We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kam Leng Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$292
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$246
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$174
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$318
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$206
$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$685
$433
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
40
203
141
47
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
203
141
47
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtlittle indiafarrer parkbudget hotelnearest mrt stationsmall hotelconvenience storestayed nightslavenderjalanbesarmustafatoothbrushstallsindian
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 480 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really liked the feel of the hotel, nice kitch, old style. Rooms are small (we had actually been upgraded to a larger room and dread to think how much space we would have had otherwise!) space enough for 2 people and big bags though and we were only there for 1 night anyway. bathroom is fine.
Hotel offers tour booking services, we saved $3 off the Night Safari, well worth it and no hassle at all.
Highlight was breakfast. It really was tasty and no issues with any staff.
Also they let us keep our bags in the luggage room for basically a whole day after our stay as we were flying out in the early hours of the next morning.
Overall a nice little hotel, good location, friendly staff and great breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room if possible, there's less noise from the street.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Slheath88,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is my pleasure to know you have enjoy your stayed with us. We looking forward for your future visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went with a friend and stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in this hotel. Low cost, according to the facilities and conveniences that obtained when compared to other hotels in Singapore. Overall, it's a nice and pleasant visit. I recommend this hotel for short staying.

First arrived in Changi, exit through immigration, take the Skytrain to Terminal 2. You can buy a tourist pass (unlimited pass for the MRT, buses, LRT) there. It costs $ 30 for 3 days with a refundable $ 10 deposit. Then hop on the only train that was there, and after a short journey the train will stop at Tanah Merah. Move to the green line (EAST-WEST line) heading to Joo Koon. Get off at Lavender (EW11) and take bus number 133 or 145 from the bus stop just outside the MRT station. After that, get off 3 stops later in Eminent Plaza just before the hotel and walk to the hotel in Jalan Besar. Alternatively, you can walk along Lavender Street for about 15 minutes to the hotel (about 900 meters).

Kam Leng Hotel is an antique, nice, and clearly visible from Jalan Besar. The young receptionist was a bit unfriendly and we did not like him, but he worked efficiently. The older receptionist and the cleaning lady were nice and friendly though.

After reading many reviews about this hotel we had previously booked a room on a high floor, rather quiet on special request, and they gave us exactly as requested. Our room was no. 404 on 4th floor, facing a 24-hour food court, 7-11 and a bus stop, and has multiple windows in the bathroom. It's quiet and we had good sleep. The room's not spacious but very neat and clean, smartly decorated and a combination of modern spatial planning and very antique buildings. They provide tools just exactly like those mentioned in the web. The bathroom is small but adequate and clean. The hot water turns well and I liked their shower. LCD TV had a bit of basic channels including Starworld, AXN, CNN and several Chinese channels. The free WiFi was excellent during our stay.

Food was not a problem because just opposite the hotel is a 24-hour food court. For Muslims, there are also food stalls that provide halal foods. The hotel also had a restaurant that offers a $ 10 meal voucher for two.

For transportation, there is a bus stop opposite the hotel, you can take bus no. 65 to go to the Orchard Street. From the bus stop at the end of the road, you can take bus no. 145 which headed to Vivocity leading to Sentosa Island (Universal Studio, etc). Hotel is also located within walking distance to reach Little India, Mustafa Center, 2 MRT Station (Little Farrer / Lavender) and lots of food stalls.

Room Tip: Rooms on the high floor and/or not facing the main street are quiet, and don't forget to ask room with windows!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nanet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Nanet F

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is my pleasure to know you have enjoy your stayed with us. We value all feedbacks given, our Front Office Manager was alert for immediate improve for the team. We appreciate your patient and time for the review.

We looking forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my first trip to Singapore and the hotel I chose was actually not the right option.The Receptionist was rude and could not speak nicely even once.The little old guys was still nice and helpful.I would not like to talk about the room as it was really sad specially the location of the room.Bedding was great but Air conditioning could not reach.But Kudos to that sweet Houskeeping lady.Washrooms were decent.But over all not value for money !

My experience counted service issues. if these guys would have dealt with me nicely , I would have not thought about the product.After all we are in service industry and a positive apprach towards a foreigner is very important.

Room Tip: Dont ever consider there corner rooms, Due to the location of the rooms , air conditioning get effected
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gautam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Gautam C,

Thank you sharing your experience with us.

Please accept my sincere apology, i am very concerned by the elements of your review. You can rest assured that we take and value all guests reviews seriously.

I have share the review with our Front Office Manager for immediate improvement on the efficiency and guest handling skills of our Front Office Team.

We really look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

So it took me 3 long nights trawling tripadvisor and the Internet to decide on a hotel, as all of the reviews complain of small rooms!!
Yes, the room was small in comparison to other countries, but the bed was comfy, the shower was spacious (and hot! Yay) and it had everything I needed!
Directly across the road is Lavender Food Centre, open 24hrs serving local cuisine (at hawker centre prices), and just a 5 min stroll to Boon Keng MRT.
You are also just a 10 min walk to the heart of Little India.
All in all, a great location, thanks Kam Leng hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JetsetLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear JetsetLoz,

Thank you for sharing yours experince with us.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward for your future stay with us. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

If you love the Ace hotels in the US you will like this one. Hip, cool, funky. Very good value for money, which is not easy to find in SIN. The hotel is located a couple blocks north of Little India which is great for exploring. Subway us also in walking distance.
Good bed and simple, functional bathroom. Great travellers hotel. Free Wifi. Nice little bar/ restaurant. They will charge for late check out after 12pm. Enjoyed my stay. Would recommend if on budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Frank S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews