We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 for location”
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Ranked #23 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for a very serious error in the cost we agreed to. We had communicated via email and were given a price, but when it came time to pay the balance on leaving, the price went up. The only reason given was that the staff member who made the agreement was supposedly wrong and if we didn't pay the new amount, then the difference would have to be personally paid by the staff member. This appears to be a common ploy, a disagreeable play on our emotions.

As other reviewers have noted, the location is perfect. It is a short 150m walk to entrance 'A' of Dhoby Ghaut MRT; alternatively, the bus stop is a few metres from the hotel entrance. You can catch the number 36 bus directly to and from Changi airport, the trip takes approximately 70 minutes. Train to the airport takes about 40 minutes with 2 changes, a taxi takes about 20 minutes. The hotel is close to various shopping malls, the newest and largest is Plaza Singapura.

The rooms are generally clean except for the curtains which are grey from dirt. Complimentary bottled water is provided every day. We had a family room with a queen and 2 single sized beds. The rooms are air-conditioned and have a bar fridge and cable TV. The hot breakfast has a wonderful variety of Halal Western and Halal Asian choices. I really liked the miniature savoury chicken hot steamed buns, the sweet carrot / coconut cake and nasi lemak. There is the usual toast and jam, baked beans, cereals, boiled or scrambled eggs, tea and coffee. There are no fruit or vegetable juices, only orange cordial and water.

The outdoor roof pool is just perfect to cool down or swim the 20m length. It is even a good spot to watch the daily evening laser light show at Marina Bay Sands.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Wottinger,

Thank you for your review and feedback, it is much appreciated. We apologise for the communication breakdown on rates (rates are subjected to changes and would be as per time of enquiry).

We are blessed to be located in the heart of the city, with a bus stop in front of the property and near the train station, thus it is convenient to travel around. All room comes with complimentary breakfast, which we try to provide a variety to cater to different guests’ needs.

Once again for your feedback, rest assure that we would look into the matters brought up and take corrective actions to serve you better. We welcome you back to YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 956 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

My Partner and me went to Singapore last week, knowing that the city can be a bit expensive, we decided to look for a reasonable priced place to stay with certain consideration as near to public tranport, near tourist areas and very importantly, quiet not too busy. We found this hostel and it was really the right choice. After having great time staying at ymca HK, it was really an easy decision for us to pick ymca one orchard to stay for the entirety of our trip. It's reasonably priced considering this is SG. Rooms are adequate, very clean, thier staff very nice and helpful, and the place is not hurried so quiet. We opted for the free breakfast, it was ok but considering the effort in finding where to have breakfast in SG every morning, even though thier breakfast is very typical, I must say it was good, filling and you have a lot of choices. If ever I would go back to SG, AND I WILL, I would surely stay at YMCA One Orchard. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: This is a very comfortable budget hostel, so I guess any room of your choosing will be the same. Res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrumpchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Scrumpchie,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you found our property the right choice and us to be friendly. We try hard to provide value for money accommodation in the heart of the city.

We would improve accordingly to serve you better and we would love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very pleasant stay at the YMCA Singapore.We were first given a room that we found a bit small as we couldn't open our suitcases without putting them on the bed. We asked to change to a bigger room if possible and were given a room on the 6th floor which was a considerable improvement. The room and the bed were comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful. There is a swimming pool on the top floor and a good view of th area. The hotel is well situated very near the undergroun and walking distance to malls and shopping. The staff was very attentive and I particuarly thank Kerina
forthe help she gave us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZITA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear ZITA2014,

Thank you for your compliments for our staff, we would share this review with all, including Kerina. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Moving forward, we would improve accordingly to serve you better. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It's our first time in Singapore last week and we stayed at YMCA @ One Orchard for our 3-day vacation. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and the staffs took our luggage so we can explore the near-by places already and we were surprised that we were able to reach a lot of places by just walking around before checking-in.

Location-wise, YMCA @ One Orchard has a great location. It's near Dhoby Ghaut Interchange, from there alone you can go to almost wherever you want to go. There's also a bus stop right in front of the hotel. You can reach Orchard and Bugis Area in minutes by just walking and there are near-by 7-11, stores, and places where you can eat and drink, etc. You can eat, shop, and visit attractions such as Singapore Art Museum, etc by just walking. It's very very accessible.

I agree with some reviews that the building might look dated on the outside but the interior and the rooms are ok. It's value for money. Like really. The room we got was spacious enough for the 3 of us. It has all the basic things we need like toiletries, tissues, complimentary wifi and bottled water, etc. The wifi has a pretty decent connection but I hope it could go a little bit faster. :) The room we got has this nice view of SOTA (School of the Arts Singapore). Also the rooms are fixed / cleaned daily.

Breakfast was generous and there was a good variety of food to choose from (From cereals and toasts to fresh fruits and salad to warm meals). Staffs are friendly and helpful. There's this table in front near the entrance that offers city tours etc. Too bad we weren't able to check-out the talked-about roofdeck swimming pool. Maybe next time. :)

Overall, we had a great stay at YMCA @ One Orchard and we'd definitely come back here the next time we visit Singapore.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Pam S,

Thank you for your kind and honest review. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us . YMCA @ One Orchard is located in the heart of the city, thus accessible to several locations by foot. We aim to provide value for money accommodation with friendly services.

We would improve accordingly to serve you better. And we would be glad to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here approximately a year ago and think that this hands down the best place in Singpaore to stay for the Business and medium budget traveller. This property is all about the location, a minutes walk to the Dhoby Ghaut station which is right outside the hotel, this is all you need to travel the length of Singapore. This station connects the various parts of the island. The trains are excellent and you end up saving a lot of money on commute.

The YMCA is on one corner of the famous Orchard road, the rest of the road streches to reveal all the best malls, shopping sites and restaurants in Singapore.

The amenities are basic, with neat rooms which are not very large. The rooms are non-smoking and don't have room service. Its ideal for a longer stay and if you just need a neat, clean and really well maintained place to sleep.

Will definitely recommend this place as one of the best options to stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanthoshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear SanthoshS,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you found YMCA @ One Orchard to be one of the best options to stay in Singapore. As you had mentioned, YMCA @ One Orchard is located at the heart of the city and accessible to several locations, thus it convenient to travel around.

We would improve our services to serve you better. And we welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The rooms are in need of a lick of paint. Staff on desk not very helpful. Reluctant to call a taxi (asked to go on the street and find one at 05:00) no access to printer, (I was referred to another hotel) no early checkin. We arrived at 07:30 and asked for breakfast the day we arrived as we had an early flight the day we checked out and would miss our breakfast that day. This was not possible.... Those working in cafe and those cleaning rooms are great. All smiles and willing to make you feel welcomed. The breakfast was much better than it used to be. More variety and fairly tasty.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank molens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Molens,

We thank you for taking time to pen this review of your recent stay and we apologise your service experience at YMCA @ One Orchard.

As you mentioned, that the rooms are in need of painting, we have made arrangement to gradually paint the guest rooms. At 5.00 am in the morning, there are taxis around the street as it is non-peak hour and it is relatively easy to find an available taxi without paying extra for booking fees. However, if you need one to be called, the receptionist would gladly assist. We do offering printing services, if you send the document to our email. Unless the document (air ticket) needs direct printer access or saving to pdf before forwarding, there should be no issue to printing as the service is offered at a charge. Breakfast is available on check-in date at a charge, but the subsequent days stay, there is complimentary breakfast provided. If you are checking out early, you could inform us and we would make arrangement for simple packed breakfast.

We are glad to hear you found our café and housekeeping staff friendly and they made you feel welcomed.

Once again, thank you for your review and we would improve to serve you better. We welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at YMCA from March 1 to 4. From the start, we already experienced the good service of the staff. They were very helpful. We had a good stay. The hotel is very near to the train station, 7-11, malls, food court-all walking distance. The rooms were just the right size for Asian families like us. The rooms were made up everyday, toiletry kits were replenished and towels were changed everyday. The bathroom was very clean although the lavatory clogged but was fixed by maintenance immediately when we informed them. I guess my only complaint was there was a mosquito in the cabinet and some ants crawling on the table but that is very minor. And one suggestion to the management, maybe they could add more seats at the lobby for visitors waiting. Overall, our stay was very pleasant!! Good value for money spent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Myla Y,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to pen this review. It is much appreciated by both management and staff alike.

We are glad to hear that you found the staff helpful and you had a good stay with us. Our location is accessible to the MRT, there are bus stops nearby and it very convenient to head to the 7-11 or food court, which are 2 streets away.

Noted on your feedback, we would look into the matters brought up and your recommendations accordingly. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fort Canning Lodge
#168 of 319 in Singapore
773 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Fisher BnB
#2 of 241 in Singapore
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#8 of 241 in Singapore
615 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 241 in Singapore
503 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Capsule Hostel
Wink Capsule Hostel
#13 of 241 in Singapore
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing