attractions but is easily accessible via public transportation. Also, you can't beat the 24 hour self-service breakfast. I will be staying here the next time I'm in Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigfellaoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

the place is clean and near to bus station and walk-able to metro stations too..

Mike the owner of the hostel was good and helpful.

They have a nice locker facility and washing machine too..

nice place i can recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertopast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The place is nice and clean. You have permanent access to bananas, bread and spreads. The showers are nice and hot. You get a locker. There is also a washing machine and dryer you can use for a small fee. Mike is so friendly and helpful. You need to get used to the different buses as the location isn't completely central but the positives out way this issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123elj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My first stop on my 9 month gap year was in Singapore and choose this hostel for its backpacking specialty. Absolutely amazing service, although I was delayed on arrival, a bus service from the airport very cheaply. Lovely owners really down to Earth, great fun and very accommodating, although a tad camera shy. I got the bus most of the time, the stop is only 2 minutes away. Also there is a MRT station not far, I walked there with a backpack, rucksack and camera bag fairly easily, to get back to the airport. Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended to any backpacker spending a short while in Singapore!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of my favourite hostels in a year of travel. Mike is such a friendly man and makes you feel so at home. Ok it is a tiny bit out of the centre but that is more than made up for by the friendly atmosphere. Will definitely stay there again next time I am back in Singapore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had doubts because the reviews said that it is a bit far from the center, but once I was there I was really happy with my decission. It is just 15 min walking to the city center but you have a bus stop just beside to the hostel The hostel is basically a flat with 2 big rooms, the kitchen and the reception. It is cosy, very clean, the beds are good with lockers and there is free toasts, coffee & tea the whole day. Mike, the owner is a very kind man, he will help you in everything you need... he is there in the mornings which means that in the evenings it is not like a hostel but a house and that makes you feel like at home. Great atmosphere!!!

Room Tip: upper bunk beds have the aircon just above them, so if you are sensitive to that, it would be better...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lotus Hostel
#32 of 234 in Singapore
132 reviews
Tree In Lodge
#46 of 234 in Singapore
104 reviews
Blue Jazz Hostel
#108 of 234 in Singapore
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#19 of 234 in Singapore
249 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#28 of 234 in Singapore
498 reviews
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#84 of 234 in Singapore
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Snail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Snail Hostel

Address: Block 147 Silat Avenue #01-32, Singapore 160147, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Happy Snail Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing