We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the I'net pictures”
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #254 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Upon arriving at Singapore airport, stopped five taxis before finding taxi driver who was aware of this hotel. Upon arrival at hotel, was obvious that pictures on hotel's website were either taken about 40 years ago or they had been severely 'doctored' to greatly improve hotel's appearance. Found hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. Room allocated was more like an old laundry that had been gutted and a bed thrown in. Having said that, it was very quiet. Also, a torch would have been very beneficial as room was poorly lit at night and very dull in daytime.
The 'breakfast' deal which is included in room rate is very deceptive. Provided by adjoining restaurant (and I use that term with substantial hesitation) is very 'light-on'. You have the choice of ONE item off the half dozen cheapest meals on the menu. So you can either have muesli or toast or eggs etc. Anything added is additional cost.
Variety of asian food markets across the road from hotel is well priced, competitive to each other, very friendly atmosphere and open 24/7.
The area is not designed for pedestrian travel in that there is no designated 'footpath', only continuous uneven sections of concrete entrances to shops and workshops. It would be very difficult to negotiate with 'wheeled' baggage. Taxi cost to airport was very reasonable, friendly and courteous driver who willingly gave a well informed commentary tour en route to airport.
So, if you can put up with a small, dimly lit room with poor ventilation and a very inadequate breakfast offering, you might be able to enjoy your stay. Just don't expect too much for your dollar.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter, but you need a torch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear G B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We value all feedbacks given and regret to know that the room design have disappointed you.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

I think one has to look at this hotel in context. Singapore hotels generally ( decent ones) are not cheap so to pay approx $120 Singapore dollars for this a night was really not a bad price for this place. The rooms are really small, contain a large very comfy bed with fluffy white pillows and good quality duvet which take up most of the room! Small dressing table area with kettle, tea and coffee, comlimentary water ( daily) and hairdryer. A mirror in thr bedrooom would have been nice. The bathrooms are modern, clean and has an excellent powerful shower woth good quality shower gel ans shampoo. The mirror is very awkwardly placed in the bathroom so you can't actually see yourself apply make up and clean your teeth over the sink... Very strange! There are also large windows in the bathroom which is always nice as ones without don't seem ventilated at all.

Location wise I thought this hotel was fantastic. It took 30 minutes to get from changi intl airport to the hotel. (direct MRT from airport to Lavender station) from the station is max 10 min walk to hotel. Hotel is opp a 24food market, a seven eleven and is directly opposite the bus stop that goes to orchid road, city hall. nearest station is ferrrer park which is approx a 10 min walk away.
The area may seem a little intimidating at nighttime if you are a lone female but as soon as yo walk though a couple of dodgy bits it's fine...

Breakfast was good and was a set menu style. You can only order certain dishes from the restaurant for breakfast which include fantastic pancakes, selection of hot breads and pastries, unlimited tea or coffee, drinking water, eggs plus 2 side such as baked beans, sausages. Etc.

Service at the hotel I thought was excellent but I generally found this everywhere in Singapore.
I was a little surprised they charged me $50 refundable damage deposit at check in which I was have reimbursed next month by card, however they assured me it would be refunded.

Overall i Wood recommend this hotel if you are a tighter budget and want in a central buzzy area.

Room Tip: Higher floor to reduce noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiv2012123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear shiv2012123,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We value all feedbacks and suggestions given. We are please to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and regret to note that our small mirror have disappointed you.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

sorry to say but this hotel not *** hotel but * hotel or losmen type, floor is too dirty not cover by cramic. room to small only the bathroom rather good. we stay at this hotel for 3 night from 21st untill 24rd november 2013, at the second night we cannot sleep because there is noise out side the building (my room the back side of the hotel). I hope the management will improve the conditions of this hotel at list the floor because so dirty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hasan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear hasan b,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We value all feedbacks and suggestions, regret to know that we have disappointed you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

this hotel is very nice, clean and friendly and has a certain charm that many hotels lack!

The rooms were very noisy from the traffic on the streets but we were so tired this did not seem to affect us! Might affect a light sleeper though...

For the price and location, you can't go wrong in Singapore! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: try to ask for 'less noisy' one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhcd_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear mhcd_2000,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We have taken note on the sound pollution and we are working on it. We are please to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good small town hotel on the edge of Little India. Everything was clean and tidy. Only the rooms are a bit small, but okay for one person. Best price performance ratio. Nice reception. Directly opposite a food court where the locals eat and usually a 7-Eleven. In the city, it is also not far arg, 10min Lovingly renovated walk to the nearest MRT station Farrer Park, see pictures. Who needs a window in the room from claustrophobia reasons should not stay here :). WiFi works fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank You-Ma-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear You-Ma-x,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It's my pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in October before cruising back to Australia and we were very happy. There was a problem the first night as the room we booked back in January was not available but everything was fixed up the next day. Breakfast was good with very friendly staff. The 24/7 Lavender Food Hall opposite was terrific for dinner. It is an older hotel that has been done up and we enjoyed its atmosphere. The gentlemen who was the afternoon/night shift manager was very helpful. The location for us was perfect and we caught the MRT at both Lavender and Farrer Park, which were only a short walk away. We walked both day and night around the area and found it to be safe friendly and clean. We plan to return to Singapore and we will certainly be staying here again. There may be better hotels and there may be worse ones but you certainly get value for money here in a great location..

Room Tip: Try the 4th floor with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert_of_Bendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Robert_of_Bendigo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We apologise for the inconvenient caused for the first night. It's my pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in Kam Leng early Nov 2013. The room is an OK size, about 4x3.5M + 2x2.5M bathroom. Arriving in the evening, the flashing lights around the sign make it hard to read. While Farrer Park is the nearest MRT, Lavender is easier to get to it from if coming from the airport or if you are on the 'Green Line (NS)' for the MRT.

From Lavender at the top of the escalator, turn right (Wendy's is then on your left), proceed through the arcade, cross the road, turn right then left on the first road. Follow it to the T intersection, turn right then left at the next short road. Follow it to the top, cross the road, the next one over is Jalan Besar (no obvious sign). Look to your right & there is a 24 hour food court just past the 7-11. The hotel is directly across the road from there. Don't bother trying to get a taxi from either MRT - the fare is less than $4SG, so the drivers "don't know" the address. The walk is about 20 minutes/750M from Lavender, 600M from Farrer Park.

The room is comfortable, has a large LCD TV, limited area for hanging clothes. Tea/coffee/sugar/creamer supplied with a jug & cups. 2 FREE bottles of water each day, and 2 pairs of packeted 'slippers' - disposable type - are supplied. AC worked fine (pre-set to 18C), although the fan had to be set to MED or HIGH to cool the room efficiently. A very small (empty) bar fridge is also in the room, along with a very small safe. Shampoo & soap are in the dispenser on the bathroom wall, a small toiletries kit is also supplied.

Eating places around here: Food court across the road with some shops 24/7, Chinese restaurant across the road, Another food court 2 blocks south with some very nice foods & reasonable prices. The hotel has a restaurant, but I wasn't thrilled at $25 for a hamburger & chips.

Leaving early, the taxi fare to Changi was about $19SG, plus $10 for using a cab between midnight & 0600 (no warning on that fee) and $8 for calling instead of standing on the street & flagging one down. The $8 booking fee I think is excessive.

I would stay there again, the location is reasonably convenient.

Many thanks to the young lady at reception there through the day, she was incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Paul S,

Greeting from Kam Leng Hotel.

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us. The direction guide provided was so detail and i'm sure it will be helpful to all guests.

We would also like to thank you for yours compliments for hotel GRE Ms Suki.

Thank you and we look forward for your next visit to Singapore.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#233 of 317 in Singapore
178 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#139 of 317 in Singapore
495 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#175 of 317 in Singapore
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#146 of 317 in Singapore
289 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#167 of 317 in Singapore
297 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#182 of 317 in Singapore
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing