We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“improving by the visit”
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Ranked #19 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“improving by the visit”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Again I will say this is an upscale hostel. Stayed here several nights on a stopover. Believe all rooms have been updated. If wrong will stand corrected. The current management has been strong in delivering quality and service.
Stay here if you are ever on a trip to Singapore. Did not say it has knocked off prices but the amenities and location sure knocks the h--- out of the really cheap places with the unsavory environment. Good place for families. The breakfasts sure beat the patoozis out of some of the established hotel chains in the U.S.
Very satisfied.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing the Museum for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments, it is much appreciated. Our guests' satifaction and comfort are our utmost priority and responsibility. We would strive to improve and keep up with our standard to serve you (and our guests) better. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    474
    164
    27
    11
See reviews for
379
193
105
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is difficult to find affordable accommodation in Singapore. I have stayed here many times and will stay here again. The rooms are small but clean. The location is perfect for me - at the bottom of Orchard Road and 20 or so minutes walk from China Town. The staff are always pleasant. The breakfast caters for many cultures and is fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassieBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Reviewer,

Greeting from YMCA International House. Thank you for your kind words and for your repeat patronage, it is deeply appreciated.
We are glad to hear that you found our accommodation to be afforable and that 'our staff' (we) to be always pleasant.
We would strive to improve to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very well located central to public transport, close by to shopping and dining. Family of 4 on stop over, breakfast included in Tariffe was adequate. Only improvement I can suggest would be to have a guest laundry available for guest use. All our luggage was dripping wet on arrival could have used laundry service but expensive (4 -5 per item ) and also 50% surcharge outside of business hours ( we arrived at midnight). Would stay here again as the location is superb.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words. It is greatly appreciated. We would improve to serve you better. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you looking for a clean hotel with a great value and great location also good for the family with small children..I recommend this hotel...
the hotel only short walk to Goby Ghaut station and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThexaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind word and feedback. It is greatly appreciated. We would improve to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here with my 2 sons aged 6 and 13 for 7 nights. The main appeal was the price and the location. The room, while clean, was very tired looking and the facilities are extremely basic. There are none of the 'nicetites' you might normally expect like hand towels, face washers, a shelf in the bathroom for your toiletries, tea or coffee in your room or even decent TV channels. The reception staff have poor customer service skills and are unable to answer even basic questions like "Where is the closest Chemist?" The only tourist information provided is a mass print map of Singapore. There are plenty of hotels nearby, next time I will pay more for a higher level of comfort, especially if I am traveling with kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. We would improve to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I feel comfortable and pleasant in staying in YMCA International House, the rate is reasonable in the high cost of Singapore hotel. The place of hotel is convenient to MRT and easy to get to those famous landmark as Dhoby Ghaut is interchange of MRT station. The hotel amenities, free WIFI and buffet breakfast is simple but already enough. The room is a little bit small but is clean enough! The toilet is spacious.

Recommendation is may be a box of tissue can be placed in the room desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccarriee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. It is greatly appreciated. We would improve to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

You you be hard pressed to find better located accommodation; a five minute walk to the MRT and shopping plazas .Simple rooms, yet adequately comfortable. Complementary Bottles of water are much appreciated when travelling around the city and country. A good breakfast that covers a simple mix of Chinese & Western tastes. It's not a huge buffet, but the YMCA is not targeted for resort style seekers; yet our family were never short of being sufficiently satisfied with breakfast. The YMCA is targeted for folk who want a good rest, a great tasting simple yet sufficient breakfast to kick start the day into exploring and experiencing Singapore. There's a good pool on the roof for those who enjoy a swim.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Have stayed multiple times over the past 20 years, and each time has been delightful. Perhaps the YMCA can introduce a frequent visitors programme!

Room Tip: Family rooms are for 2 children. If you have 3, be prepared to sleep with one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniqbuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. It is much appreciated. Your review would spur us to improve to serve our guest better. Thank you for your encouragement, we would improve to serve you better. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 312 in Singapore
6,401 reviews
Fort Canning Lodge
#157 of 312 in Singapore
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 312 in Singapore
3,832 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,814 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Property: YMCA One Orchard
Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing