We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - getting pricey”
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Ranked #24 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed often at this hotel, perhaps 6 times during the year, and have never had anything but praise for the cleanliness, efficiency, location, and most of all the staff. However, of late the hotel has been raising its rates regularly and noticeably - and I'm not talking about seasonal adjustments. It is still worth the money, but will not be so for very long if the trend continues. There is a lot of competition out there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your honest feedback and for your repeated patronage, it is much appreciated. We would look into the issues brought up and take actions accordingly. We would strive to improve to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 957 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in a room for 3 - simple but clean and good bathroom. The hotel is in a great spot , either head one way to the endless shopping malls on Orchard St or head the other back towards Raffles hotel and shops. All within easy walking distance. Buses pass outside this hotel and I noticed a train station just one block up. We didnt use the gym, but it looks well equipped. Breakfast was included in the tarriff, we were more than happy with toast, danishes, fruit , tea and coffee. There are also asian breakfast food items as well to choose from. If you decide to catch a taxi from outside the hotel , and are in a hurry, get the front desk to book one for you. You can watch a lot of cabs drive by that are already in use, and if you are in a hurry to get to the airport, it can get a bit frustrating. This hotel is great value, central and clean. I would definately stay here again next time I am in Singapore.

Room Tip: our room faced the busy road, but we couldnt hear any traffic. The hotel must have good insulation i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlddebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review and kind feedback, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you found our location to be accessible. We hope that you had a pleasant stay in our premises. We would strive to improve to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a family room for 3 - it was plain but clean and well positioned. We wouldnt hesitate to stay there again. We only booked it because it seemed the cheapest of the ridiculously priced others in Singapore. AUD$180 approx for 3 including a fantastic breakfast. Both dining room and our room had supurb views. It was worth staying there just for the rooftop pool with a magnificent view. (ask reception when the laser light show is on, over the river and sit up there to watch!) Walked to Quay and Chinatown & more. (make sure you also go on a boat around the river on dusk - beautiful!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning that you would not hesitate to stay with us again. It is our pleasure to be of service to you. We hope that you had an enjoyable trip to Singapore and welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore! Have pleasant week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

On our second round trip to Singapore, we had stayed in different hotels for various reasons. We spent one day at YMCA (Young Men’s Christian Association). A very neat and clean place, but the room which we got was very small. I found even the room for two of us was a bit too crumbling. There was not enough room to maneuver inside the room. The view was also blocked by the building close by. I don’t think it is a bad place to stay but for a short stay it was OK, and particularly those who just want to spend the night, it is perfect. The toilets were bright and sparkling clean and I loved it. Even the toiletries were given in a very nice pouch with tooth brush, lotion, shampoo and gel. There was a personal touch in it. At night, we had dinner at the dining place. The food was served very fast and was not bad. The friendly staff served the food with a happy mood. I think there was a conference going on and lots of young people were all around the hotel and noise of clippings were coming in the dining place. I saw many Muslim and non-Muslim people dining together. No room service available. Overall, I liked the place. The MTR was very close at Dhobi Gaut which made out life easier.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Greeting from YMCA International House. Thank you for your honest feedback, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you found a personal touch in the service provided and it is our pleasure to be of service to you. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in our premises and would return to stay in our premises on your next trip to Singapore, we would strive to improve to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I booked online and arrived at YMCA 1 orchard road to be greeted with a smile n my room ready with xtra bed i had requested. The staff was helpfull n wonderfull..always smiling n courtious. The all day cafe is lip smacking n the propriter was a wonderfully understanding man. The location is perfect..3-5 min walk to Dhobighat MRT n bang on Orchard Rd. Btw..if u call a cab jus tell him to come n wait in the parking lot at the rear ..on 3rd floor as they r not allowed to wait at the main road on the front...A great stay n a great choice..whether with family or single...Thank you YMCA for making our stay comfortable n a very memorable one...luv u guys...n will definetly come bk here...Naqvi

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is an encouragement for us to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our premises and found us to be friendly as it is what we set out to provide to all our guest alike. We would strive to improve to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip in Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We only stayed here one night but found it friendly, clean and comfortable. The position is great. Breakfast was good and our evening meal in the YCafe was reasonable. We felt it was a good deal for pricey Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topendersNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We hope you had a pleasant trip to Singapore. We would improve to serve you (and our other guests) better. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Again I will say this is an upscale hostel. Stayed here several nights on a stopover. Believe all rooms have been updated. If wrong will stand corrected. The current management has been strong in delivering quality and service.
Stay here if you are ever on a trip to Singapore. Did not say it has knocked off prices but the amenities and location sure knocks the h--- out of the really cheap places with the unsavory environment. Good place for families. The breakfasts sure beat the patoozis out of some of the established hotel chains in the U.S.
Very satisfied.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing the Museum for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments, it is much appreciated. Our guests' satifaction and comfort are our utmost priority and responsibility. We would strive to improve and keep up with our standard to serve you (and our guests) better. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fort Canning Lodge
#168 of 319 in Singapore
774 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Fisher BnB
#2 of 241 in Singapore
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#8 of 241 in Singapore
616 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 241 in Singapore
503 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Capsule Hostel
Wink Capsule Hostel
#12 of 241 in Singapore
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing