We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the value”
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #250 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel clean and good value but a little bit far from SGP center,small room but ok for the price,nice and quiet place,you can find a food court just opposite the hotel,some shops,bars....even a french restaurant 5 mn from there

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zazawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 461 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights for ~$100 aud/night. It was basically what I expected. We paid the extra for a larger room which was worth it. Room have tv, coffee and tea facilities, comfy bed and an attached basic bathroom with hot showers. Noise of traffic could be an issue for some so I do recommend ear plugs. The breakfast was al la carte and delicious! Unfortunately it is out of the way and a bit if an effort to go places. It is ~ 10min to closest MRT. Overall it was a nice hotel and the only reason I wouldn't stay again was due to the location however I knew this before I got there so no surprises.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam_freddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Well located over the road from a food court, and close to 2 bus stops that can take you anywhere in Singapore.
Quirky decor and small rooms, but clean and heaps of hot water.
Defintely would stay there again

Room Tip: See if you can get one at the back away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and did not have any problems. The hotel itself is nice and funky but the rooms are TINY. I booked knowing this after reading trip advisor reviews but being that we are not fussy about those kinds of details we booked anyway. It was seriously small. It has just enough room for a queen size bed and a desk w the fridge under the desk. There was barely enough room for 1 suitcase and a duffle bag. If these were on the ground, there was no space to walk. We often hit our belongings left on the ground when we opened the front door.
It was a good value despite this. Singapore is expensive so its a good place to rest your head at night. It is near the MRT but it's a little bit of a walk...about 10-15 minutes.
Another plus is there is a 24 hour Hawker center directly across the street. If you go...go to the center stand and get the pancake with ice cream topped with corn... Sounds odd but it was delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Positive
Very cute and quirky hotel. Very clean. Great wifi. Helpful staff. Not bad location if u dont mind a stroll. Great aircon

Negative
Very small rooms...not big enough for 2 adults. Bathroom all frosted glass with the only windows being in the bathroom which are french shutters so very noise. No curtains so take a eye mask and ear plugs. But damp smelling but once the aircon is on goes away. For the size i would say not good value for. money

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Kam Leng is a budget hotel in a centric area of the city. It is in a building from 1938 that has been somehow remodeled trying to keep the old feeling. So there are narrow corridors, uneven floors, exposed plumbing etc. Also the room is VERY small, no place to put the luggage so it must be on the floor or in the bed. The only window is on the bathroom and filters the daylight to the room through a glass wall separating the bathroom from the room, so you feel a little like in a cage. Now, the price is very good for Singapore, if you just want to use the hotel for sleeping, it's OK since the location is superb, close to public transport, there is a huge food market right in front of it and a 7/11, and there is also free wifi. I felt like re-visiting my old grandma home from when I was a kid a long time ago.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very clean! Bus stop right opposite the hotel. Only 15 minutes to Orchad with bus, 5 mins to the nearest MRT station with bus, 10 mins to bugis market with bus, 5 mins walk to Mustafa centre
24 hours mini market & 24 hours big food court right opposite the hotel. Internet connection (wifi) was great! (12mbps).
Kamleng hotel was great for sleep (only). If you want more facilities Kam leng wasn't a good choice then

Room Tip: don't forget to ask room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#183 of 317 in Singapore
314 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#218 of 317 in Singapore
169 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#152 of 317 in Singapore
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#130 of 317 in Singapore
475 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#158 of 317 in Singapore
562 reviews
Geylang
ZEN Rooms Evergreen Residences
ZEN Rooms Evergreen Residences
#286 of 317 in Singapore
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $50 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing