We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY small rooms but clean, near the MRT station and cheap for Singapore prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kam Leng Hotel to your Saves list
Kam Leng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VERY small rooms but clean, near the MRT station and cheap for Singapore prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and did not have any problems. The hotel itself is nice and funky but the rooms are TINY. I booked knowing this after reading trip advisor reviews but being that we are not fussy about those kinds of details we booked anyway. It was seriously small. It has just enough room for a queen size bed and a desk w the fridge under the desk. There was barely enough room for 1 suitcase and a duffle bag. If these were on the ground, there was no space to walk. We often hit our belongings left on the ground when we opened the front door.
It was a good value despite this. Singapore is expensive so its a good place to rest your head at night. It is near the MRT but it's a little bit of a walk...about 10-15 minutes.
Another plus is there is a 24 hour Hawker center directly across the street. If you go...go to the center stand and get the pancake with ice cream topped with corn... Sounds odd but it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Positive
Very cute and quirky hotel. Very clean. Great wifi. Helpful staff. Not bad location if u dont mind a stroll. Great aircon

Negative
Very small rooms...not big enough for 2 adults. Bathroom all frosted glass with the only windows being in the bathroom which are french shutters so very noise. No curtains so take a eye mask and ear plugs. But damp smelling but once the aircon is on goes away. For the size i would say not good value for. money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Cuautitlán Izcalli, Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Kam Leng is a budget hotel in a centric area of the city. It is in a building from 1938 that has been somehow remodeled trying to keep the old feeling. So there are narrow corridors, uneven floors, exposed plumbing etc. Also the room is VERY small, no place to put the luggage so it must be on the floor or in the bed. The only window is on the bathroom and filters the daylight to the room through a glass wall separating the bathroom from the room, so you feel a little like in a cage. Now, the price is very good for Singapore, if you just want to use the hotel for sleeping, it's OK since the location is superb, close to public transport, there is a huge food market right in front of it and a 7/11, and there is also free wifi. I felt like re-visiting my old grandma home from when I was a kid a long time ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very clean! Bus stop right opposite the hotel. Only 15 minutes to Orchad with bus, 5 mins to the nearest MRT station with bus, 10 mins to bugis market with bus, 5 mins walk to Mustafa centre
24 hours mini market & 24 hours big food court right opposite the hotel. Internet connection (wifi) was great! (12mbps).
Kamleng hotel was great for sleep (only). If you want more facilities Kam leng wasn't a good choice then

Room Tip: don't forget to ask room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean, convenient, comfortable bed, and friendly staff. But a massive negative was that there were no curtains and several windows (frosted glass)! So we were woken up at the crack of dawn every morning for 3 days! Also, the room was very small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkmax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Now, this is a tough review to write and the reason for it is that I am not sure that goes into what category? I got this hotel because the other one,where I really wanted to go was completely occupied so I had to book this one. There are couple of points on both the good and the bad sides. I shall mention both and you can see what works out for you. Okay let's start from the good things first

Good points:
The hotel is a budget hotel so if you are not willing to spend a lot and looking for a budget alternative, this can be an option but do remember that there are many more options as well and just one street away from it, you have got three more hotels to choose from. Anyways, the hotel is having a food square right opposite to it and a 7/11 as well. Also, it's about 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the little India area where there is a lot of variety of food available so in that aspect, the hotel is good. Also, there is hot water and free access to wifi. Free wi-fi is hard to get in budget hotels so if you are like me who comes on business trips and needs internet after the office for more than 2 hours, it's a big plus to have it without paying anything extra.

Now, that's the end of the good points. Let's see now the bad points!

Bad points!

The hotel doesn't seem like a hotel but like someone picked up an old house , renovated the rooms to be converted into a hotel room and opened it up. I came to know that it got renovation and got reopened and if this is the situation after it has got a reopening, I don't want to imagine how it was before! There is no window in the room and the only set of windows that you are going to find is in the washroom. So the room feels like a mini cage. The furniture in the room looks like picked up from doll house and of very bright colors which are not at all pleasant to the eyes. There is a tv in the room but only 5 channels are there and I guess most are in Chinese only though as you get the free access of internet , that shouldn't be a big problem. I found the staff a little rude as well. I reached at the hotel early and requested that if there is any room which gets free, let me have the early check-in. In front of me , two rooms got the checkout and still ,the staff at front reception didn't allow me to have an early check-in and mentioned that I have to pay 50SGD if I want to do it! Since I was sitting right there when the checkouts happened and then too, the staff didn't buzz at all and struck on getting the money-not something that I would really appreciate.

Overall, as I said , it's tough to say that whether it's a good choice or not. May be if you are coming only to stay outside for most of the time and would use the hotel only for sleep, it can be considered but with no windows in the room,no curtains to escape from the sunshine that's going to hit right in the face at the morning time, not so comfortable rooms, I still wouldn't recommend picking it as the first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharmaAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in this little hotel for 2 nights, and I have mixed emotions about the stay! The first night we were on the 4th floor facing the road. It was very noisy and we ended up timing our sleep between the changing traffic lights, very little sleep was had! We asked for an internal room for the second night which the staff organised without a problem! The people sharing our floor were extremely noisy, and we ended up with even less sleep!
Having said that, the atmosphere of the hotel is wonderful, it has a quirkiness about it that was very unique! We had no problem with the restaurant, and staff were very friendly and accommodating.
The reconditioning didn't do a great deal to cool the room, which left it very stuffy.
The bed was comfortable, and when asked for another pillow, it was supplied!
Despite the lack of sleep I enjoyed my time at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#169 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#82 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#147 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#56 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,358 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing