We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YMCA One Orchard
Nearby Hotels
Park Regis Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$298
$238
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$901
$541
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$191
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$120
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$164
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$410
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$227
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$593
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveler rating
262
511
177
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
511
177
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdhoby ghaut mrt stationnational museumplaza singapurarooftop poolbus stopfamily roomexcellent locationchanged dailyfort canning parkfree wificlean bathroomlittle indiafew minutes walkbuffet breakfastmini fridgeair conditioningbottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 992 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We found this hotel officious at times. Not sure about the previous poster's comments about no security. We know the security! We arrived after an overnight flight with children. We were too early for check in so we put our bags in storage and wandered the streets. After a few hours we went back to the hotel and asked for a place to sit. We were sent to the members lounge by reception staff. After ten minutes security staff member came and asked if we were members. Said we were not entitled to be there and the president of the club would not be happy. We didn't move. He came back five minutes later and did the rounds of the otherwise empty room. Ten minutes later he came back, he sat next to us and made us feel like squatters or criminals. The upside was we got checked in a few hours earlier although this was not our intention.

Good points: this hotel is well located, value for money in an expensive city for hotels. Close to MRT and walking distance to many sights breakfast is included and adequate. Cleaning staff on level 8 have the best PR. The good morning is genuine and friendly.

The YMCA needs to amend their website obviously. Guests do not have access to the members lounge as stated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
1  Thank liemPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. The management will check and clarify with the security department and clarify this matter. Hostel guests have access to members' lounge and the facilities alike.

We are glad that you found our location to be accessible and accommodation to be value for money. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we welcome you to stay with us again on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Many people do not know that YMCA at One Orchard Road Singapore, has no security at all. Any body can access the premises via lift from the 3rd level which leads to the public carpark. There is no security guard stationed at the 3rd level lifts' entrances. Everyday we can see non-members taking lifts at the 3rd level to the 9th level and other floors. The gym and other rooms are accessible by members' or hotel guests' swipe cards. We have also seen members bringing their guests without registering and paying at the counter for usage of the facilities. Some even use the swipe cards of their friends, bringing other friends in. It is a rule that even members' guests have to pay for usages of the facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Brad689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, we would investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I and my 2 other friends spend our time at Singapore from 15th December 2012 till 21st december 2012 and we stayed at YMCA International House for our visit and i have to say that it was an amazing experience for what we had paid. We absolutely got our money's worth. The free wi-fi was really appreciated, the breakfast buffet had good options for vegetarians like me, the rooms were large, neat and comfortable and had everything that one could need, the bathroom were very clean and the location of the hotel was one of the highlights as it was located a stones throw away from a metro interchange(dhobi ghaut) and orchard road. We could reach any place easily thanks to its central location. All the staff that we dealt with very warm, friendly and helpful. There's a vending machine and a 7-11 nearby, so even at late in the night you could grab a drink or a snack. It was a great experience to stay at YMCA International House and i would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Singapore.!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aayushjain170889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated. We are glad that you had an amazing experience at our premises and found our staff to be warm, friendly and helpful. Once again thank you for staying with us and we welcome you to stay with us on your next visit to singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were a group of 3 adults and after 2 nightmare days of spending money we were lucky to find such place to give our bodies and pockets a rest, Although Singapore is very small country this hostel has a centrally location about minutes to reach one of the busiest metro interchange in Singapore (dhoby ghaut) and opposite to 2 malls where you can find almost everything, The staff were so friendly specially the young in the reception they were so cooperated to find to us a bigger room at the second day, generally the hostel clean & cozy, Sometime taxi drivers mixed between this hostel and the other one who carry the same name and not far from each other so it will be good idea to carry the hostel card with you which include the right address in order to show it the taxi driver .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulrahman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and that our accommodation are value for money. We would take measures to improve to serve you and our other guest better and we welcome you to stay with us on your next visit to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a superior twin room which appeared to have been renovated recently. The decor was minimalist but the room was large, comfortable, very clean and had everything we needed. We appreciated the free wifi and the large rooftop swimming pool.

The free buffet breakfast caters to a number of cultures and it is interesting to try the different foods, but for those wanting a Western breakfast there is an ample, if simple, selection, including eggs, fruit, cereal and toast.

All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful.

The location is very close to public transport and within walking distance of a number of attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirkw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. It is much appreciated. We would improve to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews