We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro charm”
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #255 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I love the retro Singapore design of this hotel. It is very comfortable and staff were very helpful. Great breakfast. It was noisy as the room faced onto Jalan Besar but it won't stop me from coming back. Great location and heaps of Singapore charm.

Room Tip: If you can get a room off the main road it will reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear ethannan,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you like the retro-futuristic in the hotel. We apologise for the noise pollution caused and thank you for your understanding.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 465 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Not sure what we expected from Little India. It was good value, but noisy and the air-conditioning did not work well. Having said that the shower was excellent, it was clean and very well placed to see the city using public transport. Lively and interesting part of the city.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 47helenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Helen K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We apologise for the faulty air-con unit, the team have taken note. We would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights and loved it! Fantastic location in an interesting area. Walking distance to train station, little India and just a few kilometers walk to bugis street markets and Arab street. Great curry shops all around, but make sure you go to the ones with lots of locals rather than the 'pretty' ones aimed at tourists. $6 in one of the real Indian shops will get 2 curries, 4 rotti and rice.

Rooms are small, but well planned and plenty big enough for a couple :-) No window in the bedroom made for a slight panic attack for me, but the AC worked well and kept the air moving and the glass bathroom door let in plenty of light and air from the window in the shower if needed.
Hotel and room was clean, room did have a mild damp smell, but nothing major. Staff are friendly and at the desk 24hours. The shabby sheik decor will not be to everyone's taste, but we loved it. Make sure you check out the photos on the walls as many are of the hotel before it was re-opened. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MandyLeCouteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear MandyLeCouteur,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you like the retro-futuristic in the hotel and we look forward for your next visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Since we were very happy with our stay in December 2012 at the Kam Leng Hotel, we chose it at this occasion again and were not disappointed.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious enough with a comfortable bed and big shower and very strong Wifi. We got 2 different rooms since in between our stay, we spent one night in another hotel in downtown in order to be close to the fireworks at New Year’s Eve. Both rooms were equally good.
The complimentary water also comes in very handy.
We did not try the breakfast, but the hawker center just opposite which is very worth a try. Also the 7/11 opposite is very practical.
The closest MRT-station is Farrer park which is about 10min by foot away. Little India can also be reached by foot.
Thanks to the reasonable prices and good quality/service and convenient location, it is a very good option and we would surely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Terence_Hill,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your continue support.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

For the price it was the best hotel we stayed in. The room had no windows but it was comfortable and didn't feel like been in a dark room. There was hot water, sandals to roam about and arrangements to make tea or coffee. Its opposite the a 24hr food plaza where you can get all sorts of dishes. We had Indian food food which was nice. It almost near to most attractions in singapore and you can get bus from bus station right opposite to the hotel. I thinks its worth the money.

Room Tip: We had rooms with now windows. But I think room with window will be better to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinod Murugan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Vinod Murugan M,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward for your next visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ok,
I don't get what they trying to do ???
Looks like a hotel back in the day ,
But some parts looks like they didn't do anything and call if cheak ?
Floors were pretty rotton,
Overall hotel was ok ,
Day staff were great ,

Bad points

Tv looks like it was snowing on every channel,
No blinds at windows so sun wakes you up,
Free breakfast is ok.
They give you a voucher that doesn't cover a full breakfast ,
So you get a menu that you can't have ???
Floors look unfinished and they aren't !
Would I go back ???
No !!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank smiler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear smiler70,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

We value all feedbacks and suggestions given, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Maybe it was just because it was a Friday night but there was a party going on just below our window. I guess that is normally not such a problem but we were at the end of our holiday, exhausted and in need of a good sleep.
They have a massage chair on the third floor which I thought was great, makes me want to get one for home.
The staff were very helpful actually, they allowed us to book the room for an extra half day so we could get some more rest before our flight.
It was a 15-20min to the nearest railway station. There is a great eatery directly across the road as well as a handy 7-11 store.
While the building and it's furnishings are an older style, the bathroom fittings, TV and Air cond. are modern and all worked very well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Andy W,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

Please accept my sincere apologise for the party held on that Friday night.The event organizer was informed to be more vigilance to prevent similar issue.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#228 of 319 in Singapore
171 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#186 of 319 in Singapore
321 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#133 of 319 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#154 of 319 in Singapore
377 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#173 of 319 in Singapore
317 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#152 of 319 in Singapore
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $52 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing