We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YMCA”
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Ranked #23 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Good location, convenient to anywhere. Hotel room is so so, hotel provide free wifi but cannot access inside room. Only lobby can access for better wifi. Early check-out, didn't try YMCA breakfast (breakfast included in the packages).

Room Tip: Yes, Room with free wifi but can't access inside room, Only at Lobby. For me, is just a normal h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShingYau_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear ShingYau_Lim,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We have taken note of your feedback and would improve accordinly to serve you better.

We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore if given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 957 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice clean Place , Helpful and Pleasant staff. We had a delux room with an extra bed was little cramped for space but the YMCA had taken a approval from us. Family room would have been ideal. Location was perfect with MRT station very near by. Complimentary breakfast was good guess they need to change the menu alternate days otherwise the same spread is there for all days and becomes monotonous if staying for long.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KaushikCoorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear KaushikCoorg,

Thank you for your compliments and for your feedback. We would improve accordingly to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed with my wife and two sons in the family room. One queen bed and one single bed.

The room is clean and the staff are friendly. Check in is fast, so is the check out.

What I like most about the room is it has windows. I can't stay in an air conditioned room without ventilation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andrehyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear andrehyg,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us, it is much appreciated.

We are glad that check-in and check-out are prompt and that you found our staff to be friendly.

Do stay with us on your next trip to Singapore. We would improve accordingly to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent three nights at the Y and found excellent value for our money. Yes small rooms but we spent most of our time out and about. Clean, quiet with good bathroom. Staff was friendly and the breakfast spread was better than expected. Short walk to the subway.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Robert G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments, It is our pleasure to be of service to you. We would like to provide friendly service and would improve accordingly to serve you better during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed YMCA One Orchard for our first trip to Singapore and we were not disappointed. Very helpful and pleasant staff, clean bathrooms and rooms with wifi, good breakfast. Very good location and easy walk to Plaza Singapura and Dhoby Ghaut MRT. Good place to stay for people who want to explore the beautiful Singapore at a reasonable price. The staff was able to get a taxi for us quickly so we can be on our way to Gardens by the bay. Loved Singapore right away and we're planning to go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_Liza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Mark_Liza,

Thank you for loving our little sunny island! It is our pleasure to be of service to you. As you have mentioned, we aim to provide value for money accommodation in the heart of the city.

We will love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard if given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Let's face it: Singapore accommodation is very expensive. So, when travelling with a family, it can really add up.

YMCA One Orchard is an inexpensive, clean and quiet location to stay that won't break your budget. We had a family room that was squashy but adequate. We were very grateful for the large pool at the end of the day. Breakfast was extremely basic, but OK.

The major reason you would stay here, other than the above, is location. It is extremely easy to get around Singapore from here. Dhoby Ghaut MRT station is 100 metres from the front door, and from here you can go easily to all the places you might want to visit. Get yourself an ez-link card and you can breeze in and out as you need.

Why else should you stay here?
* It is an easy walk up to Fort Canning Park, and then from there down to Clarke Quay - a nice way to start the day.
* We caught the MRT from Dhoby Ghaut to Ang Mio Kio, then bus to Singapore Zoo. A one way trip took around 1 hour total, and if you have ez-link the bus fare is a tiny additional amount to pay.
* We had dinner each night in Chinatown, which is a direct MRT from Dhoby Ghaut. Don't be distracted by the places outside the station - make your way to the amazing Maxwell Food Centre.
* We also went to the Singapore Flyer at 9.30 at night - no queues and few people - beautiful Singapore at night!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear DadTravelOrganiser,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are blessed with an ideal location near Dhoby Ghaut MRT.

We would improve accordingly to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had difficulty in deciding where to stay in Singapore and I'm very glad I chose the YMCA. The YMCA had everything I needed including a cafe on site, television, laundry service, wi-fi and swimming pool.

The breakfast and other meals were good although I decided to stick to the western style foods.
The location was very good being close to the National Museum, Dhoby Ghout MRT station, the Plaza Singapura shopping centre and I could walk to Raffles Hotel.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the laundry service was efficient. I found the cleaning staff to be very accommodating who agreed to come around at a different time when we needed access to our room.

I am pleased I chose to stay at the YMCA.

(I stayed for a week in late February/Early March)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnhansen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear gnhansen29,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you are pleased with your stay.

We would improve our services to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fort Canning Lodge
#169 of 319 in Singapore
774 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Fisher BnB
#2 of 241 in Singapore
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#8 of 241 in Singapore
617 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 241 in Singapore
504 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Capsule Hostel
Wink Capsule Hostel
#11 of 241 in Singapore
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing