We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Singapore is pricey but the YMCA was worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Ranked #23 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Singapore is pricey but the YMCA was worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Although Singapore is worth a visit, it should probably be a short visit as there is not much to do and is a very expensive place. However, the YMCA with its central location, reasonable price and excellent service and facilities was fantastic. We managed to get a room that fit 4 people and yet we didn't feel squashed. Morning swims on the roof-top swimming pool was one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend the YMCA - don't be fooled by the reputation of certain YMCA's around the world, the one in London - King's Cross is particularly terrible, the SIngapore YMCA is brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KCL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    463
    159
    25
    11
See reviews for
369
181
103
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed there on 9-12th June 2011. They have nice renovated room, its small like most of hotels in spore do, but its quite comfortable. They provide 2 bottles of complimentary mineral water, soap, shampoo. The room is very clean, tidy, have small TV, they have even laundry service.

Excellent bfast choices, much more than our 4 stars hotel bfast we had in KL trip before Spore. Very close to Dhoby Ghaut RMT station so you can go to anywhere quite fast & easy to understand the RMT system. This hotel is still under renovation as we stayed there, and the staffs working right infront of the main entrance door without real office yet but still they are very helpful, friendly & showing no stress :p

The only negative was, we had a very noisy arabic neighbour who kept banging on the door, opening & closing his door very loud in midnight..such thin wall. And this arabic man was half naked runing on the hallway in our floor ;(

Beside all, was everything ok..the hotel even arrange the ticket & bus to universal studio. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

They have mix guests..mostly chinese, indonesian, european, usa, arabic etc ..as we could see them during bfast time. They provided great bfast, so dont miss it :p
Free WIFI but not really fast..but its good enough to check your emails/reading magazines/newspapers :p

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funny2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

It is situated in the heart of the city on Orchid road whish is known for shopping and designers shops.You can go walking right from one end of the street to another end and browse through a variety of shops.
The service is good with polite staff and it includes a well laid out breakfast.Though it is situated on the busy Orchid road at times it can get quite noisy due to thetraffic of cars at peak working hours.
It is a simple but good hotel with absolute value for your money

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardeshir46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

ROOM: We got a Family Suite with extra bed located on the 7th floor and another room located on the 6th floor to accommodate our entire family during our vacation in SG. Our room on the 7th floor is a bit spacious, it looks like a 2 bedroom fit into one with a very nice view of the National Museum and a distant image of Marina Bay Sands hotel. It has a flat screen TV and a big, clean bathroom with toiletries replenished everyday. Aircon system is good which compensates the humidity outside. The room on the 6th floor was small for three big boys but still okay and comfortable. Free bottle water almost everyday.

FOOD: Breakfast is included during the stay. Its buffet style so there are many choices which the guests will enjoy. We did ! I liked the pastries and butter toasts as well as the porridge (Congee) and prawn dumplings. (Yummy Chinese breakfast style !). Western breakfast style is available. There are cereals, milk, fresh fruits, hash browns for kids too! The cafeteria (4th floor) is also very clean with friendly staff.

LOCATION: Very near the main Orchard Street . Its also beside a church and a bus stop. Its walking distance to the National Museum and very near Doby Ghaut train station. Convenient if travelling with small kids, Taxis may stop in front of the hotel or the front desk may arrange a pick up for a $3 Sg extra booking cost.

Please take note that the hotel lobby and auditorium are undergoing renovations so better check their website first though the noise will not affect the hotel/hostel floors (6th to 8th flrs). Should we decide to spend another holiday in SG, YMCA will always be on our list.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank APRIL8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Excellent location on Orchard road,very near to Dhobi Ghaut MRT station which was a real help in travelling.Good food courts nearby,taxis available just outside the hotel,walking distance from malls on Orchard Road.Very spic and span room and bathroom. Breakfast was good but need to be there early to get all the items which fall short with time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhtora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Hotels in Singapore are notoriously expensive these days, so I was looking at some of the cheaper options here at Tripadvisor. I chose the YMCAIH and was not disappointed. Booking through their website was easy, with a one night non-refundable deposit deducted on reservation. The location is an obvious plus, only a few minutes walk from Dhoby Ghaut station. The exit to take to the YMCA is clearly marked. There are traffic lights at two busy roads to cross, though you'll see an obvious short-cut that ignores the traffic lights. At the time of our stay renovation work was still going on which included the reception area. Nevertheless check-in was quick and effective. Full advance payment for the room was required. A username and password for wireless internet were provided. We stayed at a superior room which was in the newly renovated part of the Y. While small and no thrills it was extremely clean and quite sufficient. A refrigerator was available with an allowance of two small bottles of drinking water per day. A small LCD TV (about 20 channels) was wall-mounted. The in-room safe was locked. I didn't ask for it to be opened as I carry all my valuables with me all the time. The airconditioning was aimed directly at the beds which caused me to move my bed into a corner out of reach of the airstream. The temperature was easy to regulate to a comfortable level. The water heater in the shower had only four settings which may make it difficult for some people to find a comfortable one. Amazingly there was no noise of any kind from adjacent rooms and very little noise from the hallway outside. Breakfast was a small buffet with the usual choices and not much variety. Refills of items that had been consumed were very quick except on one morning. On one evening we found that no towels had been put in the bathroom. A call to housekeeping had the lady coming to the room to check if there really were no towels (!) after which she graciously provided them. I should add that in the morning of that day the cleaning lady asked us when she could make up our room (we had hung out the Do Not Disturb sign while going for breakfast as we were not ready to leave immediately after). I answered politely that we would be about 30 minutes more. Maybe it was 31 and the lady had her revenge by not putting fresh towels? Who knows ;) Altogether a pleasant if not outstanding experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

An excellent option in Singapore when staying with kids. It is on Orchard Road and is well connected by bus, train and cabs are also easily available.

A neat and clean place, which could offer a little more variety for breakfast. All in all a super value place for family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rovericious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fort Canning Lodge
#155 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#73 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
Hotel Innotel
#91 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#275 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Property: YMCA One Orchard
Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing