We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only as a last resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claremont Hotel Singapore
Ranked #48 of 80 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If, like me, you have travelled and are used to staying in some quite 'cheap and cheerful' places, you have expectations. Very basic expectations. The towels were barely rags. The place was clean and cockroach free but it is NOTHING like the photographs. The service is surly. They have NO left luggage. The best you can say about it is the location is good but its really, really quite basic.

Room Tip: They are all the same I am assuming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MitaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

In little India. Dirty. They did not lock the door for having the suitcases after checking out. They had not changed linen in the bed because it was easy to see that someone had used the room for a short time..We had prepaid for two rooms, but the woman in reception could not find the second... But after some time she did.The hotel was close to a very noisy street. Much on their web site did not be right.The showers were bad and the door were missing and the water leaked all the time

The breakfast was not eatable to say it easy. We went in the arabic part of the city and there it was clean and nice people.So we recommend that.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel in Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was unfortunate to book this for a night's stay. The moment I entered the reception area, I felt very uncomfortable. The receptionist was so careless and with high attitude as if the room was provided at free of cost. When I entered the room i felt that it was even worse. The room was having fowl smell, the towels were torn and full of long hairs, the wall was dirty and leaking etc.. I felt very uncomfortable and went to my friends room who was also in the same hotel. Unfortunately there also the situation was same. Even though I wanted to take rest for some time, I could not bear the condition and went out for roaming. I came back to the hotel around 11.30 PM and slept immediately. Next day morning I left the hotel as early as 7.30 in order to escape from that terrible hotel.

The hotel persons are not bothered at all and are rude. Since the location of the hotel is very strategic, there was no shortage of bookings for them.

NEVER EVER GO TO THIS HOTEL FOR STAYING EVEN FOR ONE NIGHT.

Room Tip: You will never get a good room. Hence better don't try this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Superparakeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I book this hotel on Internet through hotel website. But when I check inn at this hotel I was shocked the room and toilet is horrible with dirty towels. No house keeping . The staff at reception is very rude. Please don't stay in this hotel you will spoil your vacation

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rehandhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were going on a vacation, we surf the net to find the nice hotel and came to Claremont Hotel website. The website showed nice pictures of the room and hotel we made the reservation for 3 nights. When checked into the room at 11:00pm, there was water dripping from the celing and flyies running around and the bathroom was disushing and not to mention the bed felt like floor. We managed to sleep for few hours and went to the front desk next mornning to checkout to find another hotel found that they would not let us check out early. End up talking to the hotel manager who was a as hole, did care if we stay or not, did care if the customer was happy or not. First he refused to refund the two night we did not stay then we end up paying for 50% of 2nd night. Manager said he did not care if customer was happy or not, he said his hotel is busy and owner is in the USA. The owner must be sitting on top of the money to have a manager like this to manage their hotel

Room was smelly, not clean, staff were unfriendly. We managed to talk to the manger about our room problems who did not care. Manager was an as hole....

Oh... TV never worked, noisy air condition.....

This hotel is a sit hole....

If you want to have good vacation, don't stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Stay at ParkRoyal hotel, it worth your spending
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sathiy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

worst hotel i will not recommend this for any category...breakfast is awful with noisy a.c and stincking smell in the room...with cramped space...tv not woking, no remote control,,,we stayed in the month of may'12..its our family vacation...only good thing about this hotel is the location neat little india and indian retaurant and opposite to mustafa centre

Room Tip: ask for 6th floor ...may be its your luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank basheer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in 3 rooms there from 19-22 May'12. Hotel was really horrible. No one can dare to stay there 2nd time. Rooms were too small and full of bad smell. Toilets were also teriffic and dirty. Despite our several complain, they did not bother to clean the bathrooms. Staff were also unfriendly. When ever we draw their attention towards any problem, they simply asked us to wait for their manager, who comes around 11 AM. But we never find him to resolve our any querries. We booked our 3 rooms almost 2 months earlier with a request to provide all rooms on the same floor. But they alloted us rooms on 2nd, 4th & 8th floor(all were seperate). Their restaurant was like a boiler without any AC or cooller. We never got our full breakfast. It often got finished. Only plus point with hotel was location. Except location nothing was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dilip0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#172 of 319 in Singapore
339 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#113 of 319 in Singapore
517 reviews
Hotel Snow
#18 of 80 in Singapore
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Noble Hotel
#17 of 80 in Singapore
111 reviews
Little India
Marrison @ Desker
Marrison @ Desker
#14 of 80 in Singapore
74 reviews
Amaris Hotel
#15 of 80 in Singapore
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Singapore

Address: 301 Serangoon Road | Little India, Singapore 218224, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: $58 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claremont Hotel is a value hotel offering affordable hotel room stays and strategically located on Serangoon Road, the main street coursing through the Little India district. Claremont Hotel offers real value for money with its extremely accessible location to The Farrer Park MRT Station (NE8)and is just a short 2-minute walk to hotel doorstep. Located opposite the hotel is Mustafa Center, a 24-hour shopping haven. Leisure and business travelers can get almost anything from the shops around here. Visitors arriving at Changi Airport can zip through the MRT train system and reach the comfort of Claremont's hotel room in less than an hour. Step out of Claremont Hotel and you run smack into the Little India, one of Singapore's oldest and culturally rich district. Crossing the Serangoon Road, visitors will encounter a labyrinth of short and lengthy lanes dotted with multi-colored restored Pre-War shop houses; in pink, green, yellow, blue, purple, and red, orange and turquoise that is an attraction itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Claremont Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing