We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean yet small”
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #254 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Read the reviews first before deciding with Kam Leng. Check in was fine and was able to get the rooms in no time. Booked the superior room with my hubby and was given the 2nd level. The hotel has a certain vibe of "old meets new". It is charming. It seemed more popular with Caucasian guests and a few asian guests probably depending on the season. Stayed for a week btw.

Inspite of the small rooms, cleanliness was more important to me. The room was kinda small for 2 but the comfy bed and the unique shower compensated it somehow. I also felt the room didn't have enough light so I end up opening the toilet light just to add illumination to the room. The only windows they had were the ones in the toilet so I had to open the toilet during the day just to have air circulation in the room coz it can get a bit congested probably because of its compact size.

They have a small desk table, hair dryer, a hot water kettle, a personal-sized fridge, and 2 bottles of water included (with complimentary tea and coffee, toothbrush and shaving kit). No cabinets to keep your luggages or clothes and just an attached type of wood on the wall where you can hang your clothes on to. If you have big luggages, don't take the superior room coz you won't have enough space to walk on.

Toilet doesn't have a place where you can keep your toiletries so I just had to put my stuff near the windows. Shampoo and shower gels are in a dispenser. I like the rain shower type though. Housekeeping comes everyday but changing of linens and sheets are every other day (they say they're going green). Since we are near the street, it can be a bit noisy at night because of the cars and buses plus the food place just opposite the hotel, it is still tolerable although sometimes the noise can get a bit annoying.

The hotel has a big hawker centre that has a wide range of food stuff that's just on the opposite side of the road (which made me understand why they don't have extra utensils that you can borrow). Not too advisable to take home meals coz it felt so crampy having 2 people sharing on one small table and with one chair. Just eat the food outside to avoid any mess on a small room.

Location is good. There is an opposite bus stop just in front of you that would take you to busy Bugis station which has almost anything you need. Taxis are also easy to find.

Overall, I wouldn't mind booking it again for it was a clean hotel inspite of its compact-sized rooms. I bet you wouldn't be able to find a hotel as clean as this with the same price range around Singapore.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the street rooms because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Izzowizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Kem Lang has simple and clean rooms and a comfortable beds. It‘s rather on the inexpensive side and the staff is fine. With those basics covered it can provide you with a good night‘s sleep.

It has a peculiar design and layout, not bad, but rather unorthodox. TV, wifi and the shower all in good working condition.

Location is however not fantastic. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the nearest metro station (Farrer Park for the NorthEast line or Lavender for the EastWest line) and from there just over 5 minutes to the center. Perhaps 10-15 minutes if you‘re going to the Marina Bay, which would include changing lines on the metro, i.e. if you take the NE-line. If you are coming from the airport, take a taxi instead of the metro. The hotel is just a bit too far from Lavender station unless you don‘t mind dragging your luggage for quite a bit. Of course a taxi will be much more expensive though.

Also, there is nothing in the minibar upon arrival; you stock that up for yourself. Personally I find it rather a necessity to have some bottled water or a cool softdrink to gulp down after a (long) travel when arriving in my hotel room. Alas that is not on offer here. And the desk is somewhat small and the chair, well, minimalisticly uncomfortable, if that makes any sense.

In any case Kem Lang is quite alright albeit not with the finest location, either considering it‘s distance from downtown or the nearest metro station. There are however bus stations rather close by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arnijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

i stayed in this hotel in July for 2 nights and was a little apprehensive about staying here as there didn't seem to be many reviews.

But my fears were unfounded - this is a lovely hotel in a great location. The hotel has been recently refurbished so everything was very new, I stayed in a Standard Queen room on the Ground floor which was more than adequate for my needs, and I would say is a good size for two people. Room was big, clean and had a tv with a good range of tv channels. My room didn't have a window but I believe this is quite normal for may hotels in Singapore - the only downside was that there was just a simple wooden rail with a few hangers for clothes - was fine for me as i was only staying a few days but guess would be annoying if you were staying for longer. The bathroom was more of a wet room so nothing separating shower and toilet, but very good shower and some toiletries were provided as standard like toothbrush and toothpaste.

Free WiFi was available in your room and free bottles of water everyday and a big plus point for me - lots of plug points (its a pet hate that many hotels often have one plug point and its always inconveniently located!) . Its worth noting the floor in the rooms was tiled which can be quite cold - but they do provide slippers! I would definitely use this hotel again as i found it exceptionally good value and well placed for public transport.

I would also recommend the restaurant on the top floor of the 24 hour Mustafa centre - this is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, there's also a number of good veggie restaurants around the same area (Little India)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RaRaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights in July 2012 in a standard room (n.218) for 105 SGD + tax per night.
Pros : everything it’s new and good quality: sheets, bed (very comfortable), towels, furniture, taps, shower; it’s spotlessly clean; good AC, good size safe, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, good wi-fi (in reception there was a computer for guests’ use, too), kettle, 2 bottles of water every day, in-room amenities; the staff was very kind and helpful in giving information and they speak good English, too; free storage room for luggage; very good location: we used the fast and cheap MRT from/to airport (Lavender Station and 10/15 minutes walk), bus stop just in front of the hotel (n. 147 to Chinatown, n. 857 to Raffles Hotel and n. 133 from Marina Bay to Eminent Plaza), 7/11 and Lavender food court (excellent!) in front, walking distance to Little India.
Cons: the room was very small (different from the pictures in their website) and only the bathroom had a window facing a courtyard, but we knew it; only a small hanger for clothes; noise late in the evening from people walking in the corridors (no carpet, but a nice old and restored tile floor everywhere); no curtain or glass to divide shower from the rest of the bathroom.
We recommend this hotel if you want a cheap and good place to stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I has just been there for 4 days stay with my brother. Maybe because I booked the standard room with discount, so they put us in an extremely noisy room, at the corner of 2 streets, but it was not the worst.
At midnights, some noise from the street and even next door (water, door-knocking, etc) woke us up, even we spent all days on the street till midnight and we should have slept well. I got advice from people there that we should ask for a street far away from street, but I did not notice it, but if you want to book this hotel, please note that as 1 of the most important.
Bathroom: Small, but fine to us. So this should take 3/5 except 1 hook for hanging clothes.
The location? Near Mustafa Center and about 15-20 min walk to both MRT (Farrer Park or Lavender), so it is alright.
The service is fine enough. Advantage points that you can request the iron and iron board for free, internet free as well.
Overall, I think the room we stayed was not good enough with the total price (about 130 USD/night) so I will find another place to stay. And if I go solo, I prefer to choose a better place with dorm instead.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel prices in Singapore appear to be sky high.but this a relatively well priced hotel.We stayed 2 nights as a stopover to Thailand.I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.Very clean and close to MRT which means you can get around the city easy.Not far from airport as well. Free WiFi worked great and fast.biggest problem was there is no divider between shower and toilet which is not good.great service at reception and from staff. As a whole these are basic small rooms nothing fancy but if you looking for budget this hotel is perfect.Off most importance is that the beds are comfortable.No breakfast provided but if you like south Asian food walk across road to food court.Alternatively you can take MRT to any where in city to get western food.It is also useful to have a small fridge in rooms, unfortunately these rooms don't have.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saveshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is located very close to Lavender and Farrer Park mrt both are like 10 minutes walk and also very close to bus stops which makes travel around the hotel very easy. Also it's surrounded by many 24 hours food joints, Seven Eleven stores and 24 hours Mustafa Shopping Mall. The Staff were excellent and very helpful. Hotel is maintained in a very clean manner with new furniture and bathroom fittings. They offer free WiFi and a laptop station as well for guests. I was upgraded to an Executive room which was bigger than the standard room at no extra cost. Overall I loved my stay.

Room Tip: Do not take a road side facing room. The rooms facing the Road were very noisy at night with vehic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyjeetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#232 of 317 in Singapore
178 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#135 of 317 in Singapore
495 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#175 of 317 in Singapore
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#147 of 317 in Singapore
289 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#181 of 317 in Singapore
325 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#165 of 317 in Singapore
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing