We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, cosy and cute”
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #274 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here two nights lt week.like Ciaran says, it is kinda funky and cool, but it is also small and basic. The quirky, retro design elements and furnishings raise it above the other budget hotels in the area. Good showers, nice restaurant - though directly across the road is a great, cheap food court and a short walk away is the bustling district of little India. Great location, nice rooms, very quiet (facing back street) and affordable. I got a good deal using My Virgin frequent flyer account - about $65aud per night, so shop around.

Room Tip: Our room facing the back street was very quiet on the third floor. Not sure what frontrooms are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radelaidians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 468 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and it was pleasant enough. rooms were an ok size for us as we only used it for sleeping. was about 10 minute walk to train station (lavender EW11) and has a seven eleven right across the street. also a shopping mall about 5-10 minute walk with great shops and restaurants.
would of liked some sort of shutters on the windows as light is very strong on the front in the morning.
overall though we had a nice pleasant stay at the Kam leng hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was quite small place but no complaint as it was just for chill out with friends. The room has some musty smells though it was pretty clean. Love the decor and simplicity of it. Love the nitty gritty things like the toothbrush box - old school.

Loves the noise from the street - it gives life to the place. If you dont mind then this is good place for you. Loves to people watch from the antique window panes.

Good shower place though it tend to get too wet due to the not so high partition on the floor.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for the room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here this week. It has a slightly funky edge to it but in places the shabby chic look tended to be shabby as opposed to chic. The rooms are small but we knew that, functional and beds comfortable, bathrooms clean but if the door is open, the street noise is particularly loud as only shutters on the windows. Breakfast was included in the room rate and is served in Sufrette, the little cafe bar which was really nice, enjoyed drinks there on two evenings as well and found the staff friendly and accommodating. Stay here if you are looking for something quirky but be prepared for a few of the flaws which come with that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in Kam Leng for 4 nights in the last week of Mar 2013 at the average rate of USD 108.62/night in a Superior Queen room. Regarding the area, its just a 10-15 mins walk to Farrer Park MRT(City Square Mall) and Little India. The buses stop right opposite the hotel. The Jalan Besar area has a lot of eateries. This was the last destination of our vacation after visiting Phuket and KL. Compared to the hotels we stayed there at a comparatively lesser rate, Kam Leng rooms were small and with no ventilation (must mention that the bathroom had a large window). However, the room and bathroom were clean. The rooms are not provided with a power plug point inside the bathroom, so if you are used to an electric shaver you are in trouble. And the only mirror is inside bathroom. Even on a special request, we did not get a small mirror in the room. They do provide you with a travel kit (razor, shower cap, toothbrush etc). With no wardrobes, the cloth hook is placed in such a manner that half of the TV is covered. They have tried to adjust a lot of things in a tiny room. Especially at night, we found the area a bit noisy. You may not feel this when you walk on the street but inside the room the noise is evident. Thanks to the couple next room who chose to sort out their personal issues over the whole night, it helped us stay awake all night after a tiring day. We had the complimentary breakfast only on the first day and chose to have it from elsewhere next morning onwards. The receptionists who were on day duty were really sweet but the person in charge at night was rude. Overall, not much happy but kinda fine since we got this in our budget. And the add on is, you can purchase the tickets to tourist attractions like Sentosa, Univeral Studios, Flyer etc at a discounted rate from the reception.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderluster_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and found our stay very nice and the staff was very professional, kind and helpful when learning how to get around town too. Although we were first welcomed by a visiting cockroach sitting on toilet, it is understood that Singapore has no screens on the windows since there doesn't seem to be any bugs there other than our greeter. First impressions like this can last as well as our opinion of the old floor material still being used. Although the tiles appear very old, chipped up, multi-colored and just plain ugly, it was in fact very clean. It was very comfortable as well for this lower cost that fit our budget. Coffee and mini fridge in the room at a desk and they provided house slippers too, so where was the bath robe, lol?
This hotel building shows a year on the front of 1939 and many Taxi's couldn't find it easy nor did they know of it but they all know the huge food court across the street and the street name. I understood the renovation work that was done, seems they need to finish painting and should do something about the flooring appearance but noticed how very nice the baths were (nice shower set up) as they had installed full glass panels from the floor to the ceiling 4 feet from the windows to the room which was small but worked for us. No, that cockroach didn't come from the hotel inside since this glass panel is there but amazingly this panel of frosted glass kept the road noise out making our stay very quiet. They should update those wood shutters in the front windows to have a screen mesh and some kind of black out shade so the light does not wake you if you care to sleep longer. Only 8 channels on the TV and half are not in English. As mentioned in other reviews, there is a 7 Eleven convenience store with a ATM machine across the street but to get to places such as Garden By The Bay and Cable Car Sky Drive gong to Sentosa, this hotel is not near most attractions yet the bus fair is cheap once you understand how to use that transportation system. We didn't venture into the subway system in fear of getting lost, lol. City Center Mall is within walking distance about 3 blocks but a taxi only cost about 5 bucks to go there.
Get the breakfast coupons they offer, it will save 4 bucks per meal. I did find Singapore very expensive for meals in any of the local full service restaurants. But we also found McDonalds, KFC, Burger King and even a Subway if you can believe this as these fast food places or the large food court was reasonable food cost. These place are found everywhere in Singapore including City Center Mall and is within walking distance from this hotel about 3 blocks but a taxi only cost about 5 bucks to go there. In short, I'd stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in kam leng for 4 days from 31march to 4th april 13, after my malaysian trip and was disappointed , room was tiny , traffic noise wont let me sleep , horrible breakfast , hotel was in bad shape .

Room Tip: cant say may be south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tariqpashamemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#239 of 319 in Singapore
182 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#145 of 319 in Singapore
299 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#137 of 319 in Singapore
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#162 of 319 in Singapore
381 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#142 of 319 in Singapore
589 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#174 of 319 in Singapore
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing