We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Indian Temple and nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple

Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.97*
and up
Little India Walking Tour
Ranked #63 of 796 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1855 by Tamil labourers, the temple has a South Indian architectural style. The gopuram or tower, a common element in South Indian temple architecture, was built at a height so that it can be seen from a distance.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Temple and nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Too many idols and great artistic work to see and thats why so many tourists use to come. Location of the place is very good, near to Little India Mrt and it can be combined with other trips very easily (other temple around this location and restaurants like Jungle tandoori, Khansama, Kailash Parbat, Komlas, Muthu's curry and many more)

Priest and temple staffs are very friendly and on special days they provides prasad (dinner) with coffee.

But its very crowded on public holiday and weekends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    157
    51
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“If you visit just one Hindu temple in Singapore...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you visit just one Hindu Temple in Singapore, this should be it ... and you should do it on a Sunday. The place will be packed by devotees on a Sunday, all wearing their nicest clothes, bringing lots of flowers and gifts to their gods. The rituals are well worth watching and admiring. If you are unfamiliar with the Hindu religions, this can be an eye opening and extremely illuminating and informative experience. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DincerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
1,977 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,108 helpful votes
“I've only appreciated the wonderful facade.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, during my visit to Singapore because of the renovations the temple was temporarily closed, the only thing that I was able to see was the large entrance door but even more beautiful and evocative sculpture depicting the many statues of Hindu gods and under the other almost to form a sort of pyramid. A very nice image.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Very busy temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A short walk from MRT and built in 1881. Hindu temple and you must remove your shoes before entering. It was very busy inside and I felt a little uncomfortable taking photographs here - but I did. Other temples I visited in chinatown seemed more geared up for visitors but I felt a little bit that I was intruding on people praying here - nobody made me feel uncomfortable it just was not that big for the amount of people inside. We personally did not find Little India as interesting as Chinatown and got off the train visited this temple and then went to chinatown which was great (visited 4 beautiful temples there). If you are in Singapore it is worth a visit to Little India, just to get off the train, walk down the streets and visit as least this one temple.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hindu temple - remember to remove your shoes! Very busy, people eating all over the place - not really my cup of tea, but an interesting place nevertheless. Oh, and get there early.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boca_Culebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing