We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seven reasons to stay at YMCA Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Ranked #22 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seven reasons to stay at YMCA Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Top 7 reasons for me to return to YMCA Singapore are;
1) Clean rooms
I booked two adjoining rooms and we were not disappointed.

2) Located near the central shopping district
Although the hotel is on Orchard Road, it's not exactly at the heart of the shopping district. However, Plaza Singapura is just down the road (10-minute walk away) and the "heart" is actually just two MRT stops away (Orchard station).

3) Relatively cheap rooms (for Orchard Road)
Managed to get good rates online, thanks to TripAdvisor, of course.

4) Located next to an MRT station
Dhoby Ghaut station is just a five-minute walk away.

5) Free WiFi
The internet in our rooms also had pretty decent speeds.

6) Located next to a bus stop
If the MRT station doesn't do it for you, there's the bus station, which is one-minute walk away

7) Located near the museums
I'm a fan of the museums here. The National Museum is directly behind the hotel and the Art Museum is within walking distance, as well

Apart from these, YMCA also serves a decent breakfast buffet and there's also a rooftop pool, which was pretty cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borneoposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detail review, it is really much appreciated by YMCA @ One Orchard's team. We would continue to provide value for money accommodation options to foreign travellers and improve accordingly in terms of our services to serve you better. We welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    467
    162
    26
    11
See reviews for
371
189
103
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

YMCA is one of the best value for money hotels in Singapore. Its located on Orchard Road and is a 2 minute walk from Dhoby Ghaut Station. Three metro lines pass through Dhoby Ghaut and therefore it is a very convenient location. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. YMCA also has a lovely rooftop pool. They have a fairly decent and wide spread at breakfast.
Its ideal for travellers who want to stay in the heart of Singapore without shelling out the big bucks. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shomamaitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated by both management and staff alike. We aim to provide value for money accommodation to foreign travellers. We would improve to serve you better and we welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I always spent in ymca whenever I visited Singapore, because this hotel was very very clean after having renovation, in spite of that, it gave us a great and delicious breakfast with sweet corn, bread, sosis etc. The room was too small and the wall was so thin so I can hear someone was chatting on coridor. The wifi was very strong. In spite of that, the location is near to mrt intersection and plaza singapore so that I an my family always have a dinner on that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agungh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated by management and staff alike. We would continue to improve to serve you better. And we welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wasn't expecting much from a YMCA but was pleasantly surprised by the decent sized rooms. They come with individual toiletries packs, which was pretty cool. There's an in room safe and the buffet breakfast is of a decent quality and variety. It isn't a luxury hotel but for the price you can't complain. Especially when the MRT is just five minutes walk away and Plaza Singapura is just a bit further. Staff are quite friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorneoView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, both management and staff are most appreciative or receiving positive responses. We all try hard to provide value for money accommodation and friendly service. We hope you had enjoyed your stay and would love to see you back again at YMCA @ One Orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

heey....its the 4th time im hosting myself at YMCA...each time it has been growing more n moe expensive..not really sure it would be worh once u cross the 100 USdollar mark...the convenience of bing at dhoby ghat, opposite plaza singapura...direct bus from airport..all is good..but rooms are small..not really family rooms...breakfast is nothing extra ordinary...i suggest travellers check out a few other options before u finalise

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashantgvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We have taken note of your feedback. And we would improve to serve you better. We welcome you back to YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The place is very comfortable, nothing fancy. Definitively value for money
Rooms are small. The complimentary breakfast is adequate,
The location is very good, central location with good connectivity by bus and MRT.
Area is good and not crowded. Good place to stay with family. There malls close by

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyedoc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated by both management and staff alike. We would improve to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us at YMCA @ One Ochard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The key is whether this is your 'type' of place not the adequacy of the place. I am a senior traveler and was traveling solo. This was a perfect place for me. It is literally 3 minutes from the MRT where there are 3 lines! I did an upgraded single room - it was spacious with large double bed. Bathroom amenities were included. Towel was rough - no surprise. Buffet breakfast was merely 'fine' but I wasn't there for the breakfast. My room was quiet. Ask for upper floor on back of building. Fort Canning park is behind the hotel - nice green space. Clarke Quay is within walking distance - long but pleasant walk. So, if you are seeking an affordable, pleasant, clean, active, MRT adjacent place to stay in Singapore, check this out.

Room Tip: upper floor - back side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Edna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest and kind review. It is much appreciated by both management and staff. We are located at the start of Orchard, near Dhoby Ghaut MRT (Exit A), which is very accessible to most places.

We would improve our services to serve you and our other guests better. And we would love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fort Canning Lodge
#154 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#78 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Innotel
#91 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#275 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Property: YMCA One Orchard
Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing